We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plas Derwen - Snowdonia

Plas Derwen - Snowdonia
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Betws-y-Coed
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plas Derwen - Snowdonia
Save
You added Plas Derwen - Snowdonia to your Saves list
Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AY, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 49 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Wonderful food, great service.
Have allways had great food and service from the Plas Derwen, and once again not disapointed, Two starters and two mains which were perfect, plus a bottle of wine and the bill comes to less than fifty quid, well what could you say, Wonderful.

p.s. would have had desert but was feeling well stuffed at this stage.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    5
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Such a treat... We were staying up the road and wished we were staying here.... Food was great... Wonderful service... Very attentive.... Just get up and go here... I promise you will not be dissapointed ... Can't rate it highly enough...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We went here for dinner. The food was wonderfully prepared. And the prices were quite reasonable for the quality, creativity and portion size. The atmosphere is quite relaxed and comfortable. My only complaint - they didn't take credit cards.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Having bought a couple of items on ebay which we decided to collect from Stockport & Colwn Bay & we made a late booking to stay in Betws-y-Coed overnight. We were actually staying next door at The Fairhaven (see seperate review). The Plas Derwen is run by David & Pam Halewood, having decided to eat there we were warmly greeted & invited to sit on a comfortable sofa whilst our table was prepared.
Once at our table we ordered two Meze starters & our drinks of Pear cider. Our starters were lovely & reminded us of trips to Turkey & Morrocco where the weather is a tad drier! For our main course Pam chose the lamb on the hot stone & I had the "surf n turf" on the hot stone. The beauty is you can literally cook your meat to your own liking,we really enjoyed it. A couple more Pear ciders and a fab Absolute Raspberry pudding topped off a great meal. Several diners had the cheese board with a nip of port and that looked and we were assured tasted great as well. For £60 we had a meal to remember in a nice atmosphere with friendly service,we will certainly go back on our next visit. The only point to note was that when we were there they did not have the facility to take debit/credit cards so we used cash (there still is such a thing!)

Room Tip: They do bed & breakfast but we did stay there on this occasion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ab_wales
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stopped in the Plas Derwen after a good walk around the outskirts of Betws-y-coed (see National Park walks for info if interested as very easy to follow)

The chocolate brownie I had was quite possibly the best I've ever had, or certainly in the top 5. Prices were very reasonable and service was great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We came here for a light lunch when passing through on the A5. The food was lovely, and the place had a homely feel to it.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We decided to dine here after reading the menu, we liked the sound of the lamb cooked on a hot-stone!

The restaurant might not be everyones cup-of-tea but it had ustic charm and a very relaxed atmosphere. The service was friendly and the lamb was to die for.

Overall, we all had a lovely evening.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plas Derwen - Snowdonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Derwen - Snowdonia

Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Plas Derwen - Snowdonia Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plas Derwen - Snowdonia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.