We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect old hotel and dog friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Goat Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Goat Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Goat Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4YE, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Beddgelert
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Perfect old hotel and dog friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here a while ago for a week and really enjoyed our visit, close to some wonderful walks and hills and the trip along the river is recommended. It's a stones throw from Gelerts grave and a great story to tell the kids. This hotel is dog friendly and the reason we chose it. The food was superbly cooked and very tasty especially after a day walking in the beautiful welsh mountains.

Beth Gelerts is a great little town and this hotel is a little gem. You won't be disappointed I'm sure.

Enjoy the Royal Goat - we would certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    51
    29
    7
    3
See reviews for
16
49
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights between Christmas and New Year. Room 31 is on the 3rd floor, into the roofspace and therefore has exposed beams which we thought was very quaint for such a big hotel - in a nice way. The window , although small, had a beautiful view down the valley. The shower room was big and modern and the shower was fantastic. I thought that with it being such a big hotel the water would be tepid and the water pressure rubbish, but it was hot and powerful and just the thing after a long walk in the hills. We ate in the Hotel 2 out of the 3 nights we were there. The menu was small but varied and everything was delicious . Staff were friendly and helpful and we will definately be back in the new year

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed in beddgelert I the early 2000's and booked into a nearby smaller hotel.
When we explored beautiful beddgelert we couldn't help but notice such a splendid building that is the royal goat hotel.
We had occasion to visit beddgelert so without delay booked into the royal goat.
We explored the mountain railway that now conects caernarfon and Porthmadog.
On our first day we just stayed local.
We had afternoon tea and relaxed in the beautiful drawing room before going on and having our evening meal which was great, good service, good food, fab surroundings.
The room was spacious and very clean, my wife commented on the wooden blinds that they were very nice (of all the things to comment on) we have had them fitted at our house now!!!
The owners,Ben and Vicky were always on hand to assist in any way and really made our stay a pleasure!
Their staff were always polite, courtious, and well presented and a credit to the owners!

Overall I'd put the hotel in a few category's
1, very oldy worldly, quaint, and picturesque.
2,very convenient for all of snowdonia
3,good value for money!

Well done guys I'd recommend you to anybody.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just had an excellent short break winter deal at the Royal Goat.
Excellent value, excellent food, excellent staff and an ideal location for walking the Snowdonia peaks. What more could you want?
Good varied menu, well cooked and plentiful. The staff were very attentive and even though we had a slight hiccup when returning from a walk in the mountains to find our room had not been serviced, within half an hour of bringing it to their attention the problem was sorted.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just had a great weekend in Snowdonia, 4 of us stayed at the bizarrely named Royal Goat.

Hotel was spacious & welcoming. Meal in the restaurant was hot and very satisfying.

Breakfast could have been a little better organised, however, the choice was good, and the cooked breakfast ample and freshly cooked.

I have worked in the hotel business for 6 years, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Thanks for a memorable weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Very nice Hotel very quiet and some lovely views to the mountains.Could have done better with the heating at the Hotel as room and main lounge area were cold Food was very good and a nice Breakfast .Staff friendly

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel dining room was full on Sunday morning. We were surprised, as there had only been two large groups of people having dinner on the previous evening and the hotel seemed very quiet. Our food was well cooked and items not on the menu, e.g. icecream or fresh fruit, were cheerfully supplied on request. The coffee was tepid, but cafetieres of fresh coffee were brought as soon as this was mentioned.
At breakfast the porridge was delicious and a very generous selection of fresh fruit was available, including a large bunch of bananas. The choice of menu for dinner had to be made at breakfast and service was quick.
There was a grill bar for non residents, which seemed to be popular with local people.
Our bedroom was small and at the back of the hotel near the lift. It was not noisy, but it did seem to have a lot of furniture. There was a good sized bath in the bathroom, but the wet towels were only replaced on request. The view from the bedroom was poor because of scaffolding outside the window.
The hotel was in an ideal position in the middle of the village, near the station and 10 minutes walk from Gelert's Grave.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Goat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Goat Hotel

Address: Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4YE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Beddgelert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Beddgelert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Goat Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Goat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Goat Hotel Beddgelert, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Goat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.