We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ferns” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ferns Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Betws-y-Coed
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ferns Guest House
Save
You added The Ferns Guest House to your Saves list
Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AN, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
NEW YEAR 3-for-2 Offer
Ranked #10 of 49 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Guisborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Ferns”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had a very enjoyable four night bed and breakfast stay at The Ferns Guest House.
Our room ( No. 2) was equipped to a high standard and the level of cleanliness couldn't have been higher. The delicious breakfasts were well presented accompanied by pleasant background music which is a much more relaxing start to the day than the radio or TV.
We were made to feel very welcome and Sarah showed a genuine interest in our daily activities.
If ever we have the need for accommodation again in Betws-y-Coed, we hope The Ferns will have a vacancy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hello J & C. Many thanks for your kind review of us. We're so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we hope we have that vacancy for you next time. All the best, Sarah & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
50
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at The Ferns Guest House in Betws-y-Coed. The service was exceptional, food was delicious and fresh, rooms were clean spacious and cute, bathrooms were fitted to a modern standard and the location was perfect. They were very sweet and let us play some board games in the living room and even left us wine glasses and an opener to use. We would highly recommend the Ferns Guest House to anyone looking to stay at a reasonable and PERFECT welsh B&B,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Hello autumnfaerey. Thank you very much for your kind review of us. We're so pleased that you had a good time here in North Wales and enjoyed our facilities. We hope you can make it back up here sometime. Sarah & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Definitely to be recommended .The whole experience was faultless.Mark and Sarah were friendly and attentive.Great accomodation .Great location .Great breakfast.A lounge to relax was also a big bonus .It was the attention to detail that made the couple of days so special .We look forward to our return visit . Thank you so much

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to review us, and for being so kind. It was great having you all to stay with us and we look forward to you coming back to do that last mountain. All the best, Sarah & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We recently stayed at the B & B, we arrived earlier than what we should of and Sarah let us put our baggage in the room. We had a gorgeous breakfast made to order, fresh flowers in vases on the tables each morning. Sarah made us feel welcome she went out of her way to chat to us advised us on which bus route to take to Snowdon. The room we had was situated at the front of the house which overlooked a beautiful national forest. Highly recommend The Ferns, and is also ideally situated. Defineatly stay again when we next go to North Wales.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your nice review and for staying with us here at The Ferns. We were pleased that you found everything to your liking and that you had a nice time here in Snowdonia, especially as the weather this summer has been fantastic, making trips up Snowdon a bit easier.
All the best
Sarah & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We recently started to have more holidays in the UK and we found B&Bs to be old fashioned and smelly - until we stayed at The Ferns!

It was like staying at a Boutique Hotel, but without the price tag. Attention to detail and decor was immaculate, not to mention service and the quality and standard of Breakfast. Its not very often you get Vegetarian sausages on the menu.

I will certainly return and already recommending The Ferns to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Many thanks for your very kind review of us. We're glad you liked what we do and that you enjoyed our part of the world. We hope you continue to find nice B&Bs on your travels and that you come back to visit us again someday.

Kind regards
Sarah & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We spent last weekend at The Ferns and it certainly lives up to all of the great reviews. It is situated in a great location being on the main street of Betws-y-Coed and the accommodation itself is of a high standard in terms of cleanliness and decor.
To top it all off, Mark and Sarah's warmth, friendliness and attention to detail will ensure you will have a fantastic and memorable stay at The Ferns. If they were featured on Channel 4s' Four in a bed program, they would win hands down!
Phil and Sue, Warrington.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hello Phil & Sue. Thank you for taking time to write such a nice review. It was lovely to meet you both and we were pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Snowdonia and your stay with us. I'm not sure about the "4 in a bed" programme though.......we've no plans to be on telly just yet! :) Thanks again, Sarah & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

When visiting North Wales, this is the place to stay. Betws-y-Coed is a village near the foothills of Snowdownia National Park. Here you have access to the park and important sites such as the castles that are part of King Edward I's Ring of Iron.

My accommodations at The Ferns were wonderful: a bright room looking out over a garden and impeccably clean. Breakfast is cooked to order. Flowers grace the tables. While the accommodations are important, it is the owners who make the B and B and in this case, Sarah and Mark Jones helped make my trip to North Wales memorable.

It began the night I arrived--late and exhausted--after travel problems. Sarah, always positive and helpful, made me tea accompanied by fruit bread. This gave me time to settle which is important after a long trip. She seems to know what people need. I knew then that my visit would be a good one. It gets better.

Sarah and Mark treat you as as a person welcomed into their home and community,not just a visitor. As such, it matters to them that you enjoy your stay; that you experience their culture.Using public transit, I was unsure how to plan a visit to two of the castles. Sarah copied the bus schedule for me and Mark laid out the itinerary, printing me a map, marking the routes and explaining them to me. They provided brochures. They helped me plan another excursion this one to a castle and textile mill. And they are interested in your experiences in Betws-y-Coed asking questions about the visit and if the schedules helped. Of course they did.

While organizing my photos of North Wales I was thinking that if not for Sarah and Mark Jones, I might not have visited castles, the park, and the textile mill which inspired me take up knitting again.

In Betws-y-Coed you can hear the Men's Voice Choir every Sunday at St. Mary's Church down the street from The Ferns. Just before that you can grab the best Welsh Cakes in the country--warm--but as I said before, it is the people who make the B and B. My stay was wonderful; I loved my room, breakfast, and the flowers, but Sarah and Mark made my trip work for me.

Room Tip: My room facing the garden is bright and airy, and the flowers are nice to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferns-guesthouse, Owner at The Ferns Guest House, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hello crystaldragon64.
Thank you so much for your wonderful review you gave us, it certainly was very generous of you. Mark and I are really pleased that you had a good time here in Snowdonia and got to travel around and see the things that you wanted to see. All the best Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ferns Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ferns Guest House

Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AN, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a friendly 4* Victorian Guesthouse / Bed & Breakfast close to the centre of Betws-y-Coed, the Gateway to the Snowdonia National Park. We offer 7 comfortable and freshly decorated bedrooms all with: ●en-suite facilities ● digital flat-screen TV ●free WiFi ●generous hospitality tray ●complimentary toiletries ● inclusive breakfast We are perfectly situated for all the shops, restaurants, railway and major bus routes, including the Snowdon Sherpa service, and can offer our guests some private, off-road, parking. Get packed for Snowdonia's Mountains and Coast's activities and attractions: ● Hill walking & climbing ● Mountain Biking ● Canoeing ● Castles and antiquities ● Beaches, rivers, waterfalls and lakes ● Fishing ● Horse riding ● Golf ● Steam railways (including Snowdon Mountain, Ffestiniog etc) ● Mines and underground adventures ● The longest Zipwire in Europe ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ferns Guest House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ferns Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.