We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For train lovers only!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Buffet Coach Cafe

Buffet Coach Cafe
The Old Goods Yard | Betws-y-Coed Railway Station, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AL, Wales
01690 710568
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 26 Restaurants in Betws-y-Coed
Cuisines: Café
Restaurant details
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“For train lovers only!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Having a love of all things railway, I enjoyed our coffee and cake in the carriage. Mind you, the seats were at the end of their life, but full marks for being open in January! A very friendly gentleman served us, and no complaints with the quality of the food and drink.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    7
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“It is what it is!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

It is what it is! It is a buffet car and a few other cars in a siding. Popped in with the wife for a coffee and snack. It was clean but run down. The staff were great, fast and so polite. The toilets were as were when the train was in service but spotless. I really enjoyed this trip into the past. Is it the nicest place...no. Would I have a business lunch there....prob not. Would I go again with the wife and kids for snacks....certainly. The view was or the main Betws y coed station, and looking at the bland cafe on the main station we had more fun.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Gone down hill”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This used to be a nice little café, but our last experience was terrible, had to ask after 1 hour were the food was then 2 meal appeared 30 mins before the next 2, baked potatoes were black and food cold, we couldn't eat the meals, don't bother, get a sarnie, crisps and coke from the coop instead.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Wales
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Won't be returning!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Sorry, but they really need to pull their socks up.

Surroundings are drab and in need of repair. Tables outside were not clean or wiped down, inside was much too hot.

Food was unimaginative. I had a cheese and tomato sandwich with processed cheese and two measly slices of tomato. Hardly any cold drinks other than childrens.

Service was very slow with no system.

Not somewhere we'll be going back to!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Rubbish !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Food crap , took ages to come then it was freezing , the toilets were minging a lot to be desired it needs a good clean and a lick of paint and a tidy up of staff it might do a bit better

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buffet Coach Cafe also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Buffet Coach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffet Coach Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.