We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy cafe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Coffee Shop

Alpine Coffee Shop
Station Approach, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AE , Wales
01690 710747
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 26 Restaurants in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cozy cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Huge selection of gorgeous cakes and coffee delicious.
Staff friendly and helpful.
The coffee shop was very busy when we visited and had to wait a while, but it was certainly worth it. Very clean with a cozy atmosphere inside. We chose to eat outside because it was sunny, although we did get pestered a bit by wasps. Would certainly visit this cafe again. .

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    72
    18
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Llannerch-y-medd, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A*”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Good service with a good selection of food and coffee, friendly local staff with a good knowledge of products on offer

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved it - food and decor just great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I enjoyed my visit immensely and would recommend it to my friends. Food was tasty and wholesome and catered for the various dietary needs of my party. Children were very welcome and treated kindly, staff were courteous and helpful when asked about the menu - they knew what was in the meals etc. When the food arrived it was gobbled up by everyone in the group with lots of pleasing comments. It wasn't overly pricey either despite being peak season. Loved the décor, every wall had something different to look at. The message of environmental awareness was not missed but not forced upon us either. Great place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unique cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Quirky café with fabulous décor, and a menu to match. Found it on a day trip and the afternoon tea was better than the Ritz! Had to come back again for lunch.... very very busy, service a little slow, but well worth the wait as the food was delicious. So much choice, and very helpful and charming staff. Wish there was one in my city! Would detour through Betwys-y-coed just to eat here again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I've been to Betws-y-coed a few times, and always found it hard as a vegan.
This time was no different, until I was waiting for my train home.
I was hungry, so thought I would give the coffee shop a whirl on the off chance that there would be SOMETHING I could eat.
One word.
WOW.
A whole page of vegan goodies!
I had the vegan burger with melted vegan cheese...yum!
The place has a great relaxed feel to it, an oasis from the heat outside.
LOVED the fact that they support animal charities (even if I did find it a little odd that they sold meat AND supported animal charities.)
Was just so nice to have a choice of what I ate, and to feel that they had taken care to provide things I could eat.
The staff were friendly, and it reminded me of the vegan/veggi coffee shop that I volunteer at in Southampton, the Art House.
Will definitely be going there a lot mroe every time I visit Betws-y-coed!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpine Coffee Shop also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Alpine Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Coffee Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.