We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Four Poster - dont look any further!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Poster Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Four Poster Guesthouse to your Saves list
Four Poster Guesthouse
1 Mill Street, Llangollen LL20 8RY, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 30 Llangollen B&B and Inns
Derby
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The Four Poster - dont look any further!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

My wife and I travel around quite a lot and love to stay away for long week-ends. First time in Llangollen and yes we are fussy about where we stay. We like it to be comfortable with good service and above all else it has to be clean to a high standard! Well this place ticks all these boxes and I truly believe you will not find better in Llangollen. The situation is ideal as it is within walking distance of all the town and surrounding area without the noise from the roads. (we were in an annex cottage to the side and off the road). It was well furnished and had all the usual "add on’s" plus nice little extras like cotton buds, sweets, biscuits, cotton pads shower gels and shampoos etc. Angie our hostess was very nice and welcoming and the breakfasts had everything you would expect.
What more can I say other than try it and see, I'm sure you will not be disappointed. Its a beautiful town with lots to see and do especially the canal trip and the steam railway.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    13
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
68
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
cannock staffordshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Stayed again for the 2nd time on 3/4/2011 had a fantastic weekend. Ideal location just a short walk to town across the bridge. Can not fault the Four Poster Guest House the breakfasts are superb and the owners are very friendly people and have excellent knowledge of the area. Will stay again when next in Llangollen.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Had a great stay here whilst visiting friends in nearby Acrefair. Very friendly proprietors. Off street parking available. Room size wasn't huge, but given that we were only sleeping there, rather than spending any length of time there, that wasn't an issue for us. Breakfasts were fantastic given the price. Don't stay anywhere else in Llangollen!

We will be returning when we visit our friends again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

Fresh, clean and nicely decorated B&B with lovely proprietors. We had a very enjoyable breakfast and a very comfortable stay. Extremely close to many wateringholes and places to eat, with a beautiful walk across the bridge with a view of the railway. Thank you for your warm welcome and hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

Spent a birthday weekend with my partner, had been on the to-do list for a while, a pilgrimage to see where the famous Ladies had made their home. Had a great walk one day taking in many of the geological and historical sights of interest, and the Ladies' house on the second. The village was overrun with steam train enthusiasts, the trains on special duty tooting away all weekend up and down the short track. We were made very welcome by our hostesses. Liked the Emily Bronte poem in the room.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

This little hotel is delightfully furnished and comfortable and the owners Ang and Liz looked after us brilliantly and made us very welcome - they are both lovely. I am vegetarian and my husband is not and we both had really delicious Welsh breakfast. Well placed for tourist attractions and well recommended - would not hesitate to send friends or family here for a stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woy Woy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

During a half world,three month holiday, we just happened to pass through Llangollen Wales. We had previously Cruised from Sydney to Southampton [England],passing through some of the worlds most spectacular sites and places. Our stop in Llangollen was after visiting many places in England,staying over in many Hotels and B&Bs.
Sometimes one just has good luck when travelling without booking accommodation
ahead of arrival, that`s what happened to us when we pulled up outside The Four Poster
B&B Llangollen.
The little Welsh town is picture perfect, not debased with crowded adverts and billboards.
A place of great history and tradition and a town close enough to city and coastal attractions. As for the Four Poster accommodation,you will find yourself staying in the centre of the town and within a short walk to a Canal and Steam train Station.
The hosts have a charm to match the town and a breakfast to satisfy even a Welsh miners belly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Poster Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Poster Guesthouse

Address: 1 Mill Street, Llangollen LL20 8RY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llangollen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Llangollen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Poster is a cottage style B&B set in the heart of Llangollen within easy walking distance to bars, restaurants and shops. The Four Poster has 4 rooms, 3 double and 1 room which can sleep up to 4 people (4 single beds). All rooms are en-suite and have hospitality tray, free view T.V. And free WIFI. We also have free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your Four Poster Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Poster Guesthouse Llangollen, Wales - North Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Poster Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.