We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but perfectly formed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holyhead Maritime Museum

Holyhead Maritime Museum
Beach Rd, Holyhead LL65 1YD, Wales
01407 769745
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 12 Attractions in Holyhead
Type: Military Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Derbyshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Small but perfectly formed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

What a tardis of information, both the maritime and the ww2 bunker. Make sure you get one of the guides, Vince was brilliant. We learnt lots in an enjoyable way and was a le to ask lots of questions. Nothing was too much trouble. The view of the breakwater was also amazing.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMMuseum, Webmaster at Holyhead Maritime Museum, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you Sharpie68 for such a positive review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and that you appreciated Vince's efforts as Guide. I shall let him know of your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    9
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Home Counties
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A memorial to Holyhead's importance in the past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This little museum has much to show the visitor of Holyhead's importance as a seaport over 100 years ago. It also has a detailed history of the building of the breakwater from around 1850 to 1875 - it is still the longest breakwater in the UK. The staff there are helpful and friendly and for those interested in our Victorian sea history, this is unmissable.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMMuseum, Webmaster at Holyhead Maritime Museum, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanks very much for your positive response. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and took time to appreciate Holyhead's seafaring history.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Lovely to learn the history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Anglesey and Holyhead offer a lot, the island is lovely to explore and it is nice to know that the Maritime is recognised! We went and visited and really enjoyed our day out on the island! If you enjoy history then the Maritime Museum is for you! It offers lots for the whole family! Coming from a family which are forces, including Naval and volunteer Life Boat Support, this place is an absolute must. Let the kids see what exactly its all about they will love it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsby, Cheshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is the second time we have visited the Holyhead Maritime Museum and it was fabulous. The quiz was very informative and the free gift was very well received.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMMuseum, Webmaster at Holyhead Maritime Museum, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and also took time to return to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Packed with interesting stuff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Really liked the two guides who showed us absolutely everything and were really interesting guys. We even had a go at winding the war siren, which was great fun (kids would love it).

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holyhead Maritime Museum also viewed

Holyhead, Island of Anglesey
 
Holyhead, Island of Anglesey
 

Been to Holyhead Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holyhead Maritime Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.