We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 night break” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia to your Saves list
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Llanberis near Caernarfon, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4TY, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Llanberis
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“2 night break”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed here for a mid week break for 2 nights prior to our anniversary, having stayed in Llanberis before we knew we loved the area. We had seen the Royal Victoria on our last visit and wanted something a bit 'special' for this trip.
On arrival we were pleased with the hotel, the staff were friendly and our room was basic but fine with tea and coffee facilities (no biscuits) comfy double bed ( although 2 singles pushed
together) TV, hair dryer & shower/bathroom. The hot and cold taps needed running for a long time to adjust as they both ran hot to begin with. The room was very hot at night despite the fan provided. A ceiling collapsed in a room causing the fire alarm to go off so we all had to evacuate whilst the fire brigade checked the hotel- there was little communication during this time and no apology / reassurance following it.
Our toilet seat broke the first night, and we were offered a complimentary bottle of wine for the inconvenience and the seat was fixed the next day.
We ate in the bar the first night (alot of the menu was not available, neither were the drinks we wanted as sold out) the Thai curry was amazing! as was the Cumberland sausage, we ate there the second night and the contrast couldn't have been more different, our food took ages (the staff apologised as the order hadn't printed through to the kitchen) when it arrived the roast turkey had watery vegetables and plastic wafer thin turkey and the pizza wasn't hot or cooked and looked raw and very un appetising we sent the pizza back and the bar staff had the attitude of 'not being surprised' we exchanged it for the gammon which was fine, although we ended up eating separately and not being hungry by the time it arrived. We were not offered anything for the inconvenience.
The breakfast both mornings was excellent.
Our room was located above where the bar deliveries must be as we were woken very early on the first morning.
Overall we loved our stay in snowdonia as we love the area, and the hotel is located in the perfect location, however unfortunately we don't feel the hotel lived up to our expectations for the cost. It's in need of some improvement and refurbishments.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I apologise if the hotel did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We are currently working through an in house programme of refurbishment and hope that you will see evidence of this should you decide to visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    338
    204
    93
    90
See reviews for
101
454
28
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in the middle of summer. Lovely,convinient for our needs, just about a hundred yards from the train up Snowden. The hotel is in need of a bit of a refurbishment and a lick of paint here and there. A quality hotel like this should not have tape across the joints in the carpet (get rid of it). Our room was small with a double bed and a t.v (that worked) and a bathroom. I had requested a room with a shower cubicle, but whe arrived saw that it was a shower over bath which is not sutable for us, and found out later that it did not work properly(boiling hot water comming from both the hot and cold taps. Told the receptionist as we cheked out and she said that she would report it to maintinence. The staff were excellent, and the food fantastic. Our compliments to the chef.

Room Tip: When booking here double c.heck you get what you requested for before arriving
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and your positive comments regarding the food. The hotel is currently working through a refurbishment programme and the issue with the carpet should be addressed in the next few days. I hope that you will see evidence of the work completed should you choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel occupies a handsome Victorian building in an imposing location overlooking Llanberis; a promising arrangement which is woefully let down by the hotel itself.

My visit was a fleeting one but there was little that would have persuaded me to stay longer. The place is extremely shabby and neglected and the corridors are pervaded by a musty smell. On walking from the reception to my room I was first surprised to see carpet held in place by gaffer tape and further down the hall areas of carpet were missing altogether.

It was a relief to discover that the room itself was relatively clean and well ordered, justifying the second star. I find the positive reviews inexplicable and safe to say I will avoid this place when I am next in Llanberis.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
I am sorry that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. The hotel is currently working through a refurbishment programme and I can only assume that the carpet was being replaced at the time of your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

I have signed up to trip advisor specifically to write this review! Yes..it's a lovely old building in a perfect location however the whole place is so run down and in need of a revamp its actually quite sad to see such a lovely place so unloved. Food was horrendous, rooms were awful, beds uncomfy,bathroom felt dirty due to being so run down, doors seem to lock themselves...needed to get maintenance man (who was lovely) to WD40 the lock open. Overall we were gutted with our stay and sadly cannot recommend this place to anyone. A lick of paint and a smile wouldn't go a miss.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I am sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations on this occasion. The hotel is currently undergoing some refurbishment projects and there should have been evidence of this during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Having booked the hotel some 3 months in advance it failed to live up to it's own hype. Our reception, in mid-afternoon, was bland, as if disinterested. The room allocated was on the third floor reached either by two lifts or two staircases followed by two long corridors and a further staircase. The view from the window was of a brick wall. I returned to reception and requested another room which did not require a mountain pass and had a view. I was greeted by - did you ask for a view when you booked! I was given the key to another room which was larger and had views from two aspects i.e. a second floor corner room, which we accepted. Later that evening we dined in the restaurant. The starter, a crab and prawn dish with 'wilting' lettuce did not light up any expectations. The main course of 'sliced' pork was excellent, but, the vegetables were, and I am being generous, tired - certainly cooked some time before we dined at 7.30pm. The chocolate mousse dessert was OK. We would have liked a coffee, to finish the meal, but, the serving staff appeared to not spot we had finished after having been very swift in delivery of the first two courses and the collection of the plates and utensils. We retired to our room and had a pleasant night. The breakfast, full english, also appeared, excluding the fried egg, 'not freshly cooked'. We selected this hotel because it looked to be and purported to be the best. This will be our only visit.

Room Tip: Request a room not above the second floor and facing the front gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I am sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We are currently working through some refurbishment projects to bring some areas of the hotel back up to date and hope that you will see evidence of this should you decide to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We had one night here but could have stayed more. We only had a standard room but it fine. We had fish and chips from the bar menu which were good. Also enjoyed happy hour in the bar. Free wifi in reception and bar area. Good atmosphere. Close to trains for Snowdonia experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and your recommendation of our Fish & Chips. The hotel currently offers free wifi in the public areas but we hope to extend this throughout the hotel in the future. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llangynidr, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Victoria for two nights just after Easter. Our room was in the wing at the side overlooking the carpark. It was clean and comfortable and ideally located as we had our dog with us we were able to come and go without having to hike through the main building. The staff were friendly and helpful. We ate dinner in the restaurant one night, the food was delicious and the views from the restaurant were stunning. We will definately stay there again next time we visit Snowdonia.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RVHSnowdonia, Manager at The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Many thanks for your positive review. Royal Victoria is one of the only hotels in the area that accepts dogs by prior arrangement. We look forward to welcoming you all again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia

Address: Llanberis near Caernarfon, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4TY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanberis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Llanberis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia is nestled at the foot of the spectacular Llanberis Pass under the shadow of Snowdon itself on the edge of the Snowdonia National Park. It is set within 30 acres of gardens and woodland, cradled between Llyn Padarn and Llyn Peris. This is an ideal location in the heartland of North Wales for a breathtaking and memorable stay. Rooms are spacious with all modern amenities. The Hotel offers three restaurants, bar, residents lounge, five meeting/conference rooms and ample car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Royal Victoria Hotel
Legacy Royal Victoria Llanberis
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia Llanberis, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.