We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“60th Birthday weekend celebration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plas Tan y Graig

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beddgelert
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plas Tan y Graig
Save
You added Plas Tan y Graig to your Saves list
Smith Street, Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4LT, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Beddgelert B&B and Inns
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“60th Birthday weekend celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed at Plas Tan y Craig on the weekend of 23/24 March to celebrate my 60th birthday with my wife, son and two daughters with their boyfriends. Sharon and Tony could not have been more helpful and welcoming. They prepared an evening meal for 9 people (family and two good friends) and it was excellent! Home made ice-cream was delicious and the home made toasted bread for breakfast was first class. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will certainly visit again when the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
69
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Acworth, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Tony and Sharon are the perfect hosts in a beautiful circa 1850s house. They made us feel very welcome and even helped us out with doing some laundry. Breakfast was tasty and filling with a full menu of options. They provided direction to a couple of places for dinner in town. The living room provided a relaxing place to read and we discovered the Fron Male Voice Choir in their large collection of CDs. The rooms were spacious and the beds large and comfy. Edward the 1st castle a short distance away. There was no fitness center or swimming pool but I could not delete them.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a bathroom attached.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Just over twenty years ago, I biked through Beddgelert on a trip across England and Wales with a good friend. I was so taken by the town that I declared that if I ever got married and had a family, I would bring them to this delightful Welsh town. I finally did just that at the end of summer 2012, and the experience lived up to my expectations with the added bonus that my wife and two children (9 and 6 at the time) absolutely loved the place. Of course, the choice of lodging is a very important part of the Beddgelert experience, and I would be surprised if there is a better option than Plas Tan y Graig, which has all of the best things that great B&Bs offer: excellent location, beautifully restored and maintained home, cozy and comfortable lodging, outstanding breakfast, thoughtfully appointed common spaces, a nice outdoor sitting area, and, above all, expert and gracious hosts.

I was lucky to be able to take a peek into all of the rooms at this lovely home (something I often do so I can know where to stay if I return and to write better reviews), and I must say that they were all nice. Those that have a view of the river, town and hills in the distance (at the front of the house) are the most attractive, are full of natural light, and seem especially well suited for couples. The rooms on the back side of the house are also nice, but do not have comparable views and have less light. We stayed in a family room on the top floor, which was great for the four of us – and a real bargain when you consider how hard it can be to get a good, reasonably priced family room in England, or anywhere in Europe for that matter. Though the room and a similar one across the hall had no window, it did have a skylight that let in light and fresh air. The room itself was very nice with three comfortable beds (two twin and one double). The bathroom is detached from the room down a small flight of stairs, but it is private (not shared). I would recommend that families stay here only if the children are relatively quiet, as the home is small and it is clear that people come to get away from it all. Our kids loved it, and they were treated very kindly by the owners. Speaking of the owners – they are delightful and are very good at what they do. The cooked-to-order breakfast is outstanding, and it includes fresh breads, fresh-squeezed juices, homemade jams, great coffee, yogurt, fruit, etc. The made-to-order picnic lunches are also really good, and well priced to boot. We enjoyed the little touches – like when the owners offered to dry our damp clothing and boots after a soggy hike, or when they offered ideas for hikes, meals out, etc. They are very friendly, but not at all obtrusive as owners of such places sometimes are.

One of the best things about Plas Tan y Graig, and Beddgelert in general, is its fabulous location. The town itself is beautiful, and it is within easy driving distance to many great hikes and historical locations. During our 4-day stay we took a couple of great hikes in Sonwdonia National Park, and visited the following towns and their famous castles: Conwy, Caernarfon, Harlech, and Criccieth. All were very worth the visit, and the driving was very enjoyable to say the least. We especially enjoyed Criccieth, which we were not planning on visiting but were compelled to go there because of the owners’ recommendation. A great place for the kids, with a nice rocky beach and fabulous fish ‘n chips. All the castles and towns are amazing, and it would be a shame to skip any of them if time allows for a visit. We really loved returning to our B&B at the end of each day for a good sleep and a great breakfast the next day.

Room Tip: Choose one that has a view of the river. If you have a family, get a family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights during the quieter month of December. Superb setting with the sound of the stream below. The place is spotless, tastefully decorated and the hosts friendly and very attentive. Breakfast offered everything you could want. We had dinner there one night which was delicious, and we would have eaten there more often had our budget allowed. Certainly the best meal we had during our 4 day stay in Snowdonia.
One evening our tv didn't work due to some temporary electrical issue. Although we still got to watch the program on my laptop, a bottle of wine and two glasses were brought to our room as an apology. Very thoughtful.
As mentioned in other reviews .. maps and walking books, a free flask of something hot for the walk and a packed lunch are all available.
The town is lovely and an excellent base for walking. If we visit the area again we would not hesitate to stay here. The only thing I could have wished for was a bath.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed for a 3 night break over the Bank Holiday. Tony, the owner, was very helpful and gave us a route for a good walk which took in hills and fabulous views alongside the river. There are many maps available for your use, and a comfortable guest lounge. Rooms very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was plentiful with the usual cooked selection, yogurts, cereal, fresh fruit and home made breads and jams. Packed lunches are provided for a few poinds which are enough to take you to the top of Snowdon and back.

Beddgelert is a beautiful village with some good restaurants, a FANTASTIC ice cream parlour and a very good craft shop. We had a thunder storm while there which caused a power cut and the owners of the ice cream parlour were kind enough to loan us an umbrella.

Room Tip: Top floor front room has good views over village and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed in this B&B for two nights as part of a trip round Northern Ireland, Snowdonia and the North West of England. It's very comfortable. Our room had a king-size bed, a TV and working fridge, kettle, biscuits etc. The ensuite was spotlessly clean. There was also a lovely view of the stone footbridge and river running through Beddgelert. The B&B is an excellent base for walks - the owners are keen walkers themselves and there was a bookshelf full of walking guides, OS maps etc for walkers to take with them. Breakfasts included locally-sourced meat and eggs and home-made bread and jam. They also made us a packed lunch and a thermos to take on our walk (the directions for which they updated and printed off for us, which was just as well as otherwise we would have found ourselves walking through a no longer disused railway tunnel!).

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a double bed and a good view and that was exactly what we got.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Decided to go back to North Wales after a break of 10 years and wanted to stay in a central location in something that was suitable for our 15 year wedding anniversary. Knew that I would like to stay in Beddgelert and stayed at Plas Tan y Graig on the back of the reports on TA. Couldn't quite believe the reports - as nowhere is really that good - or at least I thought.

The wife booked a two-night break via their website against my wishes (I don't trust the Internet when it comes to smaller businesses) but we got an immediate response confirming our booking. When I then made a query regarding the room we again got an immediate personal response answering my question.

We had been asked to give a time of arrival and on the day arrived much earlier. We parked in one of the two parking spaces and my wife insisted that we let the owners know that we had taken one of the spaces - and we were immediately offered access to our room, although we decided to go for a walk and then a drink in one of the local pubs. (For information - there are only two spaces at the B&B, but there is ample parking very close i.e. 50m away.)

My immediate thoughts of the B&B upon return was that it was very well maintained and very effieciently run, with a real eye to detail. These were views that were reflected throughout our stay. Everything was high-quality and very comfortable. Sharon (one of the owners) was very welcoming, giving advice about the village and our proposed walk the next day - giving a recommendation of an alternative route up Snowden. We took this advice and enjoyed one of the best walks we have ever had. Maps were freely available in the lounge, which we were able to take on our walk.

Our room was extremely clean (spotless) and comfortable, with a great view of the river. The room had a great view and neither the river nor the road gave rise to any noise issues. The breakfast the next day followed the same theme as before - high quality, with an eye to detail. Fresh fruit salad, large option of cerels, and a wide range of locally produced cooked breakfast was on offer. I heard someone else note that the breakfasts were too much, but I found the portion size just right - especially for a walk in the hills. We also like to take out time over all meals and this was not a problem in the slightest being made very welcome to stay (or withdraw to the lounge) and with as much additional toast and coffee as we wanted. When I explained on the second day that I liked my coffee stronger than the wife we were even offered additional seperate coffee pots with coffee to match individual tastes.

See that the one 'average' rating makes comments about the owners. Really can't understand this as they were both very, very helpful and accommodating - and they also provided the very useful advice about walks and eating out that made this such an enjoyable trip. (Thanks for making our wedding anniversary so special.)

Will definately go back - and probably on a regular basis.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plas Tan y Graig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Tan y Graig

Address: Smith Street, Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4LT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Beddgelert
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Beddgelert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plas Tan y Graig is a large, detached, country guest house offering excellent 4-star accommodation in the heart of Snowdonia. We're situated in the centre of Beddgelert, with views over the Aberglaslyn Gorge and Moel Hebog. The house, built in the 1850's, was a family home until the 1920's and has been a guest house since then. Since moving to the village in 2006, we have renewed and refurbished all of the rooms, whilst maintaining aspects of the Victorian character. Our 7 bedrooms are relaxing and peaceful, with co-ordinated soft furnishings. Open Mid-Feb to end of October; during winter we will take bookings for a minimum of four rooms for two nights; all-inclusive rates are also available during the winter period. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plas Tan y Graig Beddgelert, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plas Tan y Graig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.