We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Craig-y-Dderwen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Craig-y-Dderwen to your Saves list
Craig-y-Dderwen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Riverside Hotel, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 OAS , Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Deganwy, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The perfect wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We felt so strongly about this hotel that we had to write a review as soon as possible! The hotel was the venue for our wedding last Friday 7th February and we could not have asked for a better venue. Right from the start, at organisation level, to the running of the day, the quality of the food, the fluidity of the whole day, efficiency of the staff and just about everything else, we could not fault it. The venue is also beautiful and well maintained, the rooms stunning, and the backdrop of the gardens and river is stunning. We had the hot tub room and it was a fantastic end to the day with the hot tub at 1am. The choice of food and drink was also fantastic, with very competitive pricing for absolute quality. Be it a wedding or a short break, family or couples, this hotel offers everything you could ever want. Huge thanks!

Room Tip: The hot tub room, even though a tiny bit smaller than some other rooms, had the best view ans. gorge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    43
    15
    9
    5
See reviews for
33
138
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holyhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Decided on an overnight stay at this hotel before they closed for Christmas. The fact that it was dog friendly made our decision easier. Location is beautiful, and only a short distance walk to the village. The staff were friendly and accomodating the room was lovely and even the rain did not dampen our spirits. It is winter after all. Will most definately return for a short winter break next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Well just returned from a 3 night stay, the worst bit, leaving, we did not want to leave.
The staff were so kind and friendly, Andrew is a one off, there is nothing that he won't do to make your stay the best one you have ever had.
The hot tub amazing, the bed, best nights sleep, the room fantastic, such wonderful views.
The food, well has to be the best I have ever had, the chefs, we wanted to take them home.
I do not write reviews but felt I had to after staying here.
Never planned on returning to a place before I've even left it, but can't wait come back.
Feel so relaxed and refreshed.
Thanks again to you all.

Room Tip: Hot tub room, wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

If you're looking for a great hotel in northern wales, this is it. I will admit, it's a bit pricy....and the beds could be a bit more comfortable (the reason for the one star deduction)... but the staff was so friendly and accomodating. They whipped up scrambled eggs and toast for my toddler at 4 in the afternoon when their kitchen was usually closed.... The food was the best I've ever had at a hotel. Wonderful breakfast and the dinner is to die for if you don't mind spending a bit extra. I would recommend this to anyone and everyone..... unless you're on a tight budget... We usually don't spend very much on hotels, but this really is worth it. the views from breakfast alone are worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

my husband and i stayed here for our 3 night break over the bonfire period and just could not believe our eyes when we saw Sir Rodger Moore with his lovely wife arrive. It turned out that it was Sir Rodger's own personal choice to stay here as he was so impressed with the Hotels idealistic location and it would be a perfect place to wind down before he carried on with his 'tour' the following day.
We have stayed here on a number of occasions to wind down ourselves and just enjoy the best food in the village and the Welsh countryside which is just breathtaking. We always have the best nights sleep as the beds and the rooms themselves are just so lovely and comfortable and with the flowing river as its neighbour, its like a small piece of heaven ..waiting to be discovered.

Room Tip: go for the room with the hot tub!!!!!! its a must do!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Having previously stayed at the this hotel, some years ago, we were delighted to win a break through a magazine and return for a Winter break.
The hotel is set in a beautiful location, that only few get to really experience.
Surrounded by woodland and a flowing river, it really is very picturesque.
We were lucky enough to have stayed in the hot tub room, which overlooked the river. A real treat, especially in chilly November, but highly recommended!!
While the hotel is absolutely stunning I feel it is worth mentioning a few points.
The front of house receptionist is always ''vey welcoming'' but sometimes can make you feel you're in the middle of the Spanish inquisition every time you go out!
Simply saying 'Have a nice day'' is enough.
We also felt a ''little uncomfortable' at being constantly asked if we were eating in their restaurant this evening??....Surely if we wanted to eat within the hotel we would have booked a table?
I would also suggest writing some instructions on using the shower as not everyone would automatically know how to use this.
This hotel is the idea place to unwind and take in the beautiful,peaceful surroundings of North Wales. It is ideally situated within walking distance of Betws Y Coed and all the little delightful shops it has to offer.
Would we return? .Probably not, due to the issues raised, but that's not to say it isn't a truly stunning place.

Room Tip: Would advise booking a riverside view room....Stunning!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here in October and it was an excellent stay from start to finish. The staff are lovely and nothing is too much trouble for them. The food was gorgeous, one of our party has specific dietary requirements and they always cater well for her with no trouble at all. The rooms are beautiful and the grounds and views are stunning.

I can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Craig-y-Dderwen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craig-y-Dderwen

Address: The Riverside Hotel, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 OAS , Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Craig-y-Dderwen 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is set in a much admired and envied position down a long private driveway on the banks of the River Conwy at the edge of Betws-y-Coed in Snowdonia. We have 16 acres of our own beautiful gardens and we are surrounded by uninterrupted and breathtaking views of the Conwy Valley with its wooded slopes forming the perfect atmosphere in which to relax in peaceful tranquillity. Privately owned, the traditional values of hospitality hold strong with the emphasis on courtesy and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Craig-y-Dderwen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craig-y-Dderwen Hotel Betws-y-Coed
Craig y Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Craig-y-Dderwen Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Craig-y-Dderwen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.