We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, could be great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Craig-y-Dderwen

Craig-y-Dderwen
The A5, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 OAS, Wales
01690 710293
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 24 restaurants in Betws-y-Coed
Cuisines: Bar, Bistro
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Llanrwst, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good, could be great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We had a very respectable lunch here some time ago so decided to try dinner. Overall, we enjoyed the evening and the location and views are a bonus. I would have liked to see a more modern menu and I do agree that it is expensive for the food offered. My starter of deep fried brie with poached pear and onion marmalade was nicely balanced. My wife's Arbroath smokies were excellent. We both had sirloin steak which was cooked well. I would have liked just a little more of the excellent sauce. Pity about the uninspiring veg though. There is talent in the kitchen and with some updating of the bar area and the menu, this could become a regular for us but not yet.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

59% Recommend
    9
    7
    5
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kent
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent as always!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Having been a regular patron of this Hotel & restaurant for the past 4 years I feel compelled to tell everyone how consistently fantastic the food, staff and service are here. The conservatory restaurant is stunning and is literally set overlooking the river. Between my rather fussy wife and I we have eaten over 50 meals in this restaurant and without exception they have all been perfect. We are already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Good, but could be perfect”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We fancied a nice dinner during our stay in Betws-y-Coed so this looked like the perfect place. We liked the reception in the lounge with drinks and ordering our food. Our table had excellent views over the river so this was ideal. The food was excellent, but at AA Rosette level the details count: on arriving at our table the bottle of wine we ordered was already open (should have been opened in front use), and our starters were served within 1 minute of clearing our table from the (very nice) appetizer; we could have done with a bit of time between the courses. I would rate this as "Good" and with a little bit of attention to detail it would have been "Excellent". As I can only choose "Average" and "Very good" I'm rating this "Average" as "Very good" would give a bit too much credit. Great atmosphere, excellent food, watch the details!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Disappointing, could have been so good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

For a change from the Ty Gwen, we decided to try the Bistro here on recommendation from our B&B hosts.
Sadly, we were the only ones in the restaurant, and still didn't capture the full attention of the waiter.
The food was OK but overpriced: we had to remind the waiter that we had ordered wine when our mian course arrived ( after w'ed finished the starter) He said, 'you should have shouted me earlier!'
No atmospher, mediocre food and indifferent service - not again for us!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Avoid unless you are desperate”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

After not being able to get a table at the excellent Ty Gwyn hotel the other side of the river we decided to try the restaurant at Craig-y-Dderwen. Outside the place there was a menu on the wall which looked fairly decent. At least both of us liked the look of something off it - so we went in.

At the bar inside we were given the "restaurant" menu rather than the one posted outside which was apparently the bar one. On asking it was implied that the bar menu was only available in the bar area which we though meant eating from low tables rather than the tables we could see. (It turned out the bar has it’s own restaurant area).

After ordering we were taken to the main restaurant which is in a large conservatory overlooking the river. (Bonus points for the view). The menu though was really old school and massively overpriced. They charged £7 for a bowl of pretty dull soup and £18 for the main which was nothing special. Want pudding – that’s an extra £7 for a few profiteroles.

To top it off they charged £4.50 for a bottle of beer. We left less than an hour after arriving £35 a head poorer. Do yourself a favour and go somewhere else.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Craig-y-Dderwen also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Craig-y-Dderwen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Craig-y-Dderwen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.