We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in a quiet pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ty Gwyn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ty Gwyn Hotel to your Saves list
Ty Gwyn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A5 Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0SG, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food in a quiet pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had a really terrific meal here on Sunday night. The pub was quiet but warm and cosy. I had baked salmon and the wife had cottage pie - both we're large servings and were absolutely beautiful. Have a bowl of chippies too - great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    96
    40
    25
    7
See reviews for
53
241
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed at Ty Gwyn last week, excellent hotel. Staff very helpful and friendly. Lovely quirky 300 year old inn. Made a nice change from from the bright lights of modern hotels.

Restaurant was great, good choice of food and portions were plentiful.

Snowdonia in the snow absolutely glorious. Will be going back there and definitely be booking into the Ty Gwyn.

Terry

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We decided to have Sunday Lunch in January and booked in advance.... It was a cold snowy weekend and we arrived just before 1pm and I was surprised to find that we had the place to ourselves.
The hotel was built in the 1600's and is on a main road so car parking is limited.
We decided to have coffee and tea first and went into a side lounge that was very quaint with comfortable couches and chairs. The regular coffee was average and the tea was good. The young man who looked after us was attentive and tried hard... You cannot ask for more. A few negatives... The cutlery was cheap and well worn to say the least, I had a twisted fork that I was able to straighten and we had to point out one set was not clean.... This was replaced with quality cutlery presumably from the restaurant. It says on the hotel website they have log fires in the winter.... This is not the case and yes they have the fires and a stovax wood burner but they don't light them. That is a big turn off and an elderly party of four who sat next to us commented the room was cold. It could have been warmer. It is very disappointing they don't make the effort to light a fire, nothing better or more welcoming.
We decided to have a Sunday Roast opting for the lamb and the beef. This was really good.... Generous portions, delicious and full of flavour. The broccoli and Stilton soup as a starter was average and went down very well.
So good service and good food sadly let down by basic things you tend to expect from a good hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We decided on a mid-January weekend and looked for a well-located pub with a decent restaurant and log fires. We ended up with a mixed-bag of experiences. First the good points. The food was good and plentiful - I would describe it as 'hearty fare'. However, there were lots of downsides.

When we booked, the rooms in the pub itself were all taken. I accepted the use of the cottage behind the pub. This is a conversion in recent years, quite well done, but accessed up a rough path beside the pub with steep steps, two of them broken. It was dark and the lad who took us up there had a torch which benefitted him but not us, especially as we were carrying our own luggage. We asked for a torch, but he did not leave his with us and said there was no other. On the downward trek back to the pub later, a motion-sensor lamp lit up just the top part of the path, but on the return trip to the cottage later it was pitch black because the motion sensor only worked when we were quite close to it. There was no handrail. It is a wonder we didn't break our necks. The heating was not on in the cottage, and it took several hours for it to come up to a decent temperature, on what was the coldest night of the year so far. The bed-springs creaked with every small turn louder than any bed I have ever slept in; it was like the music-hall joke about a honeymoon couple's nightmare (not that we were honeymooners). The bathroom was ok, but no anti-slip mat in the bath.

Back in the pub , we had a couple of drinks and read the papers in the early evening. The beer was good, the wine was ok. The bar had no snacks at all - not crisps, nuts, olives - nothing. Further there was no log fire (provided in winter according to the website) at any time - one of the main reasons we had chosen the place.

As I say, a mixed bag of experiences, and a pity it was not better because the potential exists.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed recently having eaten there a few times and loved the food. The bedroom was dark and dinghy - it is however a very old building and to be expected., also anyone over 5 feet tall would be struggling with wardrobes etc. Everything worked well and the bed was very comfortable. The A5 was a nuisance early morning - very noisy. Staff in the main OK but the owner never made eye contact once in the three days we were there - why? Will probably give it a miss in the future - other restaurants provide good Welsh food with a more friendly attitude.

Room Tip: Think the restaurant side is more important than the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The Ty Gwyn is a 17th century coaching house just on the fringe of Betws-Y-Coed. I had eaten in the bar some 9 years earlier and found the food to be high quality. The food standard certainly is still the same ! Being from the 17th century the place is quaint and a naze of small rooms upstairs. I personally felt the place was somewhat cluttered and am surprised the fire authorities allow this. The bedrooms were a dissapointment. The one my wife and I had was small and again cluttered. The bathroom was miniscule. There was no heating in mid winter although the quilt was a high tog rating and thus compensated. There was a radiator in the room it was just not turned on. The breakfast was again just ok but the restaurant (where we ate breakfast) had a musty smell. I am sure there are better accomodation options in BYC but doubt you will better the food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Do not miss this one!! the whole experience of the TY Gwyn is exceptional, the rooms are all nicely decorated and spotlessly clean, the food exquisite, highly recommended!! have stayed here several times and have never been disappointed, have tried most of the menu and cant recommend the steak tower enough!!! will continue to stay here when in area! as the food just wonderful, staff very helpful and friendly - this is an old coaching in on a busy main road with limited parking, however the staff very accommodating and its a great base location and excellent value for money

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ty Gwyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Gwyn Hotel

Address: A5 Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0SG, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ty Gwyn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seventeenth-century coaching inn in the heart of Snowdonia. Award-winning restaurant, full of charm and character, beamed ceilings and open fires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ty Gwyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Gwyn Betws y Coed
Hotel Ty Gwyn
Ty Gwyn Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ty Gwyn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.