We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit of a maze!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Swallow Falls Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Swallow Falls Hotel to your Saves list
Swallow Falls Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0DW, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Worcester UK
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Bit of a maze!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stopped to get lunch here and to also have a look at the falls.
We found the lack of signs confusing and ended up walking around the entire complex. We then entered through reception where we were ignored and from there found our way to the bar which to be fair is a bit dingy. The bar staff were friendly though and our meal quickly arrived and was delicious. We ate outside rather than in the dingy bar. Lots of the tables needed clearing but when our food was delivered to us the waitress just walked away ignoring dirty plates etc even the ones on our table. In the end we didn't bother with the falls as time was getting on and we had seen then before. We are always on the look out for nice places to stay but I don't think I would be inclined to stay here based on our impressions

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_Peter_Jones_61, Owner at Swallow Falls Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
There is a general misconception that we at the Swallow Falls own the actual Falls themselves. Unfortunately not! They are maintained by volunteers and there is a small charge to view. Perhaps this is where the "lack of signage" comes into play. The complex here takes approx 5-6 mins for an able bodied person to walk round. Very pleased to read you enjoyed your food - we do have excellent reviews concerning our food. I will have a word with our waiting on staff to make sure they clean away plates quickly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    87
    43
    36
    25
See reviews for
64
115
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seal Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My husband and I booked a room at this hotel and we enjoyed it. The rooms are clean and charming and have a cabin-like feel to them. The staff is very friendly and the pub is fun and personal. There are no other buildings around it, making it isolated, which is nice.

Some negatives about this hotel is that the beds are only okay. My husband complained of springs poking through. Also, the description of the hotel said that it is by Snowdonia's town center. That is not true. It is 2 miles outside of the center which by car is not that far, but it is NOT walking distance. So take that into consideration.

All in all, this was a nice hotel with decent rooms for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

At over 60 GBP (over $90 American), one would think one could get a decent room - one would be wrong at Swallow Falls Hotel. Perhaps I'm one of those "pretentious types" Mike B wrote about, but I do expect the beds not to have springs poking into me if I'm paying more than 60 GBP ($90 American) per night (based on two people sharing a room). I also expect that the blinds won't be broken - not only not working properly but also physically broken on the ends. I suppose that asking for the shower to not be scalding hot is also too much. The shower was turned all the way to coldest and was still almost hot enough to scald. The woman at the front desk did say that all of these "could be fixed", but my question is, "Why don't they just maintain the rooms in a reasonable fashion in the first place?" The whole place has a run-down, don't-care feel about it. The staff weren't exactly unfriendly but they certainly weren't friendly either.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I agree with all the positive reviews, reviewer 9427Lisa has 'hit the nail on the head'!

We stopped overnight while touring Snowdonia National Park. The Hotel is a bit dated, but so what? I can see how pretentious types can write this place down, it's simply not for them!!

There is a genuine welcome feel here and we will be going back. Our visit was in Mid July, unusual Hot weather and there were a few Gnats about ( Not the biting type) for about 1 hour before sunset, when the temperature dropped so did the Gnats, so maybe take some repellent.

Great spot.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Having paid a premium price for the weekend we were surprised to find ourselves in a chalet type room at the rear of the complex... The floor of the bathroom was broken as we're the window blinds. Food at the hotel bordered on poor.... Breakfast was ok, but the bar meals were dreadful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stopped at the Swallow Falls Hotel last weekend and used this as a base for Walking Snowdon. Its within 30 minutes drive and located opposite Swallow Falls beauty spot. A really welcoming hotel catering for all pockets, offering clean and comfortable hotel rooms, or more basic accommodation if required. Reception staff were very helpful and friendly, as were the bar staff. Had two really good pub meals both evenings which were value for money and hearty portions. Even though there was an organised weekend with live bands we heard very little of this in our rooms and although the hotel was busy we had no problem getting served at dinner or breakfast. Breakfast, which was included for us, was served in the Tavern Bar and even though it was more canteen style it was great food, served quickly and lots of it. I would certainly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting accommodation in this area.

Room Tip: Pay that bit more and stop in the hotel. Rooms were clean, spacious and had baths. A must if you hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Had a great 3 day stay at this hotel. Plenty of food choice in the bar. Right opposite the water falls, which was a relaxing sound. Room tidied every day with clean towels and sheets. would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swallow Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swallow Falls Hotel

Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0DW, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Swallow Falls Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Swallow Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Swallow Falls
Swallow Falls Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swallow Falls Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.