We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Church Hill House Bed and Breakfast

Church Hill House Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Church Hill House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Church Hill House Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Vicarage Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AD, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 49 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is by far one of the best bed and breakfasts I have ever stayed in. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, with a high standard of cleanliness! The breakfast is excellent, with a variety of choice.

The atmosphere is brilliant with the warm welcome from Julie and her staff, who are always happy to help. Poey62 - I think you might have had your head crammed so far up somewhere, that you couldn't see the excellent service being provided! I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone wishing to stay in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    15
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
5
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We have been visiting this Guest House once or twice a year for the past 12 years. It pains me to say we were very let down by our last visit. Bed side lights not working, Shaver light in the bathroom not working, room looking quite shabby, Mouldy toast, Dirty tea cups at breakfast and when i mentioned that the Milk i used for my bowl of ceirel was sour i was met with a very abrupt response !!
We've never really had any issues before but at £30 a night each i don't expect that kind of poor service so i won't be going back there again. There are plenty of guest houses in Betws y Coed so i will take my business else where in future. Shame as the location in the village is second to none.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Positive:
1. Location. About 5 mins from train station. Some good walks start just adjacent.
2. Rooms were not so bad as you would expect in a B&B
3. Breakfast was quite standard one

Negative:
1. Service is a bit on the colder side.
2. Noticed that the rooms were not adequately cleaned everyday (e.g nobody cleaned the trash)
3. This is the MOST IMPORTANT if you plan to stay with kids. There is a super aggressive cat which comes charging at you. Our kids were a bit shaken with this experience. When we complained to the owners they gave a cold shoulder saying "there are foxes in the forest which are far dangerous, our kids have grown up with these cats" - well good for you but my kid is a Londoner he is not used to being chased by cats especially during holidays!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Have stayed here several times over the last 3 years as part of a walking group of 8. The rooms are clean and breakfasts good, plentiful and promptly served. Just what you need when you want to get out on the hills. The owner is always very friendly and puts herself out to meet our needs. Good location in centre of town with plenty of parking either in it's own car park or right outside on the road. Rooms are a bit dated but so are most of the nearby b&bs, who cares when you are out most of the day and the rates are so reasonable.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a great views. Some of the rooms have baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutton, Brentwood, Essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Just returned from a 4 night stay at Church Hill House and I am writing this review simply because the two reviews on 21 May are so ridiculously untrue and unfair!

I have been staying with Julie for over 10 years, twice a year in April and June as part of a 10 person team organising an annual walking event. The Church Hill House is a lovely B&B that provides excellent value for money in a perfect central and idyllic location. It’s clean, comfortable and warm with a drying facility if required. The breakfasts are excellent and a complete choice of everything is available. For people like us who often require early breakfasts, provided we give Julie warning, this is never a problem.

Julie, her husband Tony, her daughters and other staff are always polite, cheerful, friendly and most importantly, in today’s society of declining service standards, Julie rarely says no, nothing is too much trouble for her. Our team of 10 persons have many different and varied requirements and Julie has always gone out of her way to satisfy them all and make our stays a complete pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed here last week, a friendly welcome with really helpfully knowledge of the surrounding area and activities on offer..our room was well appointed but most of all spotlessly clean. Breakfast was a pleasure' would recommend staying here to anyone.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stayed two nights at this guest house with family and friends. The rooms were clean and towels changed although only stayed for 2 nights. It was little things that were missing which let this guest house down. If you book a family room and are child friendly then why do you not have a highchair there for breakfast. We took the last four rooms and two of the rooms were single rooms but these two rooms didn't have en suite facilities all the other rooms in the place did. We had to share a power shower and toilet but as it was a friend in the other room felt better about this. The other two rooms on the same floor had facilities, but that didn't stop them using the toilet and power shower and found this quite annoying when wanting to use the bathroom. No toilet roll holder only toilet rolls put on the system behind. No bath mat so when the other people used the powershower they left the floor very wet. No instructions given on the power shower and despite trying all the knobs could only get boiling water out of it. At breakfast we were given a table for the 8 of us which was good but the table was between two walls and you had to squeeze into your seat and then you couldn't get out to get fruit juices, cereals etc without everyone having to move. One of the floorboards in my room was very creaky and moved everytime I trod on it which must have been very annoying for the room below. These are all little things that could have been sorted to make things better for their guests. We have stayed at Betws-y-coed before in other guest houses and found them to be very good, but when we booked this time they were full. The rest of our group stayed at another guest house and they found the owners friendly and helpful and interested in what they were doing, we arrived at our one and were handed our key and told where our room was, other than serving us at breakfast. At breakfast they were very good when one of the group requested a poached egg with their cooked breakfast and another scrambled egg. I felt it was the little things that let this place down

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Church Hill House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Hill House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Vicarage Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Church Hill House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Church Hill House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Hill House Bed And Breakfast Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Church Hill House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.