We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in Llanberis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Lodge Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llanberis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alpine Lodge Hotel
Save
You added Alpine Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
1 High Street, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4EN, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Peterborough
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in Llanberis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

A very pleasant stay - the young woman who checked us in was very pleasant and friendly. The room was a good size and very clean. Bathroom lovely and spacious and very clean. Lovely view from room even in the rain! Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    37
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
23
61
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife & I decided to visit Snowdon for our 20th wedding anniversary. We chose the Alpine Lodge after reading the reviews here, and we were'nt disappointed! The room was lovely, spacious and comfortable, the view gorgeous and the staff welcoming and helpful. The owner (martin) was friendly , informative and easygoing. The breakfast was great and the decor very tasteful. We found the village very friendly and would thoroughly recommend the accomodation to all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Wales
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the Alpine Lodge for a hill walking break. The B&B was easy to find and is well located in the town. The owner checked us in and was very pleasant and friendly, and gave us really helpful information about where to eat. We had booked a "superior room" through Late Rooms and it was large, clean and comfortable with a great bath/shower (admittedly in a very small bathroom). The bed was comfortable and we slept well. We were, however, disappointed with the breakfast on our first morning. Given comments by others, perhaps we were just unlucky but it meant we turned down a cooked breakfast on the second morning. As others have also stated the choice of fruit and cereals is good, but our bacon and scrambed eggs were swimming in ? water and were just not very nice, and it has been a long time since I have had tinned tomatoes at breakfast. Generous portions but ...! Overall though very friendly and good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have just returned from a weekend in Wales. We climbed Snowdon and stayed at The Alpine Lodge afterwards. It was lovely and clean and in a great location at the end of the high street opposite the loch and with lovely views over the mountains on the far side. The room was spacious and very clean and the shower was brilliant.. just what was needed after the climb up Snowdon! The mini mars and twirl bar on the tea and coffee tray were a nice touch. The views from our room were great.. we were at the top in the front of the hotel. Warm friendly welcome and some good tips on where to eat. We chose The Heights, about a 10 min walk away and it too was excellent, food was plentiful and very nice indeed. The breakfast was also excellent, cereal and fruit etc to start followed by a full cooked english brekky.. lovely! Nice thick bread for toast and a large pot of tea finished it off nicely before the journey home. All in all very good little place to stay, can't fault it.. clean, friendly, good location, reasonable price.. will defo stay there again.. hopefully for a little longer next time.
Thank you...

Room Tip: The front of the hotel has great views over the loch and out to the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

A very pleasant stay - the young woman who checked us in was very pleasant and friendly. The room was a good size and very clean. Bathroom lovely and spacious and very clean. Lovely view from room even in the rain! Would definitely stay again

Room Tip: Room number 4 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I booked this hotel for 3 nights for a relaxing break in Llanberis, the beds were comfortable, the shower was amazing and Maltesers & Biscuits on the courtesy tray.
My room was suppose to be a premier room with Wifi, Unfortunately I had no Wifi access unless I sat in the breakfast room on hard chairs.
The carpet was frayed, the radiator was dirty and the view outside my window was the back yard which was full of rubbish.

BUT... After speaking to the manager/owner about the lack of Wifi, he allowed me to just pay for one night and I left the next day for a hotel that did have wifi.

I would stay here again if I were in the area but only if I planned on being out all day and just wanted a bed and a hot shower.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

10 of us stayed in 3 double and 2 twin rooms from Friday 3rd August for 3 nights. Not 1 of the party had any complaints, bar 1 small 1 which I will return to. All of our party where very happy with the rooms. Mars bars are a nice touch. Bathrooms or Showerrooms where all great and well stocked. Breakfast was plentiful and a great choice. 1 of our party asked the first morning was there black pudding but there was none, next morning it was on the menu. The location was great and staff very friendly and helpful. All of our party would recommend the Alpine Lodge. Back to the 1 small complaint, breakfast was only served for 1 hour between 8 - 9. We all felt it should be a 2 hour window.
Tony Maguire. Dublin

Room Tip: Ask for room in front for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpine Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lodge Hotel

Address: 1 High Street, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4EN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanberis
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Llanberis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Alpine Hotel Llanberis
Alpine Lodge Hotel Llanberis, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.