We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, Very Helpful & Friendly Staff and Amazing Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Oak Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Oak Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Oak Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed ll24 0AY, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Central, Very Helpful & Friendly Staff and Amazing Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We booked The Royal Oak based on a spontaneous decision to take a trip to the mountains. Online booking process was quick and concise and we arrived approximately 4 hours later and all was in order with regards to checking in. Parking was available free (permit provided) directly opposite the hotel.

The room was very clean and the bathroom was a great size with a bath and shower (over bath) - just what you need if you've been up in the hills. Possibly the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in - seriously! As part of our stay we had access to the leisure facilities of their sister hotel but we did not have time to use them.

Breakfast was included in our rate and there is a choice of continental or full welsh which we would highly recommend. For those walkers among you, there is the ability to request a packed lunch but we did not try this.

The staff could not be more friendly and helpful and were a great source of local information.

The only downside I would say is that dependent on where your room is located, it can be a tad noisy as some rooms are above The Stable Bar.

We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms towards the front may be a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    84
    33
    11
    8
See reviews for
46
163
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We popped in the lounge on New Years Day for a cake & hot drink. We went into the bar lounge. The decor is lovely, warm and welcoming. The staff were very efficient and friendly.
We both ordered a scone with Jam, and a hot chocolate. It was served very quickly, and the scone was huge. It comes with plenty of butter and an individual pot of strawberry jam.
We spent quite a while here, reading the paper and enjoying the atmosphere.
It was a lovely way to spend a cold afternoon. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Went for sunday lunch on 30th December so naturally the place was very busy. Our booking changed from 9 people to 16 on the same day and the hotel were more than happy to accommodate the group.

Set menu price was very reasonable with a wide range of food although one main vegetarian option was restrictive. The food was tasty and fresh and we didnt have to wait long between courses despite the size of the group. They were also able to offer a separate children's menu.

We did have one or two minor issues such as one plate coming out with no potatoes however the staff dealt with everything immediately to our satisfaction and the issues were nothing worse than every day things that can happen in any restaurant.

I would definitely recommend for a sunday lunch treat.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Enjoyed Sunday Lunch in the Grill Bar/Converatory with the family Sunday before Christmas. Excellent service and the food was great. Good vegetarian options for our daughter.
Then enjoyed some last minute shopping.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We came to Betws-y-coed on a weekend away for a 21st Birthday.

6 of us arrived early on the Friday and decided for a spot of lunch.

We ordered two plates of cheesy nachos to share as a starter, then had:
2 x Venison Burgers from the Specials board (which also had pheasant)
Gammon
Creamy Pasta Bake
Salmon
Another dish I cant remeber

accompanying salads, veg and chips were in abundance and very tasty

Not the cheapest lunch, but food was tasty and hot and the service friendly and quick - what more can you ask for really??

Will be back next time we visit

Also to note, had a few drinks in the bar over the weekend and the restaurant was always full - very good sign !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Another good deal with the Stables Lodge (Annex Royal Oak Hotel). Warm comfortable room with plenty of hot water for a bath after a day's hard walking or cycling.
Free wi-fi is becoming the norm in these small quality hotels plus free generous parking that allows you to park for the rest of the day even though you have checked out that morning.
No hidden expensive extras and a good pub and restaurant within the hotel.
Ticks all my boxes.

Room Tip: Try not to be near the big tree outside with all the crows in it (unless you are a twitcher that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We didn't stay at the hotel but went to the 'grill' restaurant in the lobby one evening. We were attracted by the menu even though it was more expensive than we would normally have paid.
The food was lovely but what spoilt it was the fact that Radio 2 was being played really loudly all evening on the speakers - which didn't make for a very romantic meal! We didn't want Simon Mayo with our mayonnaise!! The lighting was also very bright and uninviting.
That aside, the food was very pleasing. The starter of pigeon's liver with orange jelly was a great combination. The soft fleshy pate was nicely off set with the sharp tangy jelly. The portion was right considering it was a starter but more of the medium sized croutons would have been preferable considering the quantity of pate.
For main, I chose venison and my other half decided upon the partridge. As a carnivore, I was incredibly pleased by how well cooked the venison was. I asked for rare and when I cut into my first medallion, it parted with ease. And a nice pool of jus gathered at base. The quality of the meat was obvioulsy very high as it was succulent and very well rendered. The mushroom risotto was slightly disappointing as I felt the rice was not al dente and the earthiness of the mushrooms, which would have complemented the metallic venison, simply did not show through.
My other half thought the partridge was good too. We really enjoyed the fact that both meals came with seasonal vegetables.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Hotel

Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed ll24 0AY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Oak Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Otel so you can book your Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Oak
Royal Oak Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Oak Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.