We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pont-y-Pair Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pont-y-Pair Hotel and Restaurant to your Saves list
Pont-y-Pair Hotel and Restaurant
Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BN, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 49 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Never Again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

Apart from the scenery surrounding this hotel, I really cannot say anything nice about this place. Very run down looking, the bar area especially looking old & tired. Some unsavoury looking characters frequent the place.

But worst of all is the terrible attitude of one bar man in particular (not a local man, possibly French), very rude & not at all a people person.

I will never again spend one more penny of my hard earned cash in this establishment.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    45
    12
    8
    9
See reviews for
15
64
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

we came to the hotel because of the reviews we read on the tripadvisor. we found 2 rooms quite old, one of them smelled from moist, the toilet were very poor and the cost dosn't really worth it. day before we stayed in a much chipper hotel with better
conditions. the food was great thogh....
i think the hotel can suit young peple, the area is beutifull and maybe 20 years ago i could have liked this hotel (for a better price).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

We only ate here (hence we've given full marks for things we cannot comment on), however the whole experience eating here was terrible. We all had different meals but all of them were bland and tasteless. The service was extremely slow and the waitress was blunt to the point of being rude, politeness doesnt cost anything!

Other customers were also having the same bad experience - some leaving impatiently after making sure they had the exact money in order to not pay a tip. It put a dampner on an otherwise great time in Snowdonia.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

Stayed here in April with nine friends for a walking weekend. Central location but it needs some TLC which Ithe new owners seem to be doing. Popular with locals; food and beer good. Very limited parking but a public car park can be foulnd just over the river bridge in front of hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

We didn't stay here but ate here a couple of times during our stay over Easter. This was the first place that wasn't crowded on a rainy Good Friday so with two grumpy, cold, wet children we headed in. On first glance the place looked a bit tired and I was a bit worried that the food might not be good. But how wrong was I?! The food was excellent, I had the home made steak pie and it was gorgeous. My kids had the sausage and mash and it was a proper sausage, not just a cheap one that are usually given to kids from a kids menu. By the end of the meal our grumpy one year old was giggling at the staff who were making a fuss of him.

The second time we went I had the pie again as I had enjoyed it so much the first time and my partner had the cheese burger, which again was hand made not just something cheap out of a packet.

I can't rate the accommodation but if they even put half as much effort in to it as they do the food then it should be a quality place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

Didnt stay here, but we had evening meal twice in the bar. Food was excellent, the first time I tried the pan-fried salmon on a bed of parmesan flavoured risotto, while my wife had a lovely steak and ale pie. The next time I tried the pie and my wife had a delicous lamb shank.

There was a restaurant attached with the same menu, but the bar had such a good atmosphere we preferred it there.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

Although the bar area is still bit old fashioned the restaurant has been recently refitted but most importantly the food is terrific - good combination of local produce with French flair and great with kids as you can have a proper meal and still let the kids have (home made) nuggets and chips! There are plenty of places in Betws y Coed still serving up typical tourist fodder so this is one place worth a visit

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pont-y-Pair Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pont-y-Pair Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pont-y-Pair Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pont-y-Pair Hotel And Restaurant Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pont-y-Pair Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.