We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a fantastic find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Poster Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Four Poster Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Four Poster Guesthouse
1 Mill Street, Llangollen LL20 8RY , Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Llangollen B&B and Inns
derbyshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“what a fantastic find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

what a fantastic find , near town center , off road parking , well apointed bedrooms nice bathrooms and a fantastic brakefast with pots of butter and marmalade not those little things you get in hotels. Real coffee in a cafetier and no rush to get you out of the place in the morning. I will(and have ) recomend this place to all our friends

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    12
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
64
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

Could not be bettered in any way! We are seasoned travellers, but have never been so impressed by effort put in to make everything just perfect. The privacy and standard of a top hotel, but set within the warmth and care of a family home. Jon+ Chris from the Wirral.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

Stayed in the B&B. The rooms are lovely - cozy and clean, and loads of character. Angie & Liz are very friendly and welcoming (and so is the dog if you're lucky enough to meet him) - and Liz cooks a great breakfast. Plenty of private parking even though it's just off the main road, and it's still quiet. Everything in Llangollen is in walking distance and with the bus service and the steam train you can really 'park' the car. There's a lovely park by the river directly across the road from the B&B if you like an early morning/late evening meditation. Gem of a B&B and excellent value for money - they could charge more and it would still be great value.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

Myself, husband & 16yr old son stayed at the Four Poster when in North Wales for a wedding. Angie and Liz made us feel very welcome and even put up with my husbands bad jokes! The guesthouse was imaculate. Tea and coffee facilities fully stocked. We stayed in the cottage which was beautiful, cosy and private. The breakfast gorgeous. The position was great, next to the river and only a few minutes walk for a lovely meal at the Cornmill pub. Chocolate box village. Would definatly recommend and will stay there again when we are back in Wales. Hope to see more of the village next time.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

We stayed at the 4 Poster this weekend 16th and 17th April, we were on a walking weekend. Angie and Liz keep the B and B spotless and so calm. We were in room 4 and it was lovely. There wasn't a sound from anywhere it was so peaceful. Parking is excellent. The breakfast's were lovely, good choice and beautifully cooked and served. We had a packed lunch which was great value. It's situation is really good, everywhere within walking distance. They've got a lovely friendly dog too. I would definately recommend this B and B and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cannock staffordshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

What a lovely place to stay 6/3/2010. I did my research on trip advisor and booked to stay here because of the positive comments. We made the right choice, perfect location just across the bridge. Angie & Liz who run it are very helpfull and have a great knowledge of the area. Nothing seems to much trouble for them. When next in Llangollen we will stay at The Four Poster again and would recommend to family & friends.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

I stayed here as one of a group of four lads on a motorcycling tour of Wales. Now usually after a hard day in the saddle I can sleep anywhere and after a few pints in a local pub I dont really notice anything about the place until the next morning. However, from the very moment we pulled up and took advantage of the off road parking our hosts Ange and Liz welcomed us warmly. We stayed in the cottage which has a lovely double room downstairs and a twin upstairs with a bathroom. Although small ( this was a old weaver's cottage afterall ) it was warm, very clean and immacuatley turned out with ample tea and coffee facilites, TV, DVD. The Four Poster is ideally situated both locally and regionally. Locally, it is literally a stones throw from The Cornmill, the nicest pub and restaurant in the town, situated literally over hanging the sometimes raging River Dee, and also a short walk from the various other pubs and restaurants in the town. By day the town has numerous independant shops, selling traditional Welsh produce, arts and crafts and jewellery. Dinas Bran, a ruined castle, over looks the town and is a steep walk from The Four Poster. Thinking more widely, Llangollen is situated on the A5, the main arterial route from the Midlands through to Snowdonia and further more Angelsey so is a perfect stop over for the travelling tourist.
I woke slightly hungover, to a fantastic Welsh breakfast with every need catered for.
Fantastic Value for money.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Poster Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Poster Guesthouse

Address: 1 Mill Street, Llangollen LL20 8RY , Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Poster is a cottage style B&B set in the heart of Llangollen within easy walking distance to bars, restaurants and shops. The Four Poster has 4 rooms, 3 double and 1 room which can sleep up to 4 people (4 single beds. All rooms are en-suite and have hospitality tray and free view T.V. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your Four Poster Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Poster Guesthouse Llangollen, Wales - North Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Poster Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.