We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penceunant Isaf Tea Rooms

Penceunant Isaf Tea Rooms
Snowdon Path | LL55 4UW, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4UW, Wales
+44 1286 872606
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Llanberis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Bar, Coffee Shop, Tea Room, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We serve Hot chocolate, Tea, Coffee, beer wine, and a small selection of light snacks. Open all the year round we are dog friendly and walkers can eat their own food on the premises. Taxis are arranged by request.
Devon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Visited to conquor Snowon for Husbands 50th, called in the tea rooms on the way up and mentioned we had left ruckasack at hotel. Outcame a rucksack we could borrow and 2 walking poles. As the weather forced retirement after 3 hours, we retreated back to tearooms. Arriving wet and muddy, we were welcomed with yummy hot chocolate and free homemade cake for my husbands Birthday. We will be back in the summer and shall be booking the B&B attached to the tea room to allow an early start.
Many Many Thanks

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    13
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prudhoe, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“We just couldn't leave!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

What a lovely warm welcome, especially as we got caught out in the rain trying to conquer Mount Snowdon. Loved the hot chocolate, it is what it says "the best in Britain" loved the homemade welsh fruit cake (Bara Birsh) with homemade butter, loved the company from Jasper the black lab. We will definatley be returning in the warmer weather. : )

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

My husband and our 4 year old twin daughters' visited this cafe after our girls' 1st ever trek partway up Snowdon!
Before i became pregnant, my husband and i came here on numerous ocassions and Steffan has always rememberd something about our last visit - he really has a wonderful memory!!
The welcome is warm, as is the open fire! The drinks are good and the bara brith is bloomin lovely!
We will be returning v soon, as our daughters' not only want to reach halfway up the mountain next time, but they want to sample the hot chocolate at the cafe!
Oh, for those with small children, the juice is free for children aged 4 and under!! What more could u ask for eh?
Steffan, we'll be back very soon!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great find after a long walk!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We (5 adults and 1 dog) visted after walking the Llanberis trail. We needed warming up after a long walk and this was the perfect place. As you walk in the log fire greats you, followed by the best hot choclate which was like warm chocolate mouse and free warm tea cakes. Being able to bring the dog in was great, and not having to worry about our wet and muddy boots. Our host was friendly and chatty, giving advise to some of our questions. Will defintely visit here again!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Do not not miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

It is like going back in time. The open fire welcomes you first, quickly followed by Stephan the attentive proprietor. This cottage has been renovated beautifully and all original character is shown off to its best. Fantastic coffee and even the Whisky is Welsh. The best hot chocolate i have ever drank anywhere including at home. Simple menu of Welsh cakes Bara brith (Welsh fruit bread) and home made soup, but they dont mind if you take your own sandwiches in to eat by their fire. This really is a special place and should not be missed. it is easy to find as it by the Llanberis walk up Snowdon, but you can drive if you wish.
Many thank Stephan from Lesley and Mike

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penceunant Isaf Tea Rooms also viewed

Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park
Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park
 
Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park
Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Penceunant Isaf Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penceunant Isaf Tea Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.