We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Night stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of River Garden Restaurant and Guest House

River Garden Restaurant and Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beddgelert
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River Garden Restaurant and Guest House
Save
You added River Garden Restaurant and Guest House to your Saves list
Caernarfon Road, Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4UY, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 13 Beddgelert B&B and Inns
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“3 Night stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed here for three nights.

The location is perfect, such a pretty little village, and the guest house is right by the river. We arrived in the evening, and the only problem we had with the arrival was the fact that the guest house is not occupied at all times.

When we got there it looked distinctly shut up, and we almost worried that we'd spent money in vain. There was no one to greet us, so we followed the instructions on the door and went to a house nearby as instructed. There was no answer to our knock however, and so we were starting to get a bit worried. Mobile telephones don't get signals, and so we tried the phone box and got no answer to the number. By this time another couple were also having the same trouble.

Eventually a man arrived and let us in. He was friendly however, and helpful. The room was basic, but clean and pleasant. The windows opened and there was a generous amount of tea/coffee. We slept well, and the following morning the breakfast was generous, and the chef was friendly and advised us where there was more towels etc. I couldn't fault this.

Overall, a good price, and great location. The main criticism is the lack of organisation on our arrival. Had this have been better, I would have given it a 'very good' but no one likes to start a holiday with stress, and I really this needs addressing.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    7
    4
    11
See reviews for
10
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Central location in Beddgelert so very handy for pubs and walks. Our room was quite small but adequate. The guest house is on the main road and over a chip shop. Neither were a problem because the road was quiet and we never saw anyone in the chip shop even on Saturday night. There was no smell of frying. Was not expecting either of the above so it was a big shock when we arrived. Wish they had told us this first.
The breakfasts were excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

The flat is cosy enough and the view is great, but the sofabeds are terrible - both as sofas and as beds. The toilet seat was almost falling off.
When we arrived at 5 PM the staff seemed anxious to close up the reception and cafe and go home, rather than make sure that we settled in allright. This was not very reassurng as they told us they would not be opening until noon the following day.

How this place has received a three-star-rating as self-catering accomodation is beyond me, as there were no proper pots and pans - all had non-stick coating that was completely ruined. There were two small camping pots, that was all. The baking trays were greasy and disgusting.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

We stayed in the attic room at the top of the house and it was really comfy with beautiful view from the window! Lyn gave us a handful of coffee and tea, clean towels, shampoos, soaps and the room comes with a big TV! Although the room was not very spacious and my tall friend kept banging his head towards the slanted ceiling, the toilet was clean and shower was nice. The village is really pretty and everywhere is within walking distance, if you want to travel to the next town Porthmadog, the bus stop is just nearby.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

I have just returned from the River Garden guest house and I wanted to highlight what a fantastic experience it was. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome by Wynn. We were served a fantastic breakfast and any questions/queries we had were answered, nothing was too much trouble (including cooking me a smaller portion of breakfast). We set off for a walk up to the summit of Snowdon which was amazing however got into a spot of bother at the bottom. However Wynn came to the rescue and when we returned back he checked we were ok and if there was anything we needed, all of this on New years eve. The room we stayed in was very clean, extremely comfortable and very reasonably priced. I would not hesitate to come back to this village and the river garden guest house in Beddgelert. A truly wonderful expereince with fantastic service, I would reccommend to all.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

We stayed in this B&B over New Years 2010 and had a great experience throughout our stay. We were informed via text to call 'Wyn' who would organise our check in, I thought the text service was an efficient and good way of doing things.
We were greeted by Wyn at the door and immediately taken to our room, it was small but completely fine for us with a nice comfy double bed, chilled water waiting in a neat little fridge and an ensuite bathroom which again was small but fine for our needs, good pressure and heat in the showers, ideal heating in our rooms and a fancy looking flat screen freesat tv in our room.
Breakfast was between 0830-0930, it would perhaps be a little better to serve breakfast at an earlier hour as we wanted to get out early but this is no big gripe. The quality of the food served at breakfast was top notch, Wyn greeted us as we came down stairs and had the table set with all the usual trimmings i.e fresh orange juice, cereals etc. We then got a full english which I think is one of the best I've had in a long time, espcially the hash-browns and bacon.
The purpose of our trip was to hike up Snowdon, Wyn had decent knowledge of the local area and the mountains as we are in-experienced walkers so needed locations of petrol stations and trail start points. Wyn even went above and beyond and arranged to pick us up from a village after we came off the wrong trail at the end of the day.

In summary, we had a great stay at the River Garden Guest House, our room had everything we needed for a 2 night stay and our breakfast set us up for a long day walking in the mountains, Wyn's service was top notch and a very approachable and friendly chap. For anyone wishing to take on Snowdon, we would recommend this B&B both in terms of service and location as its a mere 5-10 minute drive from the Rhyd-Ddu trail.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Very poor; worst B&B experience I've ever had. We had to go to nearby pub/restaurant (Saracen) to get key; told the person with the key was busy in the kitchen and when he eventually came out clearly regarded us as a nuisance. We were told that breakfast was 08.30 - much too late for us. I asked if we could at least help ourselves to cereals, he refused and gave us some codswallop about security. Obviously had far more importantly things to do than look after guests - good old fashioned British service! Room not great; shower very slow flowing and hard to get hot water to run from it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Garden Restaurant and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Garden Restaurant and Guest House

Address: Caernarfon Road, Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park LL55 4UY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Beddgelert
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Beddgelert
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
River Garden Restaurant And Guest House Beddgelert, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Garden Restaurant and Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.