We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B and B plus !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolweunydd Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dolweunydd Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Dolweunydd Bed & Breakfast
Holyhead Rd | Pentre Du, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BY, Wales   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
DOLWEUNYDD GIVE BEST RATE
Ranked #7 of 49 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Rossendale
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“B and B plus !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

had 2 night stay at Dolweunyyd November 2011. found it as pleasurable as all the previous correspondents. Paul and janette seem to bring something else to the B and B trade in the UK.

so many B and B`s are clearly businesses and the owners show little love for their project !

Dolweunydd is obvioulsy a personal passion for these owners. A definite but unobtrusive personality is stamped upon this place. The extra flourishes are all evident - nice comfortable rooms, brilliant breakfasts (whoever makes them !) lovely decoration - but it is the sheer easy- going, friendly atmosphere that puts this place a cut above the norm.

if ran a Band b i would want it to be like this.

extremely likely to stay here again.

Garv

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
128
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

4 persons out for a weekend break and stayed at this property. First class hosts, with first class accommodation. Excellent off road parking within the grounds to the rear of their property. Very comfortable rooms and an absolutley first class breakfast, big, very big and as we all agreed, the hottest we have had in such accommodations for ages. Well done Paul - what a cook! The property is only a 10 minute maximum slow walk from the centre of town. This property will be advertised in our place of work, it was that good. Thanks Paul & Janette, we look forward to staying with you again.
Your South Wales Bikers.

Room Tip: IT's quiet there. No problems to sleep at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Just arrived back in Oz after a trip around North Wales including 3 nights at Dolweunydd B&B.
My room was spotless, the bed plump and the breakfast defined 'full English' (in fact I didn't feel hungry again until after 4.00pm so ate my pre-ordered lunch for dinner).
Paul & Janette are simply lovely people ... as I drove off after my 3 nights (with Paul's google maps print-out of directions to my next destination on the passenger's seat) they stood on the front step waving good-bye as if I was one of the family.
Hint ... take your bottle of wine down to the lounge room ... Paul likes to come out for a chat.
People make places ...

Room Tip: all good ... no need to 'choose'
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

I have just got back from a four day motorbiking/walking break in Betws-y-Coed with my side kick Paul. We stayed at the Dolweunydd B&B - what a fantastic place with two great people running it, Paul and his lovely wife Janette.Nothing was too much trouble Paul even took us both to the car park at the start of our walk up Snowden and Janette gave us water and home baked cakes for our long day at no extra cost. I will definitely be returning here again but next time with my wife. Thanks Paul & Janette

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed here over the bank holiday weekend just a few weeks ago. Dolweunydd's location is perfect for getting in and out of Betws y Coed or journeying into the rest of Snowdonia. The standard of accommodation is pretty high and the breakfast is superb. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking to stay in the area and will be booking in the next time we're back. Tony & Kelly

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Not long got back from a delightful stay in Betws-y-Coed but more specifically at the Dolweunydd B&B. We decided to book the B&B cottage as we were after a bit of privacy.

As we booked some time in advance and were worried that as we wouldn’t be arriving until gone 10pm there might not be anyone to let us in. I rang up prior to our arrival and the owners said this was not a problem. We eventually turned up at about 9:30 pm in the pouring rain to be greeted by Paul (the owner) standing outside the cottage. He welcomed us in and to our delight we were met by a beautifully presented and immaculate room (Paul had even put the fire on for us). After a good night’s sleep we woke up and were able to view the room and surroundings in all its spender. Having our private outside space to sit and relax was a real bonus.

The main B&B building is literally 15 seconds walk from the cottage where breakfast is served. The breakfast room is full of nice touches which make it very cosy and again welcoming. I must say that the breakfast is easily the best I have ever had in a B&B and dare I say it the best ever. Even though it was a traditional English breakfast with all the trimmings it looked healthy i.e. not swimming in grease. The sausages and bacon were of excellent quality but the scrambled eggs were amazing!

The B&B itself is the perfect location. About 5-10 mins walk to shop/restaurant area which is ideal when you want to walk off a large evening meal and a few gentle drinks.

Even though the weather let us down slightly the prospect of returning back to our room after a hard days walk was truly appealing. The atmosphere of the B&B, the personality and welcoming nature of the owners (Jeanette and Paul) is 10 out of 10. We give our full recommendation to staying at the Dolweunydd. We can’t wait to go back!

Rich and Lenka.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011 via mobile

We arrived have walked up and down Snowdon, it was my birthday, we were tired and had been camping for the 3 night previous. We were shown to the cottage after a warm welcome from the owner. It was absolutely perfect, a great size, clean, tidy and nicely decorated.

Set in the garden of the house, we felt secluded and not at all like we were in a B&B. We asked for breakfast in the cottage, which was delivered fuss free and was absolutely fantastic. The second morning we had breakfast in the house and again the warmth and friendly nature of the owners shone through.

We cannot recommend highly enough, a short walk to the town and swallow falls, friendly, helpful people and a room you wouldn't begrudge paying a lot more for.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolweunydd Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolweunydd Bed & Breakfast

Address: Holyhead Rd | Pentre Du, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BY, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolweunydd 4 Star Bed & Breakfast is a small family run business in beautiful Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia. All rooms are en-suite with tea/coffee making facilities, TV, radio, hairdryer, wi-fi, comfortable guests' lounge, private off road parking. We also boast a cosy romantic cottage with en-suite bedroom in the garden at the rear of house with breakfast in the main house (room service optional - dining table for 2 in room), delicious full cooked breakfast provided, options of flowers and wine in your room on arrival and packed lunches can be ordered prior to arrival when booking. Your hosts, Paul and Janette, will aim to make your stay your most memorable. We look forward to you enjoying your stay and wanting to return. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Dolweunydd Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolweunydd Bed & Breakfast Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolweunydd Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.