We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, lovely visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Glendwr & Glaslyn Ice Cream

Cafe Glendwr & Glaslyn Ice Cream
Stryd Gwynant, Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4YB, Wales
01766 890 339
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 11 restaurants in Beddgelert
Cuisines: Pizza, Ice Cream, Café
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Ate here after a long day touring the area. Decided to try this restaurant as it seemed quite busy, always a good sign. The restaurant was spotlessly clean and the service was quick and friendly. Three adult meals and two childrens meals, ice cream token for the kids with the meal. Not the cheapest but good value compared to other outlets in the area. Tried to return the following evening but were closed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    77
    41
    5
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“we go again, and again and again...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Lost count of how many times we've visited this place to guzzle ice-cream and pizza. Quite simply the best. You wait for your pizza because it's cooked to order; the ingredients are top-quality and the surroundings fantastic. Where else can you walk off your lunch with a five-mile hike up a 'footpath' that resembles a stream-bed. But I digress. Glaslyn ices have served top-notch food for years and know what they're about. Can't wait to go again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Ice Cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

It was a really hot summer in July this year and I visited in a group trip from part of my Scout patrol from North Leeds. Our camp was near Barmouth and it took about an hour to get there. After a trip to the copper mine (about a mile away) we visited Beddgelert and being a hot day we visited this Ice Cream place and cafe. The Ice cream parlour (with a pretty impressive display of awards, including an appearance in a Richard Wilson programme earlier this year) had an amazing selection of flavours, defiantly worth a visit and I would recommend Mango or Vanilla!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We'll worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were in Beddgelert for three nights so wanted to eat somewhere different each night. This cafe closes early except Saturday night, so took advantage last night to have a meal here. Open til 8pm rather than 5pm. Really great choice of menu and really pleasant informal surroundings. If you want lunch or want to eat during the day, it's really convenient. Quality of food was excellent and we would definitely return. We were revitalised after a day climbing up and back down Snowdon on the Rangers route just up the road.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place to eat in Beddgelert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Great place, super food and wonderful service right in the middle of the village. You really could not do better. + world class ice cream.... Just great we were delighted.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Glendwr & Glaslyn Ice Cream also viewed

Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park
Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park
 
Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park
Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Cafe Glendwr & Glaslyn Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Glendwr & Glaslyn Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.