We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely and cosy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Idan House Guest House

Idan House Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Idan House Guest House to your Saves list
Idan House Guest House
12 High Street, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4EN, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 16 Llanberis B&B and Inns
luton
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Homely and cosy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

stayed here for 2 nights for my partners birthday. Is a home from home warm welsh welcome nice room with lots of storage. Overlooked the lake and was very quiet.Had a shower and basin in room but toilets are in the corridor. Breakfast was good and plentiful. Only downside i can think of is the time of breakfast was only a 1 hour window so if you want a lie in may want to skip it. Also limited parking spaces although we managed to find 1 both days. would stay here again, It is actually called idan house but nothing came up on my search!

Room Tip: We had room 1 was very spacious and quiet with lovely lake in the background.Quite a few stairs whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    12
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
5
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Very centrally placed in Llanberis. A warm welcome from the owners. Idan house is good value, but needs a little doing up. I stayed in room 1 which is at the back of the house and is quite, quiet. It also seemed to have been re-decorated fairly recently. It has an en-suite shower and handbasin. The toilets are not ensuite, there are two, shared, along the hallway. The breakfasts are generous. Not my first choice in LLanberis, but I would stay there again.
John.

Room Tip: Room one is bright, spacious and at the rear of the property, so is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The front of the hotel looks a bit rough, but inside is better. We were able to park right outside the B & B for fee. We had a family room - up 2 flights of steep stairs, so might not be ideal if you have buggies etc, but was fine for us. The room itself was really nicely decorated, and had plenty of space. The only downsides really, the furniture was dated, the TV areal a nightmare to tune in, and the kettle had to be plugged in across the room from where it was based. Having our own sink was useful, the beds comfy, and the space in the room great for the kids to play.
There is a communal bathroom and toilet, which to be honest have seen better days.
Breakfast - a bowl of cornflakes set in bowls by the time you get down stairs, so if you are late down it's been there ages. No choice of cereal or juices either, cornflakes or nothing, and a small glass of orange. Cooked breakfast was 2 eggs, 2 bacon, a hash brown and a tomato (uncooked one day, cooked the next), with toast and tea/coffee. No problems with the cooked food though, it was lovely, and the kids got a mini version which they enjoyed too.
The room next to us had a very squeaky door, so every time someone went in or out during the night we heard it.
One nice little touch was when we went out during the day, our room had been tidied for us, which you don't normally get in a B & B. Friendly owner, although we didn't see much of her even when we were in. We were welcome to use the lounge at any time, and with 2 kids, that was really good, she made time to talk to them about their holidays too, so deffo child friendly.
B & B is just 2 mins walk from Llamberis lake, and the town (well, street) so a few cafes etc not far.
The B & B doesn't take card payment, so make sure you go to the cashpoint on day of departure.
Overall, for the money, the B & B was fine. I would return there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is very conveniently placed and easy to find - there is on street parking all around so parking is no problem - there is a very large public car park just 3 minutes walk away.
The entrance is welcoming and there is a lounge area with a TV and comfy chairs.
The single bedroom I booked did not have an ensuite but was a very good size, had tea and coffee making facilities, a freeview TV, plenty of drawers and a large wardrobe. The linen was lovely and the bed was very comfortable, with a mattress topper and I had a very good nights sleep.
The shared bathroom/shower room and loo were shared by 3 or 4 bedrooms and were clean but not spotless. There were lots of cobwebs, but what do you want for a bargain overnight bed?
The welcome was very warm, and the landlady remembered what I had been doing and asked me about it at breakfast the next morning. Breakfast was hearty and well cooked, a great start to the day. A front door key was issued so there was no problem with coming back late.
So - clean enough but not spotless, very welcoming, good breakfast, great nights sleep!
Downside - plastic not accepted - but ATM almost opposite. Not sure what I would have done if it had been out of order!

Room Tip: I had a front room and there was a bit of traffic noise during the evening but I had the window open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a brief night before a Snowdon climb. Double room for £40 and single room for £25. Breakfast included. Got there late and went straight to bed, this B&B is well located for a Snowdon climb being 5 mins drive from Pen y pass car park. Both rooms were really dirty, stained sheets and carpets. Bathroom and sink were filthy with hairs in the plug and loads of pubes in the shower! Needless to say I skipped the shower. The whole place needs redecorating. The bedside drawers open by themselves, lampshades are dirty and bent and broken. Walls are paper thin and you can hear multiple people talking and other rooms televisions. If you forget your alarm don't panic, someone else's will wake you up.
Nevertheless, owners are friendly and helpful and breakfast was fine, although we were happy to be leaving.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Going through the front door was like visiting the family for the weekend - lovely people and we felt at home straight away.
Amazing view of the lake and hills was worth the price of admission alone.
We had a lovely, immaculate double room with nice modern decor, but another room we saw had not been modernised and was more basic, so choose carefully.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Idan House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idan House Guest House

Address: 12 High Street, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4EN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanberis
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Llanberis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Idan House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Idan House Guest House Llanberis, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Idan House Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.