We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cwmni Cacen Gri

Cwmni Cacen Gri
Station Approach, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AE, Wales
01690 710006
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 24 restaurants in Betws-y-Coed
Cuisines: Bakery, British, Café
Description: Takeaway only
Restaurant details
Description: Takeaway only
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

What a find! Everything about this place is wonderful - it looks unique from the outside and the inside is different in that the superb welsh cakes are griddled in front of the customers. The staff are so friendly that we made a point of going in every day to say hello and sample even more of what had been cooked on the premises. The standard is exceptionally high and we brought a box full of goodies back to Brum at the end of our stay!
Hadn't realised initially but they do sell savouries too as well as fab coffee - just what you need after a day's hiking.
Keep up the good work!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    19
    4
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Save me from the cakes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

A tiny shop but well laid out and with a fairly unique selling point of cooking those ever-so-morish little Welsh Cakes right before your very eyes on the griddle. The cakes are great and the coffee too. The location in the heart of the town is perfect. Highly recommended

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A gem of a find.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We saw this little shop on a tv show and decided to search it out on our next visit to North Wales, and it was worth searching for. It does excellent coffee and delicious cakes, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. My best advice to anyone visiting would be to not leave without some of their homemade fudge.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“mmm mmm good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Never had a Welsh Cake? Me neither until I met Jennie and Jo at the fabulous cake shop. These ladies can bake! Try the Bera Brethe and do linger for a coffee. Warning though, you likely will have more than one of their cakes--baked daily in the back of the shop...this is truly the best cake shop ever!

We love coming back to visit everytime we come to Betws-y-Coed. and our friends love the BB we bring home.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANCHESTER
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best Fudge Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

lovely spot to relax enjoy a coffee and welshcakes of every variety.Bought some homemade fudge to take home and its the best I have ever tasted

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cwmni Cacen Gri also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Cwmni Cacen Gri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cwmni Cacen Gri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.