We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Goat Hotel

The Royal Goat Hotel
Caernarfon Road, Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4YE, Wales
01766 890224
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 11 Restaurants in Beddgelert
Cuisines: Bar, Grill, Welsh
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Badminton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent food and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We were staying at the Royal Goat Hotel in Beddgelert and decided to eat in one evening - a good choice. Really lovely and varied menu, nice setting with views of the town and very friendly service. We were pleased we decided to give the hotel restaurant a go.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    13
    13
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delicious and not to be missed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We were a family party of 9 staying elsewhere in the village, most of whom had spent the day climbing Snowdon or cycling the hills. All were rather hungry and thirsty! None of us were disappointed with our evening at the Goat.The staff were attentive and extremely helpful, the table was immaculate with white table-cloths and damask napkins, cutlery and wine glasses sparkling. The food was absolutely delicious. Everything from the minted welsh lamb casserole, the smoked haddock, the salmon, the steak and chicken to the burgers was beautifully presented and expertly cooked. Flavours were amazing, even the children agreeing this was special food! Desserts were artistically presented and equally delicious. Wine was good too.Value for money outstanding and certainly not a restaurant to be missed!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Walk straight past”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

After a delightful journey to Beddgelert on the steam train from Caernarfon and a walk along the river, we were looking forward to a lovely Sunday lunch. We approached the hotel reception and were directed to the grill bar. The room was fairly modern and clean with pleasant views of the town. It immediately worried me that at 1pm on a cloudy bank holiday Sunday the place was deserted; we were, at this time, the only guests. We ordered the roast beef dinner, which arrived promptly. The potatoes and Yorkshire pudds were ok, the broccoli was water logged and the al dente swede was nasty. The red wine gravy was saccharin sweet and after 5 minutes I gave up fighting with the very tough beef. We didn't order puddings. Waiters were quite efficient but at no point did they ask if our food was ok. Before leaving I mentioned the gravy and beef to the receptionist but she was clearly not interested and offered no apology. I would not recommend this place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warragul, Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Fantastic find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Just happened upon this place driving from Portmerrion to Canarvon and decided to have a late lunch, so happy we did. It was 2 pm and I thought we might be too late but no, nothing was too hard. The food was lovely, the seating in the dining room fantastic with a great view over the town and I will make sure we stay there should we get back to Wales again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powys Wales
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

What a great hotel, the staff were friendly and helpful and although the hotel was very busy being a bank holiday weekend nothing was too much trouble. Thanks again!!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Goat Hotel also viewed

Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park
Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park
 
Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park
Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to The Royal Goat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Goat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.