We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected a ferry, got a CRUISE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stena Line Limited - Day Trips

Stena Line Limited - Day Trips
Stena House | Station Approach, Holyhead LL65 1DQ, Wales
08447 70 70 70
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 12 Attractions in Holyhead
Type: Ferries/ Boats, Other
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Stena Line, one of the world's leading ferry companies, offers low fares and a speedier ferry travel service to Ireland, Britain and Holland. With our extensive route network, Stena Line gives you more flexibility and choice. As well as a range of hotel breaks, self-catering, landbridge holidays and the option to travel by car, by rail, by coach or on foot, you will enjoy excellent service and value for money. Book early and online for our lowest fares
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Expected a ferry, got a CRUISE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

We took Stenaline from Gdynia, Poland to Karlskrona, Sweden on the overnight ride.

The ride was extremely pleasant. Our expectations were very much exceeded. Lots of fun activities to enjoy (eg.casino, food, duty free). Our cabin was small but clean and comfortable, complete with a bathroom and shower. The buffet breakfast was fresh and delicious.

I was impressed with the staff on the Swedish side. We thought our ferry tickets included the bus transfer to town (due to a very misleading sign at the ferry terminal) but this was not the case. We didn't have Swedish cash and there was no ATM upon arrival in Karlskrona so we couldn't get on the bus to town! After showing a Stenaline rep the confusing sign that misled us, she GAVE us money from her till so we could pay the bus driver and get into town. No fuss. However, if you take this ferry have some Kroners handy.

It was a terrible sign that lied to us, but a very good save by customer service.

Visited January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    84
    24
    19
    34
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Stena Hollandica - fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

We decided to do the rail and sail option from London to Amsterdam and were not disappointed. The whole process was really straightforward and stress-free. We had booked a Captain's Class cabin on the ship which was right at the very front of the ship, directly below the Bridge. King size bed, really good power shower and complimentary minibar! Our 3 course dinner for £25 was not only good value but of really high quality, as was the buffet breakfast. Lots of space, no stress and a really relaxing start to our holiday. Will definitely use this route again and would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone else.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busan, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Trip Aboard The Dutch Flyer - London to Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Hello -

My wife and I took the Dutch Flyer - Train/Boat Package from London, England to Amsterdam, Netherlands in September 2010. It was very easy to make our reservations on line for all parts of the journey. Just print out the confirmation page and take it to the train station in London to get it verified.

We took the train from Liverpool Street Station in London. We took an earlier train and arrived in Harwich in time for the early boarding of the ferry. Boarding the ferry was quick and easy. Once onboard, we dropped our stuff off in the room and headed to the cafeteria. The ship had a nice selection of food and the prices were not too terrible. In addition, there are several different cafes, pubs, etc. on the boat to pass the time. After eating, back to the room, a quick shower, and off to bed. The sailing was smooth and we woke up rested around 6:00AM. We arrived in Hoek Van Holland around 7:45AM and then caught the sprinter train to Rotterdam Station. From Rotterdam we took the train to Amsterdam.

All in all, it was a great trip and comparable to taking a budget airline from London to Amsterdam. (Once you figure in airport transfers, baggage fees, etc.) The total cost for 2 people with an outside cabin was 118.00 GBP. If you have a chance to take the Dutch Flyer, please give it a go!

Visited September 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, CA
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Customer Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

I booked a trip from Hoek Van Holland to Harwich with Stena Lines. I mistakenly gave the wrong email address for the delivery of the confirmation.

I emailed Stena Lines with the information, and within one day I received the confirmation at the correct email address and also got some important advice about use of the ticket and reimbursement of the train costs.

Great customer service.

Thanks Stena Line, and thanks Tamara van den Berg

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portreath
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great in comparison”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

Travelled Rosslare>Fishguard. Paid a fiver extra for the Stena Plus service which was excellent. We' ve also travelled on Irish Ferries and feel that Stena are better. Very comfortable seating, free wi fi (you have to pay about 8 euros for half an hour on Irish), free nibbles plus wine, soft drinks, tea, coffee and soft drinks. Also a very smooth crossing on a windy day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StenaLine_r, Manager at Stena Line Limited - Day Trips, responded to this review, October 5, 2010
Hi,

So glad you enjoyed your experience with us and that you took the time out to tell others about it. Hope to see you again soon! :-)

Regards,
Steana_r
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stena Line Limited - Day Trips also viewed

Holyhead, Island of Anglesey
 
Holyhead, Island of Anglesey
 

Been to Stena Line Limited - Day Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stena Line Limited - Day Trips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.