We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cweryd Villa - arranged by Crossroads as they were full” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crossroads Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Crossroads Guest House to your Saves list
Crossroads Guest House
81 Walthew Avenue, Holyhead LL65 1AG, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Holyhead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cweryd Villa - arranged by Crossroads as they were full”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I contacted Crossroads as I needed somewhere to stay at short notice, Len couldn't fit me so arranged for me to stay at Cweryd Villa. Cweryd doesn't have a tripadvisor page so I've written the review here in case you need an alternative to Crossroads. Alice, the owner was lovely and it was a great place to stay, the room was comfortable and quiet and the location was good, easy to get around the Island. At the time she was planning on updating/modernising the rooms and the plans sounded great. Alice was very welcoming without being over the top, I would recommend staying with her. Thank you Len and Alice (apologies it's taken so long to write this)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAFFY-LEN, Owner at Crossroads Guest House, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you Jenny for being so kind after all this time, I am very pleased to see you were suitably accommodated, as there was no availability at Witchingham Guest-house or Monravon I was only to pleased to find you accommodation for your very late arrival at that time of night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
36
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here very much. The owner, Len, was helpful (without interfering) and drove us down to the ferry next morning. The room was lovely, with everything we wanted. Len stressed, when I was booking, that he provided only a continental brekky, which was fine. It is a good price and we certainly wouldn't expect more than we got. There are cereals, teas, coffee, hot choc, etc, in the room so you can help yourself at any time of the morning that suits. The room was light, clean and airy, the bed comfy and Len was a very pleasant host. I'd certainly be happy to stay again and to recommend Crossroads.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed the night at this guest house before catching the ferry to Ireland. Len the owner extremely nice and accommodating. First class amenities and will use again. Very quiet and five minutes from the port. Susan

Room Tip: Ground floor room is great as you can let yourself in and out without going through the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night on September 14th before catching early morning ferry.
The owner Len made you feel very welcome, and the room was one of the best i have stayed in anywhere, although there is no cooked breakfast, you do get an incredible range of cereals in your room, along with the usual tea and coffee, and fresh milk in your own mini fridge. Bathroom was immaculate, with what seemed like a king sized shower.
We will definitely be staying here again on any future trip to Ireland.
Wonderful place, great location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Everything is great. I should have give it 5 star if the WiFi signal could be better in the ground floor room. P.S. the mobile signal there is not very good either, so we asked the landlord to call taxi for us. (We use O2 mobile) The landlord is a very nice guy :)

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms available. We chose the room in the ground floor. It is pretty quiet and convenien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAFFY-LEN, Owner at Crossroads Guest House, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
I would like to thank this Guest Mr Lango who stayed on the 5th October 2013 for his very kind words, unfortunately I do not have any control over the signals in any area, I would have thought this visit was worthy of EXCELLENT for this reason, he & his partner had vacated the bedroom & were waiting for a taxi at the gates, my daughter who was helping to clean the room just happened to notice a flat object near the bin & was about to throw it into the bin when she thought she would check inside for curiosity, lucky for them that she did, inside was a £50 note, she called after them & gave her the £50 note back, she showed in her eyes & speech that she couldn't believe my daughter' was so honest, this was a man who earlier asked for a reduction in the room cost because of the signal & yet we called him back to return her money just before the taxi arrived, how honest is that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We arrived at 1am in this lovely place after a late ferry from Dublin. The nice welcoming room was such a delight after 4 hours ferry journey. Bed was so comfy we definitely had a great sleep. woke early to drive to England and was delighted with the cereals, tea, coffee and biscuits inside the room. They were enough to fill us for the journey ahead. I took all the sweets as treats during the drive. Met Len in th morning and he is so friendly and accomodating. We know where to stay when we are back to holyhead.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshure
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

On a recent visit to Ireland we stayed the night at the Crossroads prior to sailing.
We booked after having read the excellent remarks on Tripadvisor.
On arrival 18/9 Len our host was very friendly and made us very welcome. The room was excellent, charming and very clean and inviting and nicely decorated, the bathroom was spotless
there was nothing you could find fault with. An excellent choice of teas/coffees/hot chocolates were available as well as breakfast cereals in the room.
Normally our choice of accommodation when travelling is hotels but on this occasion we used the Crossroads B&B for convenience and found that we had certainly made the right choice for our one night accommodation and would have no hesitation in staying again in the future when travelling to Ireland. We would recommend this B&B to anyone and was excellent value.
Len (and his daughter who we did not meet) should be very PROUD of their establishment.
To conclude thank you Len for a lovely and very comfortable overnight stay.

Jen & Pat Godfrey.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crossroads Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossroads Guest House

Address: 81 Walthew Avenue, Holyhead LL65 1AG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Holyhead
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Holyhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crossroads is a new guest house in Holyhead; the property has been completely remodeled and opened for the first time in 2006. It is a small completely family run guest house. Many guests who have stayed with us in our first year of opening are now reserving their accommodation for next year. 99% of our guests are going to or returning from Ireland. Our guest house may be new this year, but we are certainly not new to the business. We opened our first guest house in 1971 - this is now the fourth that we have constructed. We, like most of the other guest houses in Holyhead, are used by Stena Line & Irish Ferries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Crossroads Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crossroads Guest House Holyhead, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crossroads Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.