We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Saracens Head Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beddgelert
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Saracens Head Hotel
Save
You added The Saracens Head Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Caernarfon Road, Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Beddgelert B&B and Inns
Grande Prairie, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Don't miss this gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

....We stayed for one wonderfull night................... the hotel newly refurbished is beautifull, the rooms, clean, bright and comfy...the barhroom across the hall was oppulent, to say the least!.......... Ray and Mindy have done a splendid job, both fixing up and running this Welsh Monument.......... built in the 11th / 12th century....
We had supper and breakfast, both piping hot and delicious....
This village is gorgeous, we had the luck to hit the late Sept heat wave, our stay was memorable.
Saracens Head has good prices..... Will we stay again? You bet, we'll be back from Canada...

Room Tip: Talk to Mindy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    40
    14
    7
    13
See reviews for
15
40
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Other reviewers have mentioned that bedrooms have yet to be updated and that the downstairs refurb is great. I'd agree with both. Its swings and roundabouts with this hotel. Very friendly and welcoming staff all round. Nice evening meal and we had a good time in the bar. Breakfast was pretty good too - though fairly basic - its a good starter for the day. Situation in Beddgelert is excellent for Snowdonia mountains.
The rooms are a bit dated decoration and amenity wise. We also had a 'Fawlty Towers' moment with the shower in our en suite which having started ok just stopped working mid shower. We could'nt get it to work and ended up filling the bath - then the shower came back on ! Not the end of the world but a bit annoying when you want a nice hot shower after a day up the mountains in the rain. The bed though was very comfortable and everything was clean. Its worth noting that the shared bathrooms have been updated and look pretty good - some of our party used them and said they were excellent. I mentioned our problems with the shower on leaving and the manageress was most apologetic and promised to investigate.
All in all I enjoyed our stay here and would return. Its true to say that there are wrinkles with the hotel - that said I feel it was value for money and I dont feel at all ripped off. I give it an average rating purely on amenities and datedness of the rooms. Give it a go - the management and staff work hard and clearly want it to be better - they just need a bit of time and some money from the brewery ( not a bad pint by the way ).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

I've stayed at the Saracens quite a lot of times in the past, but it is the first time i have been back since the refurbishment.The changes are all for the better, and after a hard slog up and down Snowdon, we returned to the hotel to have a very tasty and filling evening meal.My bedroom, like the rest of the hotel, was spotlessly clean and very comfortable.I found all the staff to very polite and friendly, and the hotel really is now a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

We arrived two hours early ,we were greeted with genuine friendliness and allowed into
our room straight away.
Room was ensuite,basic but spotless.
We had a wonderful view across the river and the mountains beyond,easy access to train station and shops though local not supermarkets.
The evening menu was varied and the food was exquisite,cooked to perfection and always hot.
Although this is only a 1* Hotel with 3* service and 5* food and management

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

The re-frub of the bar and resturant area is very impressive, and once the bedrooms are done, this will be a truely nice hotel. As it is, it is very comfortable. Bar meals represent good value for money. The breakfasts were ok - although room for improvement. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

Ignore the negative feedback, in our opinion this hotel was fantastic, we didn't want for anything, Min and Ray are very welcoming and can't do enough for you. The downstairs has been fully refurbished to a very high standard as have the bathrooms upstairs. we are three dads with three 14 year old boys that came up from Sussex to climb the mountains, we could not have been placed more centrally for exploring. We have already booked to come back next year.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

This is a nice hotel and I think the previous reviewer, who gave it 1 out of 5, is being very unfair. To be completely honest, there wasn't much evidence of major refurbishment - just bits here and there, but nonetheless, the accommodation, breakfast, evening meal and service were all very good indeed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Saracens Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saracens Head Hotel

Address: Caernarfon Road, Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Beddgelert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Beddgelert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Saracens Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saracens Head is a delightful Inn located in the picturesque village of Beddgelert in Snowdonia National Park. All meals are freshly prepared using locally sourced produce. The bedrooms have undergone a major refurbishment and all rooms are now en-suite. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Saracens Head Hotel Beddgelert, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Saracens Head Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.