We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cosy and romantic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Goat Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Goat Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
Royal Goat Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4YE, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Beddgelert
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“cosy and romantic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights between Christmas and New Year. Room 31 is on the 3rd floor, into the roofspace and therefore has exposed beams which we thought was very quaint for such a big hotel - in a nice way. The window , although small, had a beautiful view down the valley. The shower room was big and modern and the shower was fantastic. I thought that with it being such a big hotel the water would be tepid and the water pressure rubbish, but it was hot and powerful and just the thing after a long walk in the hills. We ate in the Hotel 2 out of the 3 nights we were there. The menu was small but varied and everything was delicious . Staff were friendly and helpful and we will definately be back in the new year

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    47
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
14
40
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed in beddgelert I the early 2000's and booked into a nearby smaller hotel.
When we explored beautiful beddgelert we couldn't help but notice such a splendid building that is the royal goat hotel.
We had occasion to visit beddgelert so without delay booked into the royal goat.
We explored the mountain railway that now conects caernarfon and Porthmadog.
On our first day we just stayed local.
We had afternoon tea and relaxed in the beautiful drawing room before going on and having our evening meal which was great, good service, good food, fab surroundings.
The room was spacious and very clean, my wife commented on the wooden blinds that they were very nice (of all the things to comment on) we have had them fitted at our house now!!!
The owners,Ben and Vicky were always on hand to assist in any way and really made our stay a pleasure!
Their staff were always polite, courtious, and well presented and a credit to the owners!

Overall I'd put the hotel in a few category's
1, very oldy worldly, quaint, and picturesque.
2,very convenient for all of snowdonia
3,good value for money!

Well done guys I'd recommend you to anybody.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just had an excellent short break winter deal at the Royal Goat.
Excellent value, excellent food, excellent staff and an ideal location for walking the Snowdonia peaks. What more could you want?
Good varied menu, well cooked and plentiful. The staff were very attentive and even though we had a slight hiccup when returning from a walk in the mountains to find our room had not been serviced, within half an hour of bringing it to their attention the problem was sorted.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just had a great weekend in Snowdonia, 4 of us stayed at the bizarrely named Royal Goat.

Hotel was spacious & welcoming. Meal in the restaurant was hot and very satisfying.

Breakfast could have been a little better organised, however, the choice was good, and the cooked breakfast ample and freshly cooked.

I have worked in the hotel business for 6 years, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Thanks for a memorable weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Very nice Hotel very quiet and some lovely views to the mountains.Could have done better with the heating at the Hotel as room and main lounge area were cold Food was very good and a nice Breakfast .Staff friendly

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel dining room was full on Sunday morning. We were surprised, as there had only been two large groups of people having dinner on the previous evening and the hotel seemed very quiet. Our food was well cooked and items not on the menu, e.g. icecream or fresh fruit, were cheerfully supplied on request. The coffee was tepid, but cafetieres of fresh coffee were brought as soon as this was mentioned.
At breakfast the porridge was delicious and a very generous selection of fresh fruit was available, including a large bunch of bananas. The choice of menu for dinner had to be made at breakfast and service was quick.
There was a grill bar for non residents, which seemed to be popular with local people.
Our bedroom was small and at the back of the hotel near the lift. It was not noisy, but it did seem to have a lot of furniture. There was a good sized bath in the bathroom, but the wet towels were only replaced on request. The view from the bedroom was poor because of scaffolding outside the window.
The hotel was in an ideal position in the middle of the village, near the station and 10 minutes walk from Gelert's Grave.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The Royal Goat Hotel is superbly located for those wanting to walk in the Snowdonia National Park it has good parking and close to a bus route to take you to other destinations. We received a very warm welcome and although we were about an hour late arriving the staff had prepared for our late arrival and put dinner back. The food was excellent and I would put it in the realm of fine dining as the portions were not huge (much to some of my fellow diners distress) but the quality and presentation was first rate. A rare occurence in this day is that dinner was waiter serviced. Breakfast was part waiter service and again very good.
My main gripe was in connection with our bedroom - a double - room 9 - albeit I did not complain to the hotel as we were part of a coach party and I put it down to our bad luck on the room allocation. The bed was comfortable enough but the quilt was tired and barely fitted the bed. The toilet however had been very badly positioned in the bathroom and this made it awkward to use. A corner toilet would have been far better for the space available.

Room Tip: Avoid room 9 as it is also next to the corrider doors and for some reason people are relucatant to c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Goat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Goat Hotel

Also Known As:
Royal Goat Hotel Beddgelert, Wales
Address: Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4YE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Beddgelert
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Beddgelert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Goat Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Goat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Goat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.