We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest fish and chips in ages” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hen Siop Pont-Y-Pair

Hen Siop Pont-Y-Pair
Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BN, Wales
01690 710030
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 26 Restaurants in Betws-y-Coed
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Fish & Chips
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Milton Keynes, Bedfordshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nicest fish and chips in ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Freshly cooked fish and chips with a smile. Honestly the nicest I have tasted in a long time. Light crunchy batter and fresh fish - plus perfect chips. 2 portions of fish and chips, one mushy peas and 2 diet cokes was £11. Worth every penny

Ideal to eat on the rocks by the river or take back to your B&B as we did!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    5
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
devon
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“take away very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

we had take away from here on 4 occasions. twice fish & chips and twice just fish. the fish is excellent. a nice thin batter but crispy. (better like that than thick stodgy batter). it is freshly cooked and piping hot. the fish had a lovely flavour and texture. would recommend highly especially if you don't want the bother of cooking or sitting in a restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, CA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Comfort food in a fun setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife had Welsh Stew. I had Fetuccine with ham and parmesan (a.k.a. Fetuccine Alfredo) and we both enjoyed our meals. The dining room was large and open, the service excellent. It was not a romantic place, but it was very good!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great take away fish and chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We just stopped here for takeaway fish and chips, ate them just around the corner of the bridge with a good view of the river. The fish and chips were great, really good quality and freshly cooked. Staff served us with a smile. Not a bad price at less than £4 per portion for a large portion size to take out. We would definitely visit again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Betws - y - Coed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

I passed by this place on my way to Llanfairpg. We, my late bro-in-law Cliff, my sisters Rema and my late sister Prema, along with my little nephew Dan, speed here to have a snack ... fish n chips of course. It is a very beautiful place and we sat outside a restaurant munching in the garden beside the restaurant.

It was a very relaxed atmosphere and even my sites Rema, who was in an angry mood, calmed down and we had a wonderful time here. We saw an ice-cream van across the road and of course we couldn't resist ... bought some ice-creams, went back to our table and enjoyed the ice-cream.

I felt so relaxed, it was amazing. The people were so nice and friendly too. I loved this place.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hen Siop Pont-Y-Pair also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Hen Siop Pont-Y-Pair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hen Siop Pont-Y-Pair, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.