We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly and excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of YHA Llanberis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added YHA Llanberis to your Saves list
YHA Llanberis
Llwyn Celyn, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4SR, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Romsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Warm, friendly and excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

The YHA in Llanberis is a great location to base a Snowdonia holiday. The bedrooms are Spartan but clean and comfortable, the kitchen is well equipped though you can always get a meal cooked by the staff - or simply take a 10 minute stroll into Llanberis. The hostel has a large comfortable lounge with TV, DVD player, games and plenty of seating. There is a large drying room - well used in these wet days. In my experience - I've stayed twice now - the staff are always friendly and helpful.
The mattresses are quite firm - I take an inflatable camping mattress (Helium 3.8) as a topper which seems to work well. I found it useful to have ear plugs when staying in the dorms.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanberis_Manager, Manager at YHA Llanberis, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thanks for you review and comments. We look forward to welcoming you to YHA Llanberis again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    19
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
10
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Much Wenlock
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Just returned from a thoroughly enjoyable 4 night stay over the new year with five other families for a collective celebration. The hostel was clean, warm with plentiful hot water. All the facilities were perfect for our needs with the added bonus of the basement room which was perfect for our New Year party.
Within a short walk from Snowden, a great New Year's Eve walk was endeavoured and the summit reached (by some). The stragglers walked back to the hostel and lounged around the comfy sitting room, watched TV and ate Christmas goodies. The drying room was excellent. A perfect escape for families that had chosen to spend time together over the festive period.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanberis_Manager, Manager at YHA Llanberis, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thanks for your review. We hope to be able to welcome you back to YHA Llanberis for another gathering/celebration in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The hostel is beautifully located off the main road of Llanberis, but within short walking distance from it, near some farms, up the hill. There are beautiful mountain views from the hostel. When I went there in August 2013, I only paid £16 for my bunk bed in a female dormitory with 6 beds. The dormitory was crammed with beds up to the ceiling (with very little space in between), people and backpacks, but didn't mind that. There are two things which I didn't like about the room: no lockers and only one power socket. I wish they could have provided us with lockers to lock the personal valuables away. I had no option but to trust the strangers I was sharing the room with. It was very inconvenient that the dormitory had only one power socket so all of us had to queue in order to charge mobile phones, laptops, or batteries for cameras. It was like a silent, polite fight over it, as one would leave the mobile phone to charge while going for a shower and just to find it unplugged upon return, replaced by somebody else's ipod.The hostel was crowded that time of the year and expected it to be noisy at night, but it wasn't and slept very well. The dormitory and shared bathrooms were clean and tidy with fresh clean towels provided. The staff were very helpful and gave useful information about routes, walks, local public transport and displayed updated information about the weather, so you knew what to expect for the day.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanberis_Manager, Manager at YHA Llanberis, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thanks for your review. We do have lockers on the ground floor for items of value. I am sorry that you were not directed to them during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

What a cracking little hostel! Perched on the hillside above the town up a narrow farm track and with great mountain views this place is a great place to lay your head after a hard day in the hills. Over Winter it doesn't open til 5pm but once it does you get professional, friendly and helpful staff, warm and comfortable beds, clean facilities and a breakfast room with mountain views. Meals are available and the self catering kitchen is small but has everything you need. The Christmas tree in the lounge was a nice touch and the drying room must be one of the best in Snowdonia (and it really was needed!). Llanberis itself doesn't have much character but this place is a a good enough reason to visit again!

Room Tip: Fantastic mountain views from rooms at the front of the hostel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Only open from 5, but if you arrive early you can leave your car in the car park and walk off directly into the mountains from there. We booked a room for just two, but had two bunk beds (its a youth hostel, so that was to be expected!). Good facilities, clean, but obviously you need to share them with other occupants. Kitchen facilities were very good, so we were able to prepare our own meals. If you forgot to bring something, you can ask the guy's working there and they will help where they can.
This is one of the better YH stay's we had. Well done!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Visited with a 2 year old and 72 year old in a private room for 2 nights in November. Not the most characterfull hostel, more functional but with recent renovation to rooms, which were comfortable and warm. Noisy neighbours till 12-1am and later for those staying over dining area on weekend. Self-catered, in well-equipped kitchen, big enough when hostel 1/2 full. En-suite shower and toilet excellent and much appreciated by our party!Spacious efficient drying room. Outskirts of Llanberis up hill, where can take path to join Llanberis path at Hebron Station or lower path to YHA Snowdon Ranger.

Room Tip: Avoid over dining area if you are early to bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

The staff really make this place what it is, so helpful and enthusiastic, they gave me loads of good tips about my walk and looked up the timetable for the buses to Pen Y Pass for me. Room was fine, shower was great and the kitchen was all you need. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YHA Llanberis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Llanberis

Address: Llwyn Celyn, Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4SR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanberis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Llanberis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the beautiful mountain scenery of North Wales, YHA Llanberis is located on the doorstep of Snowdonia National Park – and is a ten minute walk from Llanberis High Street. From the hostel you can walk up Snowdon. Alternatively, from the village you can catch a train up to the top of Snowdon or along Llyn Padarn, explore the history of the region at the Slate Museum, or visit Electric Mountain. YHA Llanberis is an ideal base for families, individuals and groups of walkers, cyclists and climbers who want easy access to the fantastic mountain trails, rivers, lakes and attractions of Snowdonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your YHA Llanberis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Llanberis Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YHA Llanberis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.