We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer Stay in Holyhead” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Boathouse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Boathouse Hotel to your Saves list
The Boathouse Hotel
Newry Beach, Holyhead LL65 1YF, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 25 Holyhead B&B and Inns
South Florida, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Summer Stay in Holyhead”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I actually had quite a nice visit here last August - stayed for a week. The rooms are small and not particularly luxurious but my room was serviceable and met my needs. The staff were very friendly and helpful - I arrived after the restaurant had closed and they ordered food to be delivered to me. My room had no wi-fi (although they did assure me it would prior to arrival). This turned out to be a blessing because I spent more time downstairs in the bar accessing the internet where I met a number of very nice guests, locals, and several pets. Food in the restaurant was good, service was great, the bar was fun, and the location was perfect for me - I was in Holyhead to kayak with Sea Kayak UK. Parking was easy and it is very close to supermarkets and the ferry port. I walked around at night alone and felt very safe. I will definitely stay here again the next time I'm in Holyhead!

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    35
    20
    8
    19
See reviews for
10
38
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here on 23 December, this being my 3rd stay here. I always stay here if catching a ferry to Ireland. The location is excellent for the ferry port and is far enough away from the town, making it nice and peaceful. The hotel is also pet friendly and as long as your pet is behaved they are welcomed into the bar with you. The bar is nice and cosy, with a mixture of locals and residents, take my advice and get there early enough to enjoy a couple of drinks in the evening. Don't get me wrong the hotel rooms are a little dated and you could stay in a travel lodge if you desired, but these to me Are very clinical and you don't receive the personal touch that you do here. The staff are very friendly and cannot do enough for you. Another downside Is that phone reception isn't great and there is no wi-fi. The breakfast again was nice.

My advise to you is if you need a comfortable, friendly stay for a couple of nights, then ignore these comments and don't miss out on a little gem- like I said if you want contemporary stay at the travel lodge, if you want somewhere homely try here

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Although we had stayed before we were mortified to return from our day out to find our room door wide open and the room key from another room in the lock .We immediately went to reception and have yet to receive an apology from the hotel (we stayed in September) To add insult to injury our bill on leaving included fifty pence for ICE.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Anybody wishing to stay in a hotel in holeyhead , stay clear of the boathouse hotel , it should be knocked down and turned into a helicopter pad , it wust be one of the worst hotels we have ever walked into, the biggest mistake I made was handing over our money before we looked at the so called room,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Friendly, attentive and helpful staff. Almost impossible to get a mobile signal or their claimed wi-fi. Room adequate but dated. Claimed 'bistro' is in fact basic pub food. A fair way from town centre.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willenhall, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

On a spur of the moment decision to have a weekend away, my fiancé and I arrived at The Boathouse on a whim and found the staff were helpful, polite and very friendly. Luckily for us there was a cancellation that morning. The bar is quaint and has a good selection of beers and spirits. The room was fresh and clean with crisp sheets and lovely pine furniture. The bathroom was also fresh and very clean.... not even a smear on the glass shower screen. The restaurant was very well laid out.... You're not tripping over anyone's chair. We both ordered steak for our evening meal, and after asking the chef directly as to how we would like them cooked, they were PERFECT. After a great breakfast, we were sorry to have to leave. The whole place had a warm and friendly atmosphere and we will DEFINITELY be returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This charming hotel is at the end of the waterfront, away from some of the hustle of central Holyhead. The surrounding atmosphere of the Irish sea, with sailboats and marinas filling the view, and gentle walks up and down the shore. The hotel itself feels a bit like a ship, with lots of dark wooden passages and rooms that feel like cabins. The decor reminds you of how an old seaman's wife would like it. Rooms were clean and comfortable and not too expensive. The restaurant was great, and so was the comfy little bar. I'd stay here again next time I pass through Holyhead.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boathouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boathouse Hotel

Address: Newry Beach, Holyhead LL65 1YF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Holyhead
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Holyhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boathouse is a family run AA 2** highly recommended Hotel which overlooks the Irish sea and is on the perimeter of the Breakwater Park. We are open all year with ample free car parking and are only four minutes from the ferry port. We offer 19 luxury en-suite bedrooms in a combination of single, double, twin and family rooms. All rooms are equipped with tea & coffee facilities and television. Awaken your senses by sampling one of our freshly made Italian cappuccinos whilst taking in the panoramic views of the harbour and marina from our conservatory.Our bistro with its relaxed ambiance offers a wide range of freshly prepared bar snacks along with a specials board which is changed daily. Locally caught fish and lobster is our speciality. As wine importers we offer personallyselected wines from the Friuli region of Italy each wine has its own individual character. Wine tastings are especially welcome. Cash & Carry prices available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Boathouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boathouse Hotel Holyhead, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boathouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.