We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MTB weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ferns Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Betws-y-Coed
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ferns Guest House
Save
You added The Ferns Guest House to your Saves list
Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AN, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
NEW YEAR 3-for-2 Offer
Ranked #9 of 49 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Worcester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“MTB weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Had a lads (over 40's) weekend mountain biking in north Wales. The Ferns is a great place to stay. Sarah was a charming host and she made us all feel very welcome. Both our rooms were very clean and comfortable and nicely decorated. The en suite can be described as cosy. The beds and duvets were top quality and really comfortable. So comfortable it was a tough decision to get out of bed in the morning. The breakfast was excellent. All the ingredients were fresh and tasty. The location is good with only a 5 minute walk to the centre of the town for pubs and restaurants. We all enjoyed our stay. If you are looking for a place to stay in Betws y Coed, the Ferns is worth a try.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hell Worcesterwoody,

Thank you for posting this kind review. It was great having you all stay with us and we hope that the Mountain Biking was good. We are glad that the two twin/family rooms you stayed in were to your liking. The en-suite in our Room 7 is indeed "cosy", but you might be interested to know that we are modernising and increasing the size of this en-suite this winter. We're also pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast too... we cook our breakfasts to order, so it is as hot and fresh as possible when it arrives at your table.

Thanks again and happy biking,
Sarah & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
50
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Imaculate , Sarah owner very helpful, next time I go wales I'll be staying there if it's available , you would have to be really fussy to fault this place, or a saddo who winged about everything anyway

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your positive and entertaining review of us Shutyourface. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind regards
Sarah & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

a lovely welcome from sarah i was there for snowdonia marthon the room was a single and was very comfortable and clean the breakfast was very good with enough varity for marthon running the location is perfect i enjoyed my stay

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hello Carl,

Well done on completing another gruelling Snowdon Marathon and thank you for taking time to review us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the single room worked for you. We are planning some modification to our single room this winter and hopefully you will approve of the changes we will have made if you come back next year.

All the best
Sarah & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have thoroughly enjoyed two visits to The Ferns Guest House now. It really is wonderful value compared to some of the other accommodation in Betws-y-Coed. Sarah and Mark are friendly and helpful, they are always ready to offer their assistance. They even managed to provide a gluten free breakfast for one of our party. Well worth a stay!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hello N,
Thank you for your kind review of us. We are glad that you enjoyed both your stays with us and also what Snowdonia and North Wales has to offer. We are also pleased that you found us to be good value. Thank you again and we hope to see you all again sometime.

Kind regards
Sarah & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My Partner and i enjoyed a wonderful week end stay at the Ferns. Its a lovely building, great room, clean, tidy and so fresh and of course lovely food. Most of all Sarah and Mark are very friendly and they both ensured that we felt welcome and that our stay was enjoyable and relaxed. We will certainly stay again when back at Betws - y - Coed. We would not hesitate to suggest to any prospective visitors that they use The Ferns. Thank you Sarah and Mark. Hope that youre both well.

Room Tip: Simply pick up the phone and speak with Sarah.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hello Ron Many thanks for taking the time to review us and give us such positive feedback. We really enjoyed having you both stay with us and hope you will come back to visit us again sometime.
All the best
Sarah & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were met with a lovely welcome from Sarah & Mark. Our room was really nice and the house was tastefully decorated. Breakfast were fine and plentiful, and we found the location ideal for visiting the beautiful area of Snowdonia. A good choice of eating places were nearby and Betws-y-Coed has some nice shops and places of interest. We would not hesitate to stay at the Ferns at any time in the future.
Linda & Alun M

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hello Linda and Alun,

Thank you for your nice review of us. tI was lovely to meet you both and we are pleased that you had a nice weekend here in Betws-y-Coed. We hope you're able to come and stay with us again in the future.

Kindest regards
Sarah & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Had a fantastic 3 night stay at The Ferns back in May this year. Great hosts who kindly allowed us to check in and drop our bags off at 9am, en-route to our walk up Snowdon. Previous reviews for this place are spot on and it definitely deserves it's fantastic ratings. A warm, comfortable, well appointed, spotlessly clean room; superb breakfast with excellent choice; friendly, helpful hosts and a perfect location close to the centre to the village, only a minute's walk to various eating/drinking options. We ate at the Stables (cheap'ish and cheerful with good food and a buzzy atmosphere) and Ty Gwyn (a bit pricier but superb food and a lovely ambience). The Ferns will definitely be our first choice when we return to Betws-y-Coed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you Simon for your very kind words. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the beginning of summer.... and what a summer its been... I think its hardly rained much since you were with us... you'll have to come again! :)

All the best
Sarah & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ferns Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ferns Guest House

Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AN, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a friendly 4* Victorian Guesthouse / Bed & Breakfast close to the centre of Betws-y-Coed, the Gateway to the Snowdonia National Park. We offer 7 comfortable and freshly decorated bedrooms all with: ●en-suite facilities ● digital flat-screen TV ●free WiFi ●generous hospitality tray ●complimentary toiletries ● inclusive breakfast We are perfectly situated for all the shops, restaurants, railway and major bus routes, including the Snowdon Sherpa service, and can offer our guests some private, off-road, parking. Get packed for Snowdonia's Mountains and Coast's activities and attractions: ● Hill walking & climbing ● Mountain Biking ● Canoeing ● Castles and antiquities ● Beaches, rivers, waterfalls and lakes ● Fishing ● Horse riding ● Golf ● Steam railways (including Snowdon Mountain, Ffestiniog etc) ● Mines and underground adventures ● The longest Zipwire in Europe ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ferns Guest House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ferns Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.