We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'A gem of a find!!!@” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ty Mawr B&B and Tea Room

Ty Mawr B&B and Tea Room
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rhyd Ddu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ty Mawr B&B and Tea Room
Save
You added Ty Mawr B&B and Tea Room to your Saves list
Rhyd Ddu, Snowdonia National Park LL54 6TL , Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Rhyd Ddu B&B and Inns
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“'A gem of a find!!!@”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend for a family party and it was a brilliant find by my dad. Perfectly placed for visiting the local area and the amazing scenery, especially for a hike up Snowden which was completed by enjoying a fab packed lunch provided by Emma and Menno when we were near the top. They are the perfect hosts, welcoming, full of information and useful tips about the area and nothing is too much bother. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the breakfasts were amazing. Ty Mawr b&b was a fantastic find and I will definately be visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Just had a lovely brunch at the Ty Mawr Tearoom in Rhyd Ddu - what a find scrummy scrambled eggs and lovely homemade cakes - would recommend it to anyone passing that way or maybe go out of your way to it

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed in this lovely and cosy b&b for four nights. The location is excellent for hiking, as you can start climbing Mt Snowdon from the b&b's front door, as well as climb the Nantlle ridge. There are also good bus services to Caernarfon and Beddgelert. Our en-suite room was very comfortable, but the best thing about this b&b are its owners - Menno and Emma are extremely knowledgeable and are happy to share their walking experiences with you. Moreover, they cook the most wonderful breakfast and provide you with an excellent packed lunch, including home baked flapjacks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stopped off at Ty Mawr whilst cycling around Snowdonia. We are so often disappointed with country tea shops .....but not on this occasion! The tea room is clean, quaint and welcoming; the variety of snacks and cakes is vey good and the quality and standard of the tea and home made cakes is exceptional. And, the prices are very reasonable. This is somewhere I would now make a point of visiting, not just en passant. Ty Mawr deserves to succeed where others fall short.

Room Tip: We did not stay..just called for tea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Perfect welcoming and cosy little tea room, ideally located for car park at foot of Rhyd Ddu path to Snowdon. Delicious and generous Welsh cream tea hit the spot after 5 hours in the hills! Most friendly, sign outside says "muddy boots welcome" and big pile of walking and other magazines inside. Will re-visit for sure.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for two nights over Easter 2013 and enjoyed my time there.

It's a smallish stone house with plenty of character. It is on the main road, but I didnt see or hear much traffic whilst there. The village is nicely situated, with great views of the mountains nearby and within easy distance of Beddgelert (my favourite village in the area).

Friends say the village pub in Rhydd Ddu is good, but I was busy in the evenings and didn't make it there unfortunately.

The owners are very friendly and welcoming and really do make you feel at home. I enjoyed chatting to them and I'm sure they would be happy to pass on their knowledge of the local area.

The room was clean and perfectly adequate size-wise. My room didn't have ensuite, but I knew that and it's reflected in the price. The bathroom is two steps away and was very clean. Oh, and the bed was comfy and the room warm enough too.

The breakfasts were nice and the Dutch pancake was well worth trying, even if I couldn't quite finish it all!

All-in-all, I was happy with my stay there and would certainly visit again. It beats being in a Premier Inn in Basingstoke (in-joke)!

Thanks both



Si

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Small is beautiful and this little gem tucked away in Rhydd Ddu is worth a visit.Very easy to drive past but make the effort to park and you will be rewarded with a visit to remenber.We stopped over in a double en suite which was warm with Sky TV and tea/coffee provided.Nothing was too much effort for Emma, the room was clean & comfortable with no undue road noise and breakfast was also excellent.I would not hesitate to go again.Bedgellert is just down the road and the place is ideally located for travelling around North Wales.There are plenty of B&B's in Bedgellert but give this one a try ,you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: You have a choice of 3, one is en-suite with two opening windows and you can see the summit of Snowd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ty Mawr B&B and Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Mawr B&B and Tea Room

Address: Rhyd Ddu, Snowdonia National Park LL54 6TL , Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Rhyd Ddu
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rhyd Ddu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Ty Mawr B&B And Tea Room Rhyd Ddu, Snowdonia National Park, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ty Mawr B&B and Tea Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.