We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B and very helpful.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Courthouse (Henllys)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Courthouse (Henllys) to your Saves list
The Courthouse (Henllys)
Old Church Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AL , Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 49 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Bolton
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great B&B and very helpful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

We arrived sodden on two motorbikes with our camping gear.

Too wet to camp elsewhere and thouroughly miserable. The Henllys B&B was heaven.

Warm, friendly and inviting. The owner took all our wet bike gear and hng it up in her kitchen to dry for our continued journey the next day.

The room was fantastic, well furnished, warm, very clean and full of character. Breakfast were very tasty and the owners very friendly and helpful.

We would definatly stay here again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone thinking of staying here.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    26
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
100
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

My college age daughter & I came from NY to visit Wales for the first time and selected Betws-y-Coed for its close location to the train station, for its scenery, its situation in North Wales. We found the village very nice, so convenient, especially the rope and plank bridge over the Conwy River and especially Conwy Castle, an example of a 12th century castle just perfect for us. We especially liked staying at the Old Courthouse which was only across the train tracks but pleasantly situated on a pretty street. We liked everything about the place, especially the owners who gave us good ideas of what to see in the few days we were to be in North Wales.
The room was spacious with a window that we could open, the furnishings very pleasant, the breakfast room beautifully situated by a birdfeeder busy with bluetits, birds similar to our bluebirds.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights over the August bank holiday. Gillian and Mark were very friendly and helpful with tips on places to eat and the weather forecasts. Our room was very clean and comfortable. It was well laid out and very quiet with no road noise. Breakfast was lovely and we enjoyed sitting in the new conservatory watching the birds in the garden. If we go back to Betws we'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bleadon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

At the beginning of September we had a very enjoyable stay at Henllys. Gillian and Mark Bidwell were our welcoming hosts and provided us with lashings of good food and also lots of information on walks and places to visit . Nothing was too much trouble for them.
Our en-suite room was lovely looking over the river and garden. It was well furnished, very comfortable and very clean.
Going down to breakfast was a pleasure, everything cooked to order by Gillian, served by Mark. The weather wasn't too good but we didn't let that stop us getting out and about.
We would definitely recommend a stay at Henllys, I'm sure we will be returning at some point.

Glenys and Brian Bonham

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

My husband and i stayed at the Courthouse in June. It was a wonderful stay. Mark and Gillian were lovely hosts. Our room was charming. Very clean and comfortable with a beautiful view of the garden and river from our window. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast each morning in a lovely setting overlooking the garden (we loved the porridge!!!). The location was great, a short walk to superb restaurants and pubs. Betws y Coed was a wonderful base for exploring the historical castles and incredible scenery of Northern Wales. The town itself is beautiful, set amidst mountains, green pastures, a waterfall...it was truly breathtaking. I would highly recommend a stay at The Courthouse.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotherham south yorkshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

we arrived at the courthouse and recieived a very warm welcome
from gillian and mark. the courthouse is very tastefully decorated and in a ideal location.
breakfast was great set us up for the day ahead .

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

On arriving at the Courthouse I was impressed with the exterior and ease of parking. On venturing inside it is much smaller than I’d imagined. From photos it looks like the whole building is the hotel when in fact it is 2 semi detached houses. I’m not sure if when it was a courthouse it was like this or if it has been made into two dwellings since. Everything about it was tiny. The library was virtually a store cupboard with police regalia. The original cell looks like it had a wall knocked out to make a sitting area and the original cell door has been ruined with a coat of white gloss paint. Putting that to one side we were greeted on arrival by Gillian, the friendly host. She offered us tea in the garden which was a very nice welcome. We were shown to our room. We’d chose the fingerprint room as it looked more contemporary than the others. It was very tiny again the photos on the website are a little deceiving. It was everything we needed though. The room was very clean and tidy with 2 chairs, a full length mirror, kettle with cups, coffee, tea and biscuits. There was a welsh dresser with hairdryer, tissues and cotton wool. The duvet and pillow cases were of very good quality linen so was really comfortable. The bathroom was also very clean and fresh with good toiletries. We were lucky to have good weather which meant opening the windows, this unfortunately gave me a sleepless night as the church clock opposite chimes every hour.
Breakfast was good and served in a fantastic conservatory with views of the river and birds feeding in the garden. The downside to this is that breakfast is served only between 8.30 – 9am. We asked if it could be later as we’d hoped to have a rest and a lie in. We were told that if we came just before 9am that it would be ok. I can’t see how this is a benefit for any guests. If you are on holiday I’d guess a late or flexible breakfast time is what most people want and if you are on business you’d normally start at 9am meaning breakfast is too late. On top of that you have to check out at 10am.

Betwys-y-coed is full of good eating places. We walked into town to ‘The Dragon’ which was a good Chinese restaurant. The service wasn’t the best but the food good. As it’s the only Asian restaurant around it was still worth putting up with poor service.

Would I return to the Courthouse – No because breakfast is too short and checkout too early.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
henllys, Owner at The Courthouse (Henllys), responded to this review, September 24, 2009
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. Yes the building used to be one but was made up of additions over the years and we sub divided the house about 2 years ago. Having a smaller house has meant we could carry on living and working in Wales since the original house was too big for us to manage without staff.
Our breakfast times need to be as they are since it is not always easy to accommodate early risers and late starters and still have the house cleaned by lunchtime for new guests. I always stress that I need to have the breakfast order in the kitchen by 9-ish since I cook to order and this takes a little longer. Most mornings we still have guests in the breakfast room till nearly 10am - as you said - it is a beautiful place to have breakfast and watch the birds in the garden. To be honest we do not worry if guests are later than the 10am checkout - this is purely a guide.
The photographs on our website were taken by myself with a normal camera (no wide angle lens) and most folks have commented that the rooms are bigger than the photographs show.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Courthouse (Henllys)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Courthouse (Henllys)

Address: Old Church Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AL , Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully maintained converted Victorian Magistrates Court & Police Station with many original features. Lovely riverside garden setting on quiet road within the village. Private off road parking. In the Snowdonia National Park. Convenient for visiting Portmeirion, Bodnant Gardens, Caernarfon Castle, Conwy Castle. Walks from the door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Courthouse (Henllys) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Courthouse (Henllys) Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Courthouse (Henllys), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.