We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tan Dinas - a perfect B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tan Dinas Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tan Dinas Country House to your Saves list
Tan Dinas Country House
Coed Cyn Helier, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 OBL, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Ring us for more options
Ranked #4 of 49 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tan Dinas - a perfect B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We spent two days at Tan Dinas this weekend. Our room was spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. It was a double aspect room with amazing views across the valley and into the woods. There were lovely touches in the room such as sweets and a jug of fresh milk in the fridge within the room as well as very nice quality biscuits! The bed was extremely comfortable and there was an excellent selection of bedding to take account of all preferences. John and Eileen, our hosts, managed to be very friendly, attentive and helpful without intruding on a much needed break. The quality of the breakfast was superb with a very good choice of options including award winning sausages and delicious bacon. The fresh fruit salad and home made muesli were very nice too! John and Eileen clearly work very hard to maintain such high quality accommodation and Tan Dinas is a wonderful place to spend time whether mountain biking and walking (as we were) or just visiting the area. We were offered a place to store our bikes and a hose pipe is even available to wash them after a day on the trails. We will definitely be returning to Tan Dinas whenever we want to visit North Wales and we will be recommending it to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tandinas, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the trouble and time to write a review about your stay with us recently. We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us and also your adventure on the Marin trail on your bikes. We were pleased to help and hope you manage to return again. Many thanks for recommending us to your family and friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
71
243
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Everything at Tan Dinas is just perfect - the accommodation is homely and spotlessly clean, John and Eileen are very welcoming hosts and the breakfasts amazing, especially the scrambled eggs and salmon! We will certainly be going back.
Chris & David

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tandinas, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you so much Chris and David for a wonderful review. It makes everything we do so much easier when we it is appreciated and we thank you for doing so in this review. Happy to hear you enjoyed your breakfast. John works hard at procuring good quality, local, fresh produce which he swears makes his meals taste so much better. We look forward to welcoming you back to Tan Dinas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We are now I think on our 6th or may be 7th stay at Tan Dinas we just keep coming back as it really is such a lovely place to stay. Eileen and John are so warm and welcoming and the house is in such a lovely position as soon as we drive up the hill peace and tranquility takes over it is so nice to sit and watch the woodpecker or the Jay feeding and take in the breathtaking view.

We have now stayed in most of the bedrooms each one as spotless as the other Eileen offers a generous hospitality tray and for us the fridge is an added bonus. John's breakfasts they are just wonderful best ever smoked salmon and scrambled egg we have tasted.

It is so nice to be able to make use of the lounge and the reading area on the landing which has a good selection of books DVDs and magazines. I would also like to mention the booklet that Eileen and John have place in each room which is full of information about the house and local information about the village its definitly worth reading but if its not in the book Eileen will no she is a mind of information.

Eileen and John both work very hard to ensure all their guests have a very enjoyalbe and comfortable stay. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tandinas, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
The well used saying of "Arrive as Guests and leave as Friends" is certainly true of our relationship. It is always a pleasure having you share our home and we were very happy to add you to our growing list of loyalty guests recently when you qualified by having spent 25 days with us. We look forward to celebrating New Year with you for the second time at our Gala Evening along with other loyalty guests. Thank you for your continued custom, support and for writing this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We were looking for a quiet place to stay near Betws y Coed and happend on Tan Dinas. What a find! A real serendipidy! We have been back twice since and each time have found John and Eileen have created a warm, friendly environment with comfortable rooms and stunning views. John looks after the breakfast cooking (What Breakfasts!) whilst Eileen is front-of-house. She does it so well.
With Tan Dinas it's the little things you notice. Linen napkins at the breakfast table is but one I recall.
I can really recommend Tan Dinas.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front get the best mobile signal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tandinas, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Many thanks to you both for choosing to stay with us and then recommending us to your family. John and I like to try and think of all the little things that will make our guests stay more pleasurable....even the ones who stay in the car! It was kind of you to take the time to write a review and we appreciate it and your custom. We look very much forward to welcoming you back to Tan Dnas Country House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Tan Dinas is an amazing place to sat. The B&B surroundings are very peaceful, there are stunning views, warm, cosy and spacious rooms, and Eileen is the most welcoming host you'll ever have. And after a short walk downhill, you're in the middle of Betws-y-Coed, with all the hustle and bustle of the village. Tan Dinas really is the best place to stay when visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tandinas, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
May I say what a pleasure it was sharing our home with you and your wonderful family. Tan Dinas is in the most perfect of locations, standing in its own landscaped grounds and woodland in the forest, yet only a short stroll from the noisy village which offers every facility to tourists. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we trust you enjoyed the rest of your stay in the UK. Many thanks for writing a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Our second time at Tan Dinas. I had an interview at Aberystwyth University and we decided to stop over rather than face a long drive home. There are very few places i can think of where the Owner will be more concerned about how your interview went than taking payment for the room. That is Tan Dinas in a nutshell.
A lovely comfy room, spotlessly clean, absolutely biblical cookies, free Wi-Fi, and Breakfasts to die for. (In the event of me ever ending up on death row for crimes against literature John's Welsh Rarebit WILL be my choice of last meal.)
Sit and relax in this gem of a place and take time to watch the birds, rabbits and other wildlife from the window. Everytime I go i wish I could stay longer!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tandinas, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Indeed we were truly delighted that your interview went well and you chose to come out of your way to stay with us again. John takes great pride in his culinary skills and appreciates your kind comments. Best of Luck to you in your new endeavours. Hope to see you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Eileen was the perfect hostess remembering names and preferences and was a mine of local information. We were offered tea in the comfortable sitting room when we all arrived and enjoyed the sitting room as a communal space when we returned from dinner each evening. We enjoyed watching the woodpeckers, jays, nuthatches etc on the bird feeders while we were eating our breakfast.

Elm was particularly attractive bedroom.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tandinas, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
It was lovely to welcome you and your extended family for a long weekend and are pleased to hear you all had a nice time with us. Thank you for taking time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tan Dinas Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan Dinas Country House

Address: Coed Cyn Helier, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 OBL, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star country house is set in probably the best location in Snowdonia with breath-taking views from every window. Situated in 3 acres of landscaped grounds and woodland it is a 5 minute walk from the hustle & bustle of the village, yet is so peaceful and tranquil it seems miles away.Enjoy the home from home hospitality offered by John and Eileen in a warm and friendly atmosphere bringing back guests again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tan Dinas Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tan Dinas Country House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tan Dinas Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.