We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pont-y-Pair Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pont-y-Pair Hotel and Restaurant to your Saves list
Pont-y-Pair Hotel and Restaurant
Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BN, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 49 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Wales
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Local food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I've eaten here many times and the food is always excellent. always fresh food with plenty of choice to suit all needs. Sunday lunch is always superb and the Duck with cannelloni is well worth a try, also there is a wide choice of real ale and reasonably priced wine.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    45
    12
    8
    9
See reviews for
15
64
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I was staying in Betws-y-Coed for two nights while working locally. On my second night, I wandered up the road from my B&B to the Pont-y-Pair Hotel for an evening meal. The prices seemed very reasonable, and I selected a chicken with bacon and garlic dish from the bar menu - and to say I was pleasantly surprised with the dish brought to me is somewhat of an understatement!

The first thing immediately noticeable, was the generously-portioned serving, which was clearly home-made with fresh ingredients. It was also served with (without the need to request any!) some warm French stick slices and butter. The meal was very well presented, the sauce was lovely and rich, and everything was cooked to perfection.

I found the place to have a nice local atmosphere, that was also welcoming. Add to that free wifi courtesy of The Cloud, and you cannot go far wrong.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here over the weekend of 25th Jan 13 for a walking holiday in Snowdonia. The weather was atrocious but the Hotel was excellent. The bedroom was fine but where it really stood out was with the food.
Full english the one morning followed by smoked salmon, scrambled eggs on toast the next - you could not fault it. They also filled our flasks for the days walk.
Both evenings we had 3 course meals and they were even better.
The young staff were very friendly and helpful and the beer was 'just what the doctor ordered'!
Value for money was also excellent.
One of our party was already planning a return visit as we left - can't ask for a better recommendation than that!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

I'm local and I go to ponty often! Decided to have food their (family meal)
The food was perfect couldn't fault that!
The bar men were great
But we didn't even get a welcoming off the waitress she didn't even say hello
Or ask if are food was ok
Every thing seemed so much of an effort and I've noticed this several times when I've been!
I think you should get waitresses that will d
Speak amd maybe next time they would get a tip off us

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Went to eat here and wished we could have stayed as well the food is amazing and really well priced not expensive at all the staff are very friendly and helpful it is in the centre of town do really well placed to get around and visit the area

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

have stayed here numourous times, the rooms are clean and the service excerlent, first time i stayed tryed the black puding with breackfast and i loved it (always hated for years (black pudding that is))

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sax, Spain
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I was told the steak was very good here by the owners of the B&B in Betws, where I was staying for ten days.I wasn't disappointed.I chose to sit in the restaurant rather than the rowdy bar where most people were watching the Olympic Games on tv and consuming typical pub fare.
The very polite manager was French and I was able to chat a little with him in his own language

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pont-y-Pair Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pont-y-Pair Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pont-y-Pair Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pont-y-Pair Hotel And Restaurant Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pont-y-Pair Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.