We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just What we Needed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Holyhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Travelodge Holyhead Hotel to your Saves list
Travelodge Holyhead Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kingsland Road, Holyhead LL65 2LB, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Holyhead
Oxon
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Just What we Needed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

With a daughter and family in Southern Ireland we frequently cross the Irish Sea one way or another. We've tried flying (ex-Birmingham from home near Oxford), Fly-Drive (ditto), overnight ferry, early ferry, Dublin Port, Dun Laoghaire etc etc. Whichever, we always find that the journey turns into something of a trial and leaving us almost writing off a day from travel fatigue (OK, so I'm showing my age).

This last trip we decided to break the journey and we will certainly use the Travelodge again. I'd like to have given a better rating than average but in the grand scheme of things I'm not sure the facilities on offer justify anything more since it is, after all, strictly a simple overnight bed. That said the property, refurbished relatively recently I think, provides a clean, comfortable and quiet refuge after 4 or 5 hours on the road.

The room was of reasonable size on the second floor and fresh bright and clean. The bed was a generously sized double with spotless linen and very very comfortable. The room was also furnished with a single bed. The en-suite (shower over bath) was also very clean with room for overnight toiletries and plenty of hot water. Dispensers of body/hair wash lotion are provided. Hair dryers can be had from reception.

Room furnishings were rudimentary albeit functional. There was a hanging unit and table unit and just one sixties style utilitarian plastic chair. We were provided a complimentary tea and coffee tray. Access to the second floor was via an efficient lift (or stairs of course).

The only food service is provided by pre-packed breakfast boxes available from reception where there is also a vending machine offering the usual soft drinks, water and sweets/chocolates.

Reception was a very simple and efficient process (prior booking taking the strain).The associated parking seems generous on a first come first served basis but I wonder if in peak periods space might be a bit limited. The hotel is just a 10 minute walk from the town centre where you'll find plenty of bars and restaurants.

Booking well in advance provides a very competitive price for a no frills comfortable night. Thank you Travelodge, we'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    70
    35
    6
    10
See reviews for
49
68
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean, tidy, warm and ideal for the ferry at Holyhead. The bed was clean, fresh linen and so comfortable. Slept extremely well. The staff were friendly, helpful and accommodating. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imbil, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Chose hotel as it was closest to ferry to Ireland. Good clean room and a good size. Staff were efficient and friendly and accommodation was close to town and eating places. Good hotel if you are catching ferry.

Room Tip: Book online to save money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having vowed in the past that we would never visit a travelodge again, we couldn't deny this newly refurbished hotel the opportunity to change our views, especially since we were catching the ferry and this seemed to be the only place in the vicinity not costing the earth.

I have to say that it was what I expected. Not awful, just average and perfectly ok if you need somewhere to crash before catching a ferry.

The staff were brief and said the minimum needed to us. I'm sure this is called "efficient" by travelodge.

The room was "minimalistic" with a bed and a desk. The bed WAS comfortable unlike many travelodges we have visited. We got a good nights sleep.

However, the carpets were already heavily stained, the curtains were ripped and torn, the bathroom had the usual black sealant with loose fittings and the handles on the bath wiggled about. The toilet paper... Well... Bring your own. Ours was like sandpaper and had looked as if it had been wet at some point as it had that "wave" to it when you looked at it from the side. The cups for water were plastic disposable ones which are too squishy for a toddler to hold.

The water was hot and the bed comfortable. You can have a shower and sleep well.

I probably wouldn't stay here again.... But that's just me. I'd prefer somewhere with breakfast and also with a few more basic comforts.... Like toilet paper and clean carpets.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ideally locate for the Ferryport, literally 3 minutes away from the Ferryport entrance. Clean and modern hotel, Family room had the extra beds made up for our arrival. Pleasant stay after a tiring journey.



  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Superior quality all round. Spotless clean, beautiful crisp white bed linen, tea, coffee and telly in a beautiful room...perfect! Budget price for a first class stay. We did not have the breakfast as we were catching the ferry in the morning. we had a wonderful nights sleep and would recommend this Travelodge to everyone that need to stay in Holyhead overnight.


  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davenham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spotlessly clean room and bathroom. Very good shower/bath. Staff very helpful and friendly. Area doesn't have a lot to offer but if you're looking for a good place to relax and sleep en route to somewhere, you can't fault this Travelodge.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Holyhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Holyhead Hotel

Address: Kingsland Road, Holyhead LL65 2LB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Holyhead
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Holyhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Holyhead Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Early Check-in and Late Check-out service available at this hotel for an additional charge. Early Check-in available from 12 noon, subject to available rooms. Late Check-out available until 2.00 pm, subject to available rooms. Transport Links: Nearest Major Road - A55 0.1 mile Nearest Port - Holyhead 0.2 miles Places To Go: Port - 1 mile Marina - 1.5 miles South Stack Lighthouse - 1.5 miles Country Park - 2 miles Nearest Towns/Nightlife: Holyhead - 0.5 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotel.de and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Travelodge Holyhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Lodge Holyhead
Travelodge Holyhead Hotel Wales
Holyhead Travelodge
Holyhead Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Holyhead Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.