We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bryn Afon Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Betws-y-Coed
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bryn Afon Guest House
Save
You added Bryn Afon Guest House to your Saves list
Pentre Felin, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BB, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Early bird bookings
Ranked #3 of 49 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were travelling back to Worcester and not having booked anywhere just knocked on the door as Bryn Afon looked so inviting and the location is stunning. We were immediately made welcome, given a choice of room and offered a nice cup of tea. The room was immaculate and the breakfast amazing. Mike and Rachael are the perfect hosts. Thank you and hope to see you again. Lee and Jo.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    20
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
272
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is no ordinary bed and breakfast, the location is superb, the presentation inside and out is perfection, the welcome is unsurpassed. Mike and Rachael, the owners, made us feel at home instantly, they were genuinely interested in making sure our short break was as good as it could be. They were helpful, friendly, informative and encouraging, suggesting a couple of fantastic low-level walks in the locality (as the peaks were still snowbound). They are the nicest couple you could meet and seem to have the perfect formula for keeping the guests very happy. The room was lovely, immaculately presented, double aspect views over the rivers. You can hear the waterfalls from the rooms with the window open at night. Breakfast was perfection, service and quality was faultless, nothing is too much trouble and they go out of their way to ensure the attention to detail that makes the difference is ever present. We stayed an extra (third) night and will doubtless be back in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael W, Owner at Bryn Afon Guest House, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thanks for taking the trouble to write a review and such a lovely one too; very pleased to know that you both enjoyed your stay at Bryn Afon. And of course, thank you for walking Benji!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Fantastic location in a lovely setting. There is nothing negative to say about this great B&B - Mike and Rachel make you feel so welcome and made up a tasty flask of coffee for us every day! We dont usually stay in B&B's but loved it so much we have booked to go back at xmas ........ and of course to get more of those best tasting mushrooms with breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael W, Owner at Bryn Afon Guest House, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hi Sherry, thanks a lot for the review. Good luck with all your very long walks over the next months. We look forward to seeing you both during the Christmas period.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place is in the perfect location in Bets-y-coed. You literally cant get any better, right on the river near the picturesque bridge in the centre. It is clean, friendly and exceptionally good value. The breakfast was top quality, easy wifi access, flexible and friendly hosts. As always the most important thing for me is a decent shower.. the pressure was great.

The room i stayed in was a little small but i would expect that staying in this kind of old stone building. I will stay there when i return to Bets for more snowy adventures.

Room Tip: Ask for the best room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
l
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just stayed with Mike and Rachel at their great B&B the best in Betws-y-Coed. Mike and Rachel are as friendly as can be and they make you feel special and welcomed. The breakfast was outstanding and the location is second to none. If you go to Betws try to book the Bryn Afon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Everything about this place is great - the location, house , room, breakfast, service ...but most of all the really welcoming and hospitable atmosphere created by Mike & Rachael. As the title suggests, it is faultless. This was our second stay at Bryn Afon and we'll definitely be going back. A really great stay. Also, a nice touch whilst staying over Easter was the little chocolate treats in the room with the complimentary tea & coffee.

Room Tip: Room 6 for that extra bit of space and comfort and kedgeree for breakfast to set you up nicely for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

If your planning a stay at Betws then look no further than the supreme splender that is Bryn Afon..Everything positive what the other Trippys have been saying on this site about this charismatic Guest House is true.
Mike and Rachel are amazing..You are treated 1st class as soon as you step foot into their lovely home..Nothing is to much trouble.
Definitely the best Guest House we have ever stayed in and Rachel and Mike just add to the magic that is Bryn Afon.
Many Thanks Mike and Rachel..( I shall bring my tools next time for that busman's holiday -:) )

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael W, Owner at Bryn Afon Guest House, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thanks so much for writing this Terry. I guess that you both made it home safely despite the snow. Perhaps see you both again, in another year and in another month and when the weather is sunny!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bryn Afon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Afon Guest House

Address: Pentre Felin, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BB, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bryn Afon is an elegant Victorian house situated on the banks of the river Llugwy. We have spectacular views of the River Llugwy and the 500 year old stone Pont-y-Pair bridge where the salmon leap in late Autumn. With forest walks starting from our doorstep and with some of the finest restaurants in Betws y Coed and North Wales just 1 minute's walk away, this really is the perfect base for touring the Snowdonia National Park (or for staying locally to enjoy the beauty of Betws-y-Coed). We are able to assist guests with a variety of suggestions on places to visit – from gentle strolls to strenuous mountain walks, mountain bike trails, castles, slate mines, steam railways, gardens, lakes etc, to shopping or eating locally or finding the best local cake and coffee shop. Bryn Afon is easily accessible by public transport; Betws-y-Coed train station and the bus 'station' - both connecting to LLandudno Junction. The Snowdonia Sherpa Bus enables you explore the area and we also have parking in our own guest car park, plus a secure shed to lock up bikes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bryn Afon Guest House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bryn Afon Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.