We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dublin Ferry Guest House

Dublin Ferry Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dublin Ferry Guest House to your Saves list
Dublin Ferry Guest House
85 Newry Street, Holyhead LL65 1HR, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 26 Holyhead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Very good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. We selected it for its close proximity to the Dublin ferry terminal. it was very reasonably priced which was a bonus. We were able to park on the street outside the guest house with no problems. As not all rooms were booked that evening we were given the choice of rooms and stayed in a family room (the Yellow Room with 1 double and 2 single beds) to get the view over the harbour. I really appreciated the extra little touches that June had made to make us comfortable - hair drier (colour coordinated with the yellow theme) was located near a powerpoint and a mirror which is something that is very hard to find in the UK; there was a jug in the room to enable filling of the tea kettle which was too large to put under the bathroom taps; in the breakfast room there was a small fridge to keep the yoghurt, butter etc cold and fresh; and on the breakfast buffet table there was a jar of Vegemite, a favourite Australian spread for toast. Top Marks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
30
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have stayed at the Dublin Ferry many times over the last 5 years and always enjoyed it. Owners June and Neil are undoubtedly the friendliest guest house owners I have met and always give good service. The breakfast is great too. This is my preferred place to stay on Anglesea.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

It was our 2nd visit to the Dublin Ferry Guest House , its very convenient for the ferry and an early breakfast is standard , the choice and quality of food served is great and free wi fi is also available . Very happy with our stay and we will be back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

A group of us on a fishing trip stayed here, very close for those travelling for the breakwater fishing. Walking distance to the marina. breakfast was lovely, rooms were clean and well presented and would defiantly stay again on our next trip. Thank you for the warm welcome :)

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Father and son stayed 1 night on tour of Wales. Rooms were well furnished, comfortable, clean and bright. Excellent breakfast and we were made very welcome by the owner June who was very helpful.
Good location near waterfront and town centre with plenty of street parking outside.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I spent 19 consecutive nights staying in the Green Room at June and Neil's Dublin Ferry Guest House while I was working for the ferry company.
Very Friendly, very attentive and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable with en suite shower room, TV and freeview channels, tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryer the green room had twin beds.
It felt like nothing was too much trouble. Thanks June!
Highly recommended would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: The Green room is a twin room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

A friend and I , in Holyhead for the fishing, recently stayed with June And Niel and I have to say I loved it. Very welcoming and comfortable rooms and excellent rates. Free wifi and a good connection and very comfortable rooms was all part of our stay here and I cannot rate the place enough. I am staying over in Holyhead again in Sept. and I am fortunate enough to be staying at The Dublin Ferry for 2 nights again, Thanks to the hosts for making our stay Extremely Enjoyable. Carl Burns.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dublin Ferry Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dublin Ferry Guest House

Address: 85 Newry Street, Holyhead LL65 1HR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Holyhead
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Holyhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dublin Ferry Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dublin Ferry Guest House Holyhead, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dublin Ferry Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.