We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Afon View Guest House

Save Saved
You added Afon View Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Afon View Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AN, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 48 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Ross on Wye
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Having decided on a few days in North Wales, weather was looking up, we booked on line. Perfect. All transactions went through without a hitch, the journey was trouble free, and we had a wonderful welcome from our host. Nothing was too much trouble and we can recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
63
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darwen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Just spent 3 nights b and b at the Afon view and it was all we could expect.
Mike met us on arrival with a warm welcome and gave us the local run down allowing us to check in early as the weather was not the best.Room was a good size with view out towards river / wooded hillside but all rooms looked very well furnished and clean.
Breakfasts were very good with a wide range of choice including full cooked Welsh version of English.(Think this should now be called full british.Ha) Very tastey. Barbara the host beavered away in the kitchen whislt Mike did front of house, it worked very well.
Tea and coffee facilities in room and open invitation from hosts to bring your own wine and use lounge area made it feel welcoming.
Well located at the start of the built up area with paper shop next door but one and nearest pub 50 yards.
Plenty of parking at rear . Might try their 3 for 2 offer later in year.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have a nice view front and rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I initially intended to have a single room for the first night and then when I collected my husband from Holyhead to have a double the following night. I was automatically upgraded to double for both nights with no extra charge to save me the agro of moving my things. My husband and I ended up staying there for two further nights as the place was great! Tidy, clean and very friendly, as a woman on my own the first night I felt very welcomed and safe. Breakfast was very tasty and the ambience of the whole house is friendly and welcoming. Betys y coed and the surrounding areas are stunningly breathtaking and we would love to return and explore the area more. Made all the simpler as now we know were to stay! Thanks for a lovely break

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This b&b is a little gem and for me is more like a quaint boutique hotel than a b&b. We recieved a very warm welcome from Mike and were shown to the two rooms we had booked which were both full of character and the standard of decor, furnishings was of the highest. Mike was very helpful and informative with the best places to eat ect... and we were delighted with our little 'take out breakfast bags' due to our early start for the climb up Snowdon. Even when we had a slight issue of our key breaking in the lock out of reception hours, we phoned the emergency number and Mike was straight over to sort it out so we could finally put our weary feet up and enjoy the comforts of our room. Unlike many other b&b'/hotels the bed was extremely comfortable, the heating just right and quality of toiletries superb.We both had a full english on the second day and it was delicious, beautifully cooked and no grease to be seen. We would love to return and i'm sure we will be spreading the word to family and friends. Thankyou for making our climbing trip and visit to Betws y Coed even more memorable and enjoyable!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upton, null, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Barbara & Mike allow you into their home... that's what it feels like. Except theirs is exceptionally tidy!!!!

The whole ambiance is just right from the friendly welcome to excellent attention to detail.

This is why we keep going back. Our 12th stay in the last two years.
Thanks for a great weekend.
J&J

Room Tip: The four poster is special !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

The Afon View is exactly what you would expect in a lovely B&B in Betws-y-Coed. Comfortable room, comfortable bed, friendly innkeeper and good breakfast. Free wifi and various cable channels on a flat screen. We had room 3, pictured in their selection of shots. Nice room, with a sitting alcove looking out on the hills in front, along with the sheep. Highly recommended over the other rooms, which we also looked at. The inn is a short distance from restaurants and shops in this lovely little town, right on the main drag.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llantwit Major, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Room was just like the photos, very clean and tidy and comfortable, owners very friendly and full of information,excellent freshly cooked breakfast, and will be using Afon View again, cannot fault it in any way

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Afon View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afon View Guest House

Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Afon View Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Afon View is an elegant Victorian house situated in the village of Betws-y-Coed, in the Snowdonia National Park. Close to the restaurants, shops, sherpa bus and the train station. We have 7 comfortable en-suite bedrooms and all have been refurbished to a high standard. Private free parking, Free Wi-Fi, Drying Room Facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Afon View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afon View Guest House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Afon View Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.