We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average - Shame you have to pay for the parking” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Stables Bistro Bar

Stables Bistro Bar
Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 OAY, Wales
01690 710219
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 26 Restaurants in Betws-y-Coed
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: Pub, Bistro, Welsh
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Wales
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Average - Shame you have to pay for the parking”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Not many restaurants charge for parking, sadly this one does...that left a sour taste in my mouth. The food itself is average and fairly costly, nice location. The table that we were at was places near the toilets and there was not enough space for people to get through - which meant we had to get up every minute for people to get through to the toilets.
I would eat there again, mainly as there is nowhere else that could accommodative a large group eating lunch time at Betws Y Coed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    189
    78
    24
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“I liked it so much I went back again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a large busy pub/restaurant and that means the menu and meals are designed for that market. There is a fair amount of car parking outside the pub. I think it is part of a hotel which seemed to have more upmarket restaurants in the main part of the hotel.
We went on a Friday night in October and it was very busy with people coming and going constantly. You first find a table and then order.
The menu was varied but very much designed for the environment. As I recall it consisted of pasta, pizza, curries and burgers. There were also a number of specials.
A good indication of how well run a pub is can be judged by the queue at the bar. Despite being very busy there was no one waiting. The guy who served me was friendly and helpful.
I ordered pasta, my wife I think had a vegetarian curry and my son a burger. All were brought to the table within 5 minutes which is incredible considering how busy it was. All the meals were excellent and it did not feel as if they had been prepared with cheap ingredients.
The prices were maybe a little below what I would expect to pay but not that cheap.
As we were pleased with our experience we went back for a late Sunday lunch a couple of days later. The experience was a repeat of the Friday, busy but good service with good food at a decent price.
The only minor fault I could find was that when a table became free the dirty dishes were not cleared away immediately. So constantly new customers were clearing tables themselves.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was an eatery attached to a hotel. Its best described as a pub/restaurant. However the food was good and reasonably priced. We called in on two occasions and found a table, although it was busy. Service was prompt. Good value.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One to try in betws y coed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Good value and excellent food one to try. The atmosphere is welcoming and live music. No need to book sit and eat during the week. Saturday night was busy even at the end of the season.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
399 helpful votes 399 helpful votes
“never disappoints”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The food is served quick and the portions are very generous. The quality isn't top, but hey, after walking for hours all you need is a little bit of comfort in your tummy. And here you get it.
The atmosphere is inviting, always.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stables Bistro Bar also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Stables Bistro Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stables Bistro Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.