We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ty Gwyn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ty Gwyn Hotel to your Saves list
Ty Gwyn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A5 Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0SG, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed here in November for one night and found it to be a lovely, cosy place, especially at that time of year. The room was homely and comfortable, and we had a fantastic meal in the restaraunt next to a roaring log fire. Highly recommended, and in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    96
    40
    24
    7
See reviews for
51
234
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berlare, Belgium
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

When we visit Betws y coed we always call in the Ty Gwyn for a meal .As always we were not dissapointed.Food was of a very high standard and served with a smile.All staff very friendly, couldnt ask for more.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We had dinner here on of our 2 nights in Betws-y-coed. It was absolutely delicious. The decor inside is wonderful....all a mis match of antiques. The service was great as well. I will say, I felt like a bull in a china shop. The tables were a bit crowded and the seats we wobbly. I felt like I was going to break something at any given moment.... But it was really delicious. I would definitely go back again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Really oldie worldly nooks & crannies, full of character and charm. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Cold beer and excellent food. Room wasn't particularly decorated to my taste and when I sat on the bed thought OH this wasn't going to be good. However how surprised I was as I had one of the best nights sleep ever feeling very cozy and happy. Lovely setting great breakfast

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stopped here for a meal and I absolutely fell in love with this place! Full of character and the decor was amazing, The staff were excellent, very friendly and attentive, the food was delicious, but for me it was the the layout and the quaint, quirky way it has been furnished. I want to move in and live there!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I've stayed here with my boyfriend twice now (rooms 7 and 11) and both feel this is a really great place to stay and have recommended it to our friends. The place has lots of character, rooms are spotlessly clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Even if you don't stay here the restaurant is a must. The food is excellent and again the service can't be faulted! Best value for money by far.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eynsford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at this beautiful and characterisitc inn in the gorgeous setting of the Gwydr Forest in Snowdonia. The facilities are immaculate the service imecable and the food wow you will not be disappointed. My favourite the Welsh Tower. There is a great atmosphere attached the the place and I this was our second stay and we would definitely go back. We would like to wish Martin and his wife the best of luck for the future your rooms always be full and will definelty see you again.

Room Tip: We were in room 1 the cutest room we've ever stayed in. Warm cosy and snug
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ty Gwyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Gwyn Hotel

Address: A5 Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0SG, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ty Gwyn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seventeenth-century coaching inn in the heart of Snowdonia. Award-winning restaurant, full of charm and character, beamed ceilings and open fires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ty Gwyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Gwyn Betws y Coed
Hotel Ty Gwyn
Ty Gwyn Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ty Gwyn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.