We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we were lucky to spend one night at Glyntwrog House!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glyntwrog House

Save Saved
You added Glyntwrog House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glyntwrog House
A5, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0SG, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
SPRING & SUMMER OFFERS
Ranked #18 of 48 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“we were lucky to spend one night at Glyntwrog House!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

A school reunion in Betws Y Coed gave us an excellent chance to spend a night here at Glyntwrog. A very special Guest House, spotlessly clean, comfy, and Ian and Janet are wonderful hosts, so friendly and helpful. The welsh breakfast was delicious. Although we are quite local to Betws Y Coed, i am sure we will be back to spend a relaxing break at this wonderful Guest House. Thank You.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
55
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We have stayed at Glyntwrog House on many occasions over the years from when Pat and Ken were the owners and really raised the bar for guest houses in the area. Janet and Ian are the owners now and have maintained the exceptionally high standard set previously.

It is consistently exceptional - spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Janet and Ian work very hard to provide such a high standard for their guests and they are always professional, friendly and welcoming.

The breakfasts are super and there is plenty of choice.

This is a fabulously comfortable base from which to explore this outstandingly beautiful area of Wales. It is also within walking distance of the terrific Ty Gwyn Restaurant just down the road that the actor Laurence Fox described as one of his favourite restaurants in an article in The Telegraph.

You would need to be obsessively pedantic not to be impressed with this lovely guest house.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Just returned from 3 night stay at Glyntwrog House. Could not have picked anywhere better. Janet and Ian are excellent hosts. Everything was spotlessly clean and very comfortable with superb breakfasts. Will return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We recently stayed at Glyntwrog House and yes, it is in a beautiful setting with plenty of parking space. The inside of the house is very cheerful and well maintained. We found Ian and Janet very friendly and welcoming and Ian was really helpful where sightseeing was concerned. The room was extremely clean, well decorated and the bed very comfy and cosy.
The radiator came in useful as it was quite chilly at night. The bathroom, although small was very smart and clean with a lovely heated towel rail.

We did have a couple of issues in that our room, The Wren (which should have given us a clue) was very small with one single wardrobe and two drawers. That was it for storage. Yes, I probably brought far too many clothes (trying to allow for every kind of weather) but it is really not enough storage space for two people. I didn't even try to unpack my suitcase which was a nusience but luckily we were only there for three days. From the pictures it looks as though other rooms have more space. Maybe this should be reflected in the tariff?

As regards the breakfast, we would say it was adequate. There were several cereals, but the only fruit on offer was tinned grapefruit which we thought was rather poor for summer months when strawberries and raspberries at least are in abundance. The bacon was lovely and thick but I would have liked mine well done (crispy) This was not an option as we were told it was cooked in the Aga. If it were me and a guest requested it, I would have got the frying pan out to crisp it up. It wasn't a problem at the previous place we stayed and it may sound pernickity, but several of the breakfast plates had chips. A small point, but it shouldn't happen.

Also there were lots of birds on the feeder at the front of house which was lovely, trouble is there are three resident cats who have perfect camouflage under the bushes and just pick off the birds which land on the ground and we did find this a bit distressing. It probably just needs some chicken wire behind the fence or move the feeders to a better location.

It is difficult to say all these things when resident without sounding moany. There are lots of extremely good reviews and we did have a really nice stay so we hope Janet and Ian will regard this as fair and constructive criticism as they are clearly lovely hardworking people.

All in all a lovely part of North Wales and we thoroughly enjoyed our trip.

Room Tip: The Wren is very small without much storage space
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Glyntwrog House, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Pleased to hear you had a good stay with us. A pity therefore that you had some issues that you felt unable to discuss with us face to face so these could be addressed immediately.Therefore to present a balanced view we would comment on some of these.
At the time of your booking there was a choice of rooms available, you chose Wren which is described on our web site stating the room size and 2 photographs showing the double wardrobe and 2 drawers below in the corner of the room. Because Wren is a smaller room this is offered at the rate of £65 per night for a 3-night stay. You could have booked a larger room at the rate of £72 per night.
This is our 1st year to offer Grapefruit for breakfast, which has been very popular. As stated on our Menu we provide fresh fruit salad as an alternative, sometimes offering both to give our guests more choice. Our locally sourced Bacon is chosen for its texture and flavour and is grilled in our Aga's hottest oven, nothing is fried.
We are aware that 3 of our small side plates have a chip at the edge. This is part of a large patterned set and we are in the process of replacing these.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Just returned from a 2-night stay in this beautiful place, recieved a very warm welcome from Ian and Janet, arrived earlier than expected but able to check in. Room was large and very clean with probably the most comfortable bed ever!! Breakfast was really good, choice of fruit - cereals - yoghurt, followed by Welsh breakfast. The setting is amazing, the view from our window overlooked the valley and we never tired from looking out. Bathroom was clean with a good size shower.
Close enough to walk into Betws-y-Coed town. Would highly recommend staying at Glyntwrog House and will definately go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Lovely place - warm, cosy, inviting and very very clean. It reminded me of staying at a favourite relatives place where you feel comfortable, safe and happy. Breakfast was gorgeous and i must recommend the locally produced yoghurts - delicious.

Cant fault the place or the people and would happily stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We were made very welcome as soon as we arrived at Glyntwrog House. Ian welcomed us and introduced us to Glyntwrog House. The four of us were staying in Bettws-y-Coed for a walking weekend. It was wonderful to come back to comfortable rooms with all facilities at the end of each day after a strenuous walk. The warmth of the weather on the weekend was matched by Janet and Ian's hospitality. The Welsh breakfasts were enjoyed by the others but I would recommend scambled eggs and smoked salmon. Superb.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Glyntwrog House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glyntwrog House

Address: A5, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0SG, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully positioned 4 star Guest House set in own 5 acre woodland at the edge of the village, quiet peaceful location yet a short walk to restaurants and all village amenities and attractions. All rooms en-suite, beautifully appointed and with lovely river and valley views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Glyntwrog House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glyntwrog House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glyntwrog House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.