We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Betws” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenwood Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Glenwood Guest House to your Saves list
Glenwood Guest House
Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BN, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 49 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best in Betws”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Glenwood and the fantastic owners never fails to impress. Warm friendly service. Our room was beautifully decorated with an excellent en-suite shower room. Fresh fruit and lovely cooked breakfast (you simply choose off the list the night before) which was of excellent quality. I would always recommend Glenwood. They are also a fountain of knowledge on the local area and are always more than happy to advise and ensure you have a wonderful stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
79
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dudley
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from another fantastic stay at Glenwood - a trip we make at least once each year. The owners Marie and Said go 'the extra mile' for their guests and nothing is too much trouble for them. Yesterday Marie made an assortment of drinks for each member of our group of ten and provided plates so we could all enjoy a birthday cake bought for one of the group.
The rooms are spotlessly clean, warm, well equiped with copious amounts of hot water for a shower and the lovely towels are changed daily.
The breakfasts are substantial with plenty of choice - fresh fruit, a big variety of cereals, yogurts and hot choices. The breakfasts are served in a lovely large dining room.
The guesthouse is on the main road on the outskirts of the village set in it's own grounds with plenty of car parking. It is an easy walk into the centre of the village.
If you are looking for accomodation in Betws y Coed, book at Glenwood, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My partner and I stayed here back in September for my birthday (been meaning to get round to reviewing it for ages) the house is lovely and spotlessly clean, and Said and Marie are excellent hosts. My birthday wish was for a bubble bath as we don't have a bath at home and oh my, what a bath they have in the family room 7. It's a gorgeous free standing monster of a bath.

We had a lovely warm welcome and Said especially went out of his way to chat with us and get to know us. Breakfast was excellent, beautifully cooked and plenty of choice.

Keep up the good work guys, you have a cracking little guest house and we shall definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I booked our group in to the Glenwood guest house via the ultimate bikers guide site. We arrived on Thursday afternoon to a warm welcome and shown to our rooms, we had booked one double and one twin. Both rooms were extremely well decorated and modern, we met in the garden for tea which was most welcome after our ride from the midlands. We were kindly told of the best places to eat and drink which was about 15 minuets walk. We had a great nights sleep due to the very comfy bed and woke to a great breakfast which set us up for our ride to the ferry and across to Ireland. We fully recommend the Glenwood guest house and look forward to staying there in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My partner and stayed here recently and enjoyed it. We found the owners very friendly, knowledgable and helpful. The breakfasts were very good although we are not keen on the common practice of deciding what you want the evening before. We also found that it is served between the early time of 8 - 8.45 am, good for some but not for those on HOLIDAY who also want to relax and not be climbing mountains by 9.30! Our bedroom was rather small and cramped. I don't want to sound too negative and our little niggles should not put you off, I recommend this little gem and may return and further explore the amazing Snowdonia National park and the unmissable village Portmerion.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Great people very good breakfast lot off choice to eat, the room are very very clean, lovely views off the area only a short walk from the b & b about 15 mins.It have a great garden with chickens that means fresh eggs a lovely place to stay I recommend it 100% I wii be retuning next years thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: All room are lovley it is a quite location There is no bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed in the family room (huge) everything was spotless, comfy beds, great power shower, soft towels, wish we'd had time to use the huge clawfoot bath! Breakfasts were superb, fridge in dining room to store our food, kids loved feeding the hens, there was a big garden for the kids to play with lots of balls, a goal and raquets. There was a 'secret' garden which led to the (shallow) stream (through a locked gate).
The couple who run the B&B were friendly and willing to offer information on all the local attractions. Nothing was too much trouble. there was a great conservatory which guests could use, ideal if you were going as a group, although we sat in the family room 4 adults, while the children slept next door in their adjoining bedroom.
And when I left my coat and my daughters, they sent them on to us very quickly.

I'd definitely stay there again. Even though it's on the main road, it's extremely quiet, quieter than the village we live in!

Room Tip: The family room was very spacious, with 3 single beds would be ideal for larger families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenwood Guest House

Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Glenwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenwood Guest House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenwood Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.