We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ty Gwyn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ty Gwyn Hotel to your Saves list
Ty Gwyn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A5 Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0SG, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Conwy, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Went for a bar meal there on a Saturday evening, food was exquisite, could not fault it, plenty of it as well.
Excellent waiter service provided very friendly place, it felt warm and cosy with a homily atmosphere.
Would recommend this place to eat.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    91
    38
    23
    6
See reviews for
50
213
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I stayed at the Ty Gwyn on Saturday night and must say I had a fabulous night. Firstly the room wasn't a room but a beautiful little cottage at the back of the hotel with amazing views. The cleanliness of the cottage and the new bathroom were irreproachable, and very comforting. I even had cheese and biscuits in my room, bravo!!!

We were even treated to the live Karl Froch live fight while drinking some of their finest wines.

With the other guests also, we ended up having a sing off. Priceless! A great evening was had by all....
I must say the dinner that I had was amazing…. It was a beautiful whole piece of sea bass with steamed vegetables, which I ruined! by ordering chips (on the house...). You
cannot compare the location and the magic of the Ty Gwyn with anywhere else in the UK, as this 16th century coach house gem, never fails to deliver.

I'm not looking to find faults in places like this, which sometimes might occur, because the experience of being there, is more than rewarding. Highly recommended as the food is amazing! and the staff are unique!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends

Room Tip: "The fish is amazing"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I have just come back from a 2 night stay at the Ty Gwyn Hotel, I booked 3 rooms for my wife and I and my 2 children and their partners. The rooms were really nice and the breakfasts and the dinner in the hotel restaurant were really top notch. The staff were very friendly and helpful and I would recommend a stay in this hotel to anyone. It is also very well situated for the local attractions such as Swallow Falls, Bodnant Gardens and Portmerion. We would definitely return for another stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trafalgar, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

The trouble with not booking in advance is that some times like Bank Holiday weekends you can get caught! Well we were driving up through the Snowdonia area when this happened and I think the Gods were looking down on us because the only place we found to have a spare room was here. We absolutely loved it in that it has a huge amount of character and ambience. We were told that it would take until about 9pm until we could get a table for the evening meal because they were fully booked but that didn't worry us in the least because they had a lovely cosy lounge where we could have a drink while we waited. The room was very comfortable and had everything we could want. Breakfast the next morning was very yummy. The staff even though they were run off their feet were all very happy and competent. I can see why some people on TA could rate this place so badly, maybe they are just bloody sad people!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

My wife and i have just come back from a 2 day stay at the Ty Gwyn. We've been 5 times now and absolutely love it. The room is always very clean and cosy. The staff are really friendly and are happy to pass on any recommendations for things to do in the area.

After a day sight seeing or just relaxing we like to have a drink in the bar before we sit down to a very enjoyable meal. The menu just gets better and better. It's reasonably priced and the food excellent. All served by polite staff.

I highly recommend this hotel as a nice quaint place to stay when visiting the area, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed in room 10 which was quiet and very comfortable.
The highlight of our stay was the evening meal. The food was excellent, the staff were friendly, the atmosphere relaxed. If you like old coaching inns you will love this place..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We booked in for a one night stay on Sunday past and arrived at the hotel early afternoon hoping to get a snack. The odor in the entrance hall was of the kitchen and the hall carpet was tacky to walk on and we were a little concerned as to whether we had perhaps been mislaid by the Trip-Advisor ratings. No food was available and so we went to another hotel for a bite and surreptitiously asked about the TY Gwyn to be told that it was very good and that the food was marvelous. Our room was small and the bathroom smaller. This was an old coaching inn and so shabby chic was to be expected but I fear that it went beyond that. Dinner was average with soup returned because it was cold. Breakfast was a somewhat greasy affair, a shame because the ingredients were top class. It must be said that the staff were lovely and most obliging arranging the Memorial golf on Sky TV for us on Sunday evening but I fear that attention to cleanliness and food presentation left us feeling disappointed and still looking for a place to stay on future journeys through North Wales.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bampar, Owner at Ty Gwyn Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Harry M
Sorry to hear that you didnt enjoy your stay at the Ty Gwyn Inn.
At the Ty Gwyn we do have set meal times of 12.00-2.00 at lunch time and 6.30-9.00 in the evening (we do not advertise that we served food a day.) As for the room being small, the Ty Gwyn is a 400 year old inn and reflected in the price, we do have some larger rooms at slightly higher price.
As for the food you must have been one of the very few dissatisified customers as you can read all the reviews on Ty Gwyn TA. We try our best to make all our customers happy when dinning at Ty Gwyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ty Gwyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Gwyn Hotel

Address: A5 Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0SG, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ty Gwyn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seventeenth-century coaching inn in the heart of Snowdonia. Award-winning restaurant, full of charm and character, beamed ceilings and open fires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ty Gwyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Gwyn Betws y Coed
Hotel Ty Gwyn
Ty Gwyn Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ty Gwyn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.