We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very well looked after” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TJ's Tearooms

TJ's Tearooms
Cyttir Rd, Holyhead LL65 2PU, Wales
+44 1407 769046
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 76 Restaurants in Holyhead
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $21
Cuisines: Tea Room, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Newly opened, TJ'S TEA-ROOMS Set within TJ'S DISCOUNT WAREHOUSE & GARDEN CENTRE. If your looking for reasonably priced, good quality,, locally sourced food in a rather suprising setting, then this is the place for you. Once a fish factory this building appears very industrial on the outside but once through the doors it opens up to an ALLADINS CAVE where locals and visitors alike, can shop for bargains, and sample the true taste of Wales
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
1 review
“very well looked after”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I went there as part of a team of 17 cyclists, great staff that really do look after you. Full English, tea and toast and a laugh with the staff is a great way to start any cycle ride. I would highly recommend this to anyone.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    9
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Group of Cyclists”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Fantastic! We stayed at the Travelodge and needed somewhere for breakfast, 17 hungry cyclists, this was superb, they opened early to accommodate us and the service was brilliant. Full Breakfast, Tea and as much toast as we could eat all for £4.95. We went Saturday and Sunday, really sets you up for a days cycling or any other activity. Everyone was delighted, they also catered for our Vegetarian members, we will go back

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Never knew there was a cafe here so whilst shopping in the store the smell was amazing so stayed for lunch and wow the food is great and the prices too and the cake is the best I've had will be returning :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good, but where's the competition?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Other reviewers are correct; this is a real hidden gem. As a café it really does stand out with the quality and range of food and with the very friendly service.
We visited over the Easter weekend, and whist the premises were very cold despite all the heating they’d provided, the welcome was very warm. The homemade cakes and pastries are first rate.
It just puzzles us that a café inside an Aladdin’s Cave discount store in the middle of an industrial estate can actually be considered as a truly viable entry as the second best place to dine in Holyhead. To be fair there’s no longer any completion, the town is dead, unless you want KFC or a Big Mac.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“TJ,s Inexpensive tasty family eating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The staff were friendly and helpful, the food was exceptionally good, well presented and tasty. A very pleasant surprise s the quality was equal to that of a much more expensive establishment. As a visitor to Anglesey I would recommend TJ's Tearooms as an excellent inexpensive way of eating out in preference to fast food establishments.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TJ's Tearooms also viewed

Holyhead, Island of Anglesey
Holyhead, Island of Anglesey
 
Brynsiencyn, Island of Anglesey
Holyhead, Island of Anglesey
 

Been to TJ's Tearooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TJ's Tearooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.