We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glan Tywyn Hall
Glan Tywyn Hall
Glan Tywyn Hall
Kitchen/dining area
Reception room
Lounge/ sofa-bed  with Cathedral ceiling
Holyhead
|
Rental Home – 
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wilekat
nottingham, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Perfect Christmas stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We've just arrived home from a 5 day stay at Glan Tywyn for Christmas. From start to finish, Jackie and Eric bent over backwards to make us comfortable and relaxed. The few little issues (which usually arise on any holiday let) were dealt with quickly and efficiently. This house is NOT a 5 star boutique hotel. Its far more charming and unique. It's old and rambling, the furnishings are a mix of antique shop & jumble sale, its in the country so yes, there's mud/ flies/ funny smells, it doesn't have wi fi, the latest games console or more than one tv so if that's the experience you want (as a previous reviewer seemed to) glan tywyn is definitely not for you. As a large group of 10 adults and 4 kids, we wanted a warm, cosy house big enough for us all relax in, near to several lovely beaches and fantastic walks, with nooks to hide away and read some of the many books in, fires to sit around and chat in front of and a kitchen big enough for all to congregate in. Glan tywyn fit all those requirements perfectly. There were ample bathrooms for everyone-I can't say I noticed how long the bath took to empty, we were far too busy having fun to think about it! The only downside was the weather-100 mile an hour winds and storms. But the house was just a lovely place to spend time in and no one wanted to leave, which is the strongest possible testimonial! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend a stay here and a big thank you to Jackie and Eric for making it such a great holiday home.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2014
It was lovely to meet you all. Happy you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to hearing from you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Aphrodite...
Derbyshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a 5 day stay at Glan Tywyn Hall, the owners were very warm and welcoming and could'nt do enough to make out stay comfortable and trouble free. The house was plenty big enough for our party of 10 adults and 4 children. As the house is very old it has plenty of character. We did'nt have any trouble finding the house as Jackie sent us detailed instructions. I have to answer some of the negative feedback that one or two people left. The house was VERY clean, as for cobwebs, we did'nt find any. In the kitchen there were enough knives, forks etc for everyone and also other utensils. Yes there is only one TV, but who wants to spend their time watching TV on holiday, I certainly don't. I loved the quaintness of the place and would'nt hesitate in recommending it to friends and hope to stay there again in the future.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Alex T
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Massive potential but overpriced and sadly lacking on many fronts.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The house and location promised so much but unfortunately, on most things, failed to deliver.

Firstly the good things:
Anglesey itself is a lovely Island with lots of great beaches and scenery,
The Hall is in a great location ~5 miles from Rhosneigr,
Some of the furniture was quite grand (although some looked like it had been rescued from house clearances!)
The garden was fairly large and good for kids to play in, it was a bit unkempt and had a lot of nettles but generally ok,
The house itself is big and could be wonderful if the owner spent a bit of money on refurbishing and generally tidying bits up.

Unfortunately there where many bad things:
General cleanliness (there were cobwebs in many rooms and the place needed a good hoovering and some of the tired furniture replacing),
The flies (it is next to a working farm but this should be taken into account and measures put in place to alleviate the situation - fly traps, fly screens, etc.),
The sleeping arrangements (this house doesn't sleep 14 as the sofa bed, which is supposed to sleep 2, isn't fit for anyone to sleep on),
Kitchen utensils and equipment (the fridge and freezer are tiny, the dishwasher was ok but the cutlery tray in it was unusable and looked like it had been swapped from an old dishwasher! The general utensils were hit and miss and mainly old and tatty),
No front door key and only 1 back door key for potentially up to 14 people!
Poor state of plumbing and general repair (the baths and showers drained very slowly and there was evidence of flooding on the kitchen ceiling, there was a light hanging off in the kitchen which could have been dangerous),
The BBQ (which wasn't a BBQ but just a grate, not a grill, on some bricks and needed totally re-organising to just barely function),
The outside patio/eating area (which was worn and sat right next to an area where pigs were being kept),
Lack of modern amenities (1 TV in the whole house, DVD player that needed swapping as it didn't work, no wi-fi and stereos that still had record decks! - luckily the weather was good when we stayed but if it wasn't the kids would have been bouncing around the place),
Lastly the price - we've stayed in far superior places for around the same kind of money but unfortunately we left it late to book and this was all that was available. This in itself should have set some alarm bells ringing as everywhere else was fully booked all summer.

We still had a good holiday and got lucky with the weather so didn't let it spoil our holiday but unfortunately we couldn't recommend Glan Tywyn Hall.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 2 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
3 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 2 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
2 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 2 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 2 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
3 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The size of the house and the general location.
Liked least: The sleeping facilities, patio and BBQ area, general state of kitchen equipment, issues with flies, general cleanliness.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2013
I wasn’t going to reply to this but so many people have been on touch, I will. I am not going to get into a slanging match with this vociferous person but here we go!!!
The front garden has got some nettles in the borders, it also has a family of hedgehogs living there. This year we were lucky enough for a family of hares to be born and reared in a corner of the border. The 3-pigs are kept in the field at the side of the house, we keep for the enjoyment of the guests. They love them. We don’t eat meat. The BBQ is a pile of bricks, one on top of the other, but it was built by a bricklayer. The grill on top isn’t a proper grill but is an antique cast iron floor grill which will hold around 25-steaks and is beautiful. This person is right, we do only have one TV for 14-people, but does not mention the library of books in the house and the quiet corners in which to read them. The sofa bed [+2] is as stated, a sofa bed. I let this person know that a new mattress has been bought but this person said this wasn’t good enough. This person is right about the radio, it is only a radio with a record deck, the one in the kitchen plays CD’s. The fridge and freezer are standard under the counter models, with an extra counter top fridge. Glantywyn caters for 14, with adequate cutlery and crockery. This person is right about the cutlery container in the dishwasher, well spotted. There was one under the sink. This person is right about the bath being slow to empty, I wonder what it is? It takes around 4minutes to empty the bath, but if in a rush there are 2-showers and another bath en-suite. The only contact we had with our guests, was when we went to see if everything was OK at the start of their holiday and when we changed the DVD. The people we met, one was the guest who made the booking, were very nice and said the house was lovely and that the children were having a wonderful time. Glantywyn is a happy house, that rings with the laughter of children and people enjoying themselves. This person ‘didn’t get’ Glantywyn Hall, this person could be right, I could be wrong but I am not going to change a thing, even the 3-little pigs will stay. Before now we have had boy scouts camping in tents on the front lawn. I don’t care so long as everybody is happy. As for the cleaning, 3-cleaners work for 6-hours on a Saturday, this house is clean. Glantywyn is over 400 years old, sometimes I’m amazed its still standing but it is clean. All this bother and the booking was for 8-adults for one week. Our contact number is in the kitchen and we live 20-yards away.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
mjones75
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous :) relaxing, everything i hoped for x”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Had the best weekend stay at glan tywyn hall, house fitted description perfectly, beautiful garden with bbq, plenty of room for children and my dog was more than welcome. Jaki was so helpful and polite, showed us places where we could visit. Definitely go again, already planning a christmas break up there.
Well done eric and jaki, c u both again soon x

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Ilovecake...
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Needs some attention”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Glan Tywyn showed promise from the outset but actually failed to deliver on several levels.
It is a vast house in an idyllic country setting. Children had a fantastic time exploring property and making dens with sofas etc. for inclement weather there are plenty of fireplaces and radiators, a tumble dryer and power showers. One cannot fail to relax BUT....
The downstairs bedroom, although looking onto the enclosed garden, was dingy with a very uncomfortable mattress.
Some kitchen utensils were beyond useless. All frying pans needed replacing and the fridge /freezer need to double in size in order to accommodate the needs of large parties effectively.
When it rained, the lean to roof leaked in three places. Despite efforts to contain the drips, people were slipping on the wet tiles as the area was a thoroughfare. (Property Management informed by telephone.)
The patio area is fairly worn out; crazy paving is coming loose.
The lounge area is an awkward shape thus separating some people from the main "television corner".
Perhaps a little pedantic but expected a bit more...

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
3 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Remote location
Liked least: Dated decor and furnishings
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I feel I must respond to some of your statements. I could do nothing about the roof at the time. As all over the country, we had had some horrific storms,and as I explained Eric had had a fall, temporary repairs had been made but you must admit, it was a pretty bad storm on the day the roof leaked. The roof is now completely fixed. Re pans etc, thank you for letting me know. These have all been replaced. The down stairs bedroom, I feel is personal choice. Re the down stairs lounge, there is not a lot we can do about the structure. Sorry you were disappointed, thank you for giving me the chance to improve things.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
RCG83
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Great Birthday Weekend, in a lovely house with amazing friends.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

House was great. Its really big and speacous so your not all on top of each other. Owner Jackie was great and around if you need her but also allowed you to get on and enjoy the house and its surroundings. Favourite feature has to be the big table on the patio where due to some fab weather we got to all sit around for a glass of wine or two.

Would recomend this house to anyone who wants to have a relaxed get away with friends and family but also wants the freedom to go off exploring. Enjoyed every minute of our stay and will be back. Also house was very dog friendly and he seemed to have just as good time as we did!!!

Thanks for an amazing birthday weekend in an amazing house.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Big table and BBQ on patio
Liked least: Due to age of house boliers to time to warm up water.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2013
Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Jo L
Selby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Felt at home immediately- superb for family gathering”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

easy to find due to very clear directions even in the dark! Hall amazing , great fun to choose bedrooms! Communal areas very comfortable , places to be all together or away from the crowd :) clean and tidy with excellent facilities. Garden great for children, all enclosed and safe. Due to snow didnt get to use the barbeque, but looked very appealing. Lovely to meet the pigs ( and to try the gorgeous bacon and sausages!!) Jackie very personable and helpful. Anglesey and North Wales full of activities for all ages. Views over to Snowdonia were breathtaking, especially covered in snow. We would love to go back at any opportunity. Thank You

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The upstairs sitting room, and all the book cases crammed with books! The overall ambiance.
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2013
Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$726
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Eric C
44 1407810550
Speaks English
Listed since : Dec 2006
Response Rate: 75 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 16 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing