We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, very helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Oak Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Royal Oak Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Oak Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed ll24 0AY, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Coral Gables, FL
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely, very helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed for a full week while we hiked in Snowdonia and traveled all over norther Wales. It was one of the wettest and coldest summers they'd had in years, but the staff at the Royal Oak made the experience a warm one! I had no problems eating gluten-free/celiac safe, and the staff recommended a variety of activities on days when it was pouring so hard that hiking was really out of the question. Our room was simple and three flights up, but really lovely and comfortable. It's a modest setting but well maintained, clean and you just can't beat the location. Both restaurants serve excellent food. Best breakfasts I've had in the UK. We'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: While the hike up the stairs might bother some older travelers, the upper rooms are likely quieter f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    96
    35
    11
    8
See reviews for
50
177
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We once again stayed at this lovely Hotel. We stayed there about a year ago and liked it then so we thought we would return. We managed to get a room at short notice and from the staff down to the superb accommodation and excellent food we were happy on all counts. What more can we stay, watch this space, we'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I've just spent a most enjoyable weekend mountain biking in North Wales with friends, we stayed at the Royal Oak in Betws-y-Coed in the modern & very competatively priced Lodge rooms.
Our rooms were well appointed, clean & warm with an ample supply of hot water for showers, just what you need after a day in the mountains.
For those that enjoy the outdoors the hotel boasts a good sized drying room and pressure washer for blowing away the days grime.
In the evenings we dined in the Stables & Cafe Grill Bars and found the menu's both varied & extensive as well as being well priced, breakfast was taken in the Cafe Grill and was again most fulfilling.
All in all, a great weekend was had by all. Hearty thanks to the management & staff at the Royal Oak

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinas Powys, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

stayed at the hotel sat 22nd sep 2012 (room 205). The room was very nice, view of the river, I did think the room was a little over priced at £155 a night as it was quite a small room. We had a great meal in thr GRILL.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We liked this hotel. The rooms were comfortable without being over the top. The shower was hot whatever setting we used and the television probably did work but we couldn't figure it out, nor could the lady complaining at reception the next day. Result: Hot chocolate in the room!!!

As a base for a Snowdon visit, this was ideal; just a few miles up the road in a town that looks worth exploring given more time. They even seemed to turn a blind eye to soaking wet hiker's gear.

Arriving quite late, we had a quick meal in the bar and it was pretty good and also good value with prompt service. Good selection of things for breakfast and once again, prompt and friendly service. Tiptree jam and marmalade, honey too. Best place we've stayed at yet when visiting Snowdonia.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Have I had to deliberate so much over a resturant menu - soooo many amazingly mouthwatering choices.....honestly I struggled to narrow down the choices and could have quite happily picked at least 3 main courses!!

The food was superb, three of us ate there (myself and my 2 children aged 22 and 16) on the 9th September 2012 - the food was fresh, sooo tasty and the prices were very good. We ate off the a la carte menu, but they offered a set menu with 2 or 3 courses from £11.95.

The staff were also very helpful and accomodating - miss it - miss out.

Helen
Birmingham UK

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Didn't stay at the hotel. However, found the professional dining facilities supplemented by excellent service and quality food over Sunday lunchtime a memorable experience. There was hardly anywhere else we could find in Town that offered a wide range of food in clean and friendly surroundings. From Soup & Sandwiches to a 3 course Sunday dinner menu, We ate of the set menu, 2 courses for £12.50. The meat was locally sourced and my beef from the Rhug estate was excellent. Would suit customers who would find queuing at a carvery difficult and like good old fashioned table service,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Hotel

Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed ll24 0AY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Oak
Royal Oak Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Oak Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.