We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favourite hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Goat Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Goat Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Goat Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4YE, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beddgelert
Gilberdyke
Top Contributor
403 reviews 403 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“A favourite hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This was our second stay at the Royal Goat, that’s how good it is. It’s ideally situated in Beddgelert, perfect for walks. On this stay, the price was a bargain, and the room was perfectly adequate. There’s a large sitting room downstairs with leather sofas, TV, a piano, and wifi.

It also offers what’s probably the best dining in Beddgelert. They offer a high end dinner cuisine, and the service is excellent. Without hovering around or coming to the table time and again, the servers watch for when it’s ready to remove plates and bring the next course. Although why they bring out bread with frozen butter that won’t spread, like some cheapo place would, is beyond me. But if that’s the only thing I can find to pick on, they’re doing something right.

We were ready for an early start, around 7am, before breakfast was available. We asked where we could find somewhere that would be open. We got some suggestions, none in Beddgelert, then they offered to whip us up a couple of bacon sandwiches if we like, which we were grateful for. That’s service, meeting a customer requirement beyond their normal offering. Kudos to them.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    56
    32
    9
    7
See reviews for
19
52
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bowral, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights. When we arrived we were given a room on the third floor. Getting up was not easy as the lift was minuscule and the stairs steep. The room was very cramped and the shower was useless! We complained next morning and I will say that the staff was helpful and when we returned later in the day we had been moved to a much better room on the first floor. Breakfasts were good and it was located well for looking around Snowdonia.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

As part of a coach party my wife and I stayed here for 4 nights from 9th June and we loved it. The room was comfortable , clean and spacious and all the meals we were given were superb and all the staff so friendly and all in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Badminton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed for three nights at the Royal Goat Hotel and enjoyed it very much. The breakfasts were just right and the hotel has a lot of character, it's also perfectly located in Beddgelert which is one of the best places to stay in Snowdonia. The staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms comfortable and fully stocked with tea/coffee etc. We had asked for two quiet rooms and were glad we had booked on the top floor as the floors were a bit creaky (hardly surprising given the age of the hotel) and I wouldn't have liked to have been below us walking around! That wouldn't put me off staying there again - nor would the sadly rather poor showers (again probably because we were on the top floor of a very old building, but they were a bit rubbish). It was amazingly quiet at night with no traffic through the village. All in all a good hotel and extremely reasonable, especially considering it's in the middle of a National Park.

Room Tip: We were in rooms 33 and 34 which were on the top floor (might be a problem for very tall people) and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed here for two nights with friends. The hotel was very well located at the edge of the village and within easy walking (5 mins) of anywhere you need. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel rooms were clean and comfortable and TV radio and tea/coffee making facilities all worked and kept stocked up. the shower on the third floor was a bit hit and miss with hot water depending on when you tried to use it. The interior windows etc were fine but the frames on the outside were rotten and there were signs of water damage on the ceiling. This didn't spoil my stay though as the interior of the rooms was OK and the wood beems on the third floor added character.

Breakfast was ample and toast, croissants cereal were lovely. I had kippers which were nice. My friends had cooked breakfast on the first day and were not impressed, bacon salty and tomatoes rock hard.

We didn't have dinner there as the prices were a bit steep (and didn't trust it after the breakfast) and there were other restaurants in the village with a better selection at better prices.

The bar area was nice but the beer selection was poor (especially as the hotel was listed as a location on the Rail Ale beer festival website!) and the staff didn't seem to be interested about the festival when we enquired.

All in all for the price we had a good stay, and would recommend staying here. Had there been no other pubs or restaurants around we would have been less happy.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed fine. no road noise at the front (this time of the year at least)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I had a wonderful few days here with my elderly parents. They love this hotel & have visited several times. The location is superb, the atmosphere is charming, the staff are delightful, the food is superb and the decor is characterful and comfortable. It was a truly memorable stay. Thank you so much.

The village of Beddgelert is also very special. It has a dramatic beauty, and we very much enjoyed exploring the stunning landscapes of Snowdonia by car and steam train.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We returned to the hotel for a second weekend break in April after our visit last year was so enjoyable.

The hotel is situated in a beautiful location and is a wonderful experience. We booked room 6 - which I think is the superior room and we loved it. A very comfortable king size bed, a lovely sitting area with a fabulous view across Beddgelert valley, and en suite bathroom.

The food at the hotel is freshly cooked and the menu is varied and of a very good standard. We stayed on the bed,breakfast and evening meal option and really enjoyed our dinner experience.

The waiting staff are extremely attentive and friendly. Well done all!!

My only criticism would be that a small fridge in the superior room would be extremely useful.

My observation is that what an unusual mix of furniture - some extremely old valuable items mixed with cheap stuff. Still I suppose it added to the charm!

We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Room 6!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Goat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Goat Hotel

Address: Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4YE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Beddgelert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beddgelert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Goat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Goat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Goat Hotel Beddgelert, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Goat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.